We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic dining experience awesome food and artwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mestizo

Mestizo
Ranked #3 of 235 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience awesome food and artwork”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently went with family & friends here Its a combination of an Art Gallery & Resataurant in one. The Tortilla Soup is very delicious and all the sides come in a seperate dish so you can put as much as you want on it. The soup is not spicy ,its crisp and light. Any of the main entrees are very good. The staff is very helpful and is very clean.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Javierc66bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    77
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
219 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“We would love to return!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant was a real "find". We found it accidentally because we were going to see the Mayolica pottery that is displayed in the gallery that the restaurant is in. What a great idea. When we arrived, we met a local (David who wrote another trip advisor comment?) on the steps and he highly recommended it. We made reservations for that evening.
The food was fantastic. We live in another part of Mexico and found that this food was among the best that we have had anywhere. There were some twists on dishes, like a shrimp appetizer marinated in ginger and beer. Every dish that our party of four tried was well liked. Drinks were reasonably priced. The tortilla soup, as an appetizer, arrived with all the "fixings" on the side so you could add what you wanted ( avocado, chips, cream etc) and it was only 30 pesos.

The only downside was that the night we went it was nearly full and the combination waiter/bartender was a bit overwhelmed. But the atmosphere was so lovely that we didn't mind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent +++++”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Main course x 4, sweets x 4, margaritas x 4 (and they packed a punch), bottle of good Chilean red, convivial atmosphere, attentive but non obsequies service, excellent menu, no obtrusive music. Mmmm..... how much I hear you ask.

$Mex1200! $AUD88!

As a former addict of fine dining I know that price is not everything but for someone who has become accustomed to "dining" at the lower end of the market this place is heaven. Mestizo is the best of fine dining in Guanajuato with no nasty surprises such as that blot upon the dining landscape called nouvelle cuisine, tasteless/dry food, overbearing waiters intent on wringing a generous tip out of one, outlandish prices or a tinkling bloody piano.

Give Mestizo a try. I sincerely believe that you will enjoy it unless your name is Scrooge. You have nothing to lose

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidRGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAVORITE GTO RESTAURANT”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The restaurant continues to improve. It is our favorite in Guanajuato. Pottery provides an interesting surrounding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnOquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

As others have noted the pottery and other art make for a colorful, enjoyable, relaxing setting.

The food is a very good value, while not at the high end of Las Mercedes it was about half the price. Most items have a Mexican flair but are lighter which was a nice change of pace. The variety of salads and soups are a highlight that differentiates it from almost any other local restaurant. Our chicken pibil and ginger salmon were excellent.

The drinks are reasonably priced but it would be nice if there were something special to choose from as the beer, tequila and wine are all pretty ordinary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cpayne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mestizo also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Mestizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing