We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're not going to want to leave the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You're not going to want to leave the hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As everyone has mentioned, the views are fantastic, and if you are staying in Guanajuato, how can justify a hotel without a postcard perfect view? The hotel is literally steps from the top of the only furnicular in town, and the entrance is actually within an enclosed commercial corridor, which makes it feel really safe. Taking the furnicular down lands you dead center in the middle of town, and it runs until 9:45 at night. You can always take a taxi up there, and giving directions is super simple because the "El Pipila" landmark is right there. Plus there are two adorable easy-to-follow walking paths that get up to your hotel, about 15 minute uphill walk, though warning at night you might feel unsafe walking on your own.

The hotel itself is minimalistic and pleasant; the rooms are spacious, but warning the bed is small--it felt like a twin bed. Downsides: shower takes a long time to get hot water, and bathroom is literally next to bed and affords little privacy, and for our stay the wifi was only accessible in the bathroom. Re: the noise, yes, you can hear a muffled version of all the downtown partying, but I can't imagine you are going to find a much quieter spot anywhere else in town--chalk it up to the acoustics of this hillside city. In sum, for the view and perks (you get free breakfasts at a great place in town and free furnicular rides) we felt this place was a great value and clear winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
74
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved this hotel - except for the showers. It is hard to find, but once you get there the rooms are nice and the view from the big balcony is fabulous. It was really fun going back and forth to the city via the funicular (except for the night we returned after 9:45 and had to climb the stairs). The staff were nice and there was coffee available and reliable internet. The breakfasts were really terrific, in an elegant restaurant on the square, with lots of delicious options on the menu (though there is an extra charge if you take the pan dulce, which you don't need since they bring you bread as part of your meal).

The showers at this hotel, however, were a big problem. They were either freezing cold or scalding hot. It took so long for a change in the settings to change the water mix that you couldn't ever get it right. Maybe if they marked the handles at the right setting it would work, but unfortunately a freezing shower really puts a damper on the day. We complained after our first night and they had a plumber come, but it didn't help. I hope they work this out!

Room Tip: There was a little noise from the front desk, but it wasn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blkdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Yeah, there are a few issues. The bathroom door needed to be kept closed because there was a sewage smell at times. The bed was a little small, and a little bit on the hard side. Staff spoke only Spanish, as some people stated. But hey, you know what? If you go to a mid-range hotel in America, the staff will probably speak only English. Water takes forever to heat up, though eventually it does.

Dollar for dollar, though, this may be the best value in town. The view is just jaw-dropping. Yeah, you can get it from going up to the Pipila monument, but you know, it's just not the same as sitting on the balcony in the afternoon with a glass of wine in hand. Speaking of which, they're pretty accommodating in terms of providing things like a corkscrew or a knife to cut fruit.

Other than sewage smell (which is confined to the bathroom), the room was quite clean.

You get to ride the funicular for free as long as you want if you stay here, which is nice. I was a little concerned that the funicular which is required to get into town, stops working at 9:45 PM. But this turned out to be a gift. When you catch a cab from town, they wind up going through the extensive tunnel network which we otherwise wouldn't have gotten to see. Way cool!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overlooking the center of the city from up high, the hotel gets a high rating. The room was spotlessly clean and had a good bed. Access to the downtown is via a very convenient funicular with free rides provided by the hotel. The funicular runs every few minutes so it is very convenient.
The cons -- from the bathroom (which was very clean) came a relatively strong sewerage odor. I don't know if that was temporary or permanent. In addition, the door to the balcony did not lock. While it would take Spiderman to enter the room, it was still uncomfortable not being able to lock away our things. An in-room safe is provided, but it is small, so our purchases were vulnerable. No one entered the room and nothing was robbed.

Advice: if you arrive or depart by taxi, the taxi stops up a long set of steps from the hotel If you have multiple or heavy bags, you must have taxi driver or someone he/she summons to carry luggage down to the hotel. It is not a big deal, but readers should be advised.

Room Tip: Make sure the room overlooks the city (think that most do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The view from this hotel was amazing. The funicular was right by the hotel which made it easy to get directly into town. The hotel supplied free tickets for the funicular so you did not need to pay each time. The room was airy and clean. At night the noise from the town does carry to the hotel, and I heard a great classical symphony one night. However, if I couldnt sleep, earplugs did the trick. The reception was always helpful and available. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelli d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

the hotel is very nice, the room and the facilities. Is very small, but yes, has a great view (if you like to see the roof of the houses)...
there isn't phone in the room so you have to go to the front desk anytime you need something.
rooms are very clean.
the hot water works.
the agreement with the parking lot really sucks...I always have to pay more than what the hotel said... times are from 9am to 9pm and from 9pm to 9am...so if you enter at 8pm they charge you the hour plus the charge of the next 12hours...I dont know you are supposed to pay 10 bucks and you finishing paying more than that.....
if you are hungry at the 10pm so let me tell you that you are in troubles. the funicular is closed at that time, the hotel doesn't have restaurant, you can't take your car becasue the parking lot is closed too...so if you want to eat somethig at night be prepared.
the food in the restaurant in front of Juarez Teather was more than delicious...
BUT PLEASE DONT GET ME WRONG THE HOTEL IS NICE....

Room Tip: the ones with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ger_ariasmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Had a very good experience in this hotel. Great view of the city, we were always out walking around. Clean, great beds, you need to let the hot water run a bit till it starts coming out.
It was great taking a lift up and down to the city center

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiram_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Diego
Hotel San Diego
#14 of 56 in Guanajuato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Cielo

Property: Hotel Balcon del Cielo
Address: Carr. Panoramica Pipila, Guanajuato 36000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing