We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mision Grand Casa Colorada
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

On a recommendation we resreved for dinner on Wednesday February 22nd, 2012. The restaurant was totally empty, there was zero ambiance in the form of lighting and/or music. The prices were out of sight and the food poor at best. The rolls had to be at least 3 days old. A caesar salad consisting of 4 romaine leaves and two stale pieces of toast swimming in dressing was 155 pesos and was literally inedible. A bottle of the cheapest "blanco de blanco", the only white available came in at 350 pesos - less than 80 pesos in a store.

And, while we were there the second waiter cleaned furniture and walls in our section.

Pointing out the inedible food brought a grunt and 6 mini store bought chocolate chip cookies.

The view was terrific but no compensation at all/

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wilfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Mision Grand Casa Colorada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but celebrated a special birthday at the restaurant. We spent an unforgettable evening there. The food was delicious and the wine great. The service was excellent and the view of Guanajuato is surely the best one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We checked in on a Sunday early evening and although the young woman at reception was professional and polite, she was not friendly and didn’t come across as very welcoming, which is a shame because first impressions count! I must emphasise that the staff at reception changed the next morning and during the following days and they were all very friendly and helpful – a complete contrast.
We stayed at the Presidential Suite and it was wonderful. The view was really the most important factor, but everything else in the room contributed to it being perfect. Some things might need updating, but to be honest with the space and the view everything else becomes less important.
We had dinner at the hotel only on our first night. The food was really good and the waiter was very polite and friendly but the service was a bit slow despite the fact that the restaurant was not busy at all; this didn’t matter much because once again we had a fantastic view of Guanajuato as we had a table by the window.
My husband is a vegetarian and we always struggle when eating out in Mexico. A young lady at reception recommended a restaurant for our last evening in Guanajuato and she arranged our booking and ensured the restaurant was aware my husband was a vegetarian. We were very pleased that they in fact prepared a special dish for my husband. She was spot-on when she recommended Las Mercedes – fantastic place!
Be aware that if you don’t have a car, you need to take taxis to go into the city centre. Taxis are only $35 pesos and the staff at reception is always happy to book them for you or call for one if you need it straight away.
To sum up, we really enjoyed our stay at Misión Casa Colorada and the two main factors were the friendly and helpful staff and the great view from our spacious suite!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViajeraConGusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The hotel has a perfect location with an exciting view on Guanajuato. The personnel are very nice and friendly. Unfortunately, the infrastructure has not been maintained through years, and the deterioration is easily visible. The main trap for a guest paying about $200 USD per night is the interruption of the water supply. During two days of staying in the hotel, the water supply was interrupted many times. It was very unpleasant to experience the interruption during the morning or late night shower. I had to go two levels down just to use the restaurant restroom at night in order to prevent an unpleasant smell in the $200 room. Although the hotel claims availability of Wi-Fi, level of signal in my room was very low and unstable. In spite the history of the place (and its location), it is a shame for the Mexican tourist industry (if it is exists?)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tlcTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had our wedding at Casa Colorada, it has the greatest view of Guanajuato but we were disapointed with the service, we had rented the place from 3 pm but the tables were not ready before one hour late, for example. we did not get what we agreed and we had to ask several times and remind them about our agreements. Some of our licour "disappeared".

To conclude; the service was terrible, and the people were not profesional !!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerardoGuanajuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stay at this hotel in the holy week in Mexico, we chose it because thres not other available for those days,. The hotel is too expensive about $300 dollas per night and for that price we obtain dirty bathrobes, worn towels, old curtains, the people is very rude at front desk, and the food is not very good. We were dissapointed because we saw the pictures on the i nternet and we thougt that was a nice and exclusive place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I did not stay at this hotel. I only ate in the restaurant.

We were a party of 5 (four native Mexicans - plus I was the only American). Everyone thought their food was fair to poor. One desert was so bad the two who ordered it had a bite and did not finish it. My expensive piece of beef was stringy and flavorless. The prices were very high for Mexico. (For the same prices or less you can go to truly good restaurants in Guadalajara.)

So maybe you go for a drink to see the view, which is terrific. But any street taco stand (or MacDonalds) has better food, for a fraction of the price.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank longshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 55 in Guanajuato
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
1.2 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 55 in Guanajuato
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 55 in Guanajuato
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Grand Casa Colorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Grand Casa Colorada

Address: Cerro de San Miguel 13 | Col. Lomas de Pozuelo, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $120 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mision Grand Casa Colorada 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel in Guanajuato offers first class accommodation in this evocative colonial city. Hotel Boutique Mision Casa Colorada you can enjoy peace of mind while delighting your senses with a Mexican restaurant , a wine cellar selected domestic and imported wines , spaces decorated with Mexican art , cactus gardens and a terrace with a privileged view of the Guanajuato . Our Hotel in Guanajuato has 6 luxury suites with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 5 meeting rooms with capacity from 10 to 350 people with everything needed to perform their social and business events. The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the historic center , for those traveling by plane we are located just 20 minutes from the airport , in turn is excellent for those who visit us on the road, we are 4 hours from the city of Mexico road . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mision Grand Casa Colorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing