We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santo Cafe

Santo Cafe
Ranked #7 of 230 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

While I was attending classes at the Escuela Mexicana, I made a few stops here for lunch between or after class. The service was always friendly and the food was good, and served in a timely manner. Try the Sopa Azteca and malteadas. It is also a good place to people watch as it sits on a bridge/archway over a popular "callejon" between the Jardin Union(center of town) and the Presa area. Students, whether local or visiting hang out there and are often modern day "beatniks".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentPharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    98
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cafe Santo is a charming restaurant is close to Plaza Cervantes and sits on top of a arch over a busy callejon (little alley). The Among the clientele are many students from the nearby university. The service is excellent and the prices more than reasonable. I recommend Sopa Azteca

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hip place where you can eat over the arch or inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Popular with Guanajuato's younger set. Vegetarian options including pasta. Above a pedestrian street so quiet. Not a bargain but fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank raquelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shoo the dogs out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The couple at a neighboring table brought two big dogs which roamed out of control all around the restaurant, inside and out. The staff made only a token effort to keep the dogs out of the interior, so instead they worked the tables out on the bridge, where I was sitting. Quite distracting.

The pasta I had was decent and filling. A good spot for people- (and dog-) watching.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroPerdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I first came here 'cause I was told their pasta was "something else" & I was very disappointed, it was just average, apt for human consumption pasta, nothing special at all. They have great fruit smoothies though, i must admit to my shame (he, he, he...) that I totally enjoyed it.
Service is average & by average I mean as bad as most places in guanajuato. No attention from waiters at all.
the best that can be said of the place is that they have a unique spot at Puente del Campanero & they try to keep the place visually interesting. Might be worth a second chance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank thenottobenamedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Cafe also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Santo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing