We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but distant”

Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza
Ranked #22 of 73 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but distant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms are spacious and overall quality of facilities is good. Rooms include air conditioner with heating mode (rare in Mexico...).
On the bad side, you need a car or take a taxi each time you leave or return to the hotel. There is no breakfast included and the bathroom`s door was stacked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YossiZana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
42
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rooms were nice and clean, staff was friendly. It was a little far away from downtown so we had to catch a taxi every time. We were two couples, both of us had problems with the remote control batteries, and when you flashed the toilet some sewage smell was over the room. We got a very good deal, about half the regular price compare to similar ranked hotels, so it was good value for money. AC worked perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My room was spacious and clean. I had a "junior" suite with a kitchenette that had a couch and table and chair. The bedroom was good sized with a balcony and hammock. The hotel is located in a small shopping plaza. There is a supermarket across the parking lot.
The biggest problem was with the shower. Hot water was only available after 8 in the morning. Both sinks had hot water all day and night. I was puzzled by that. I told the front desk and all I received was "lo siento". I had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good and looked beautiful.
Walls are thin.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josch1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I chose Mexico Plaza as the hotel for us and our family to stay for our wedding. I had previously stayed here and enjoyed it, and it worked well since it was close to our wedding venues (La Valenciana and La Bocamina). They were very helpful for accommodating our guests and transporting them to and from the wedding.

Rooms can be noisy from street noise but this goes for any Guanajuato hotel. Everything feels new and classy and the large marbled showers have excellent water pressure!

We enjoy staying at the Mexico Plaza and find the rates to be very good for the quality of the hotel (Book ahead of time online as the posted in-person rate is much higher).

Food is excellent in the restaurant and you can walk into downtown within 20 min (worth cabbing back for $3 since it's uphill). There is a supermarket in the same complex so that's handy for picking up wine, pop, snacks etc to use in your little kitchenette.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jglyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We stayed at Spa Mexico Plaza during the Cervantino Festival. It was on the outskirts of town, but only a 5-10 min taxi ride which only cost about $3/trip. This was actually a good thing because at night we were away from all the noise. Beds were comfortable, showers were hot, lots of room, had mini fridge, coffee pot, microwave, lcd tv, wifi internet in the room. Conveniently next to restaurants and a grocery store. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Ask for a room with a balcony in the back on 2nd or 3rd floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 755bucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I stayed here with my mom and we were very impressed. This boutique hotel has about 30 rooms and is located up on the hillside on the way to the Valenciana church and the Bocamina Mine. The room was immaculate, the shower was luxurious, and the service was excellent. Not a lot of english was spoken so it helped to know some spanish. The rooms didn't seem too soundproof as we could hear the people in the next room (but they were rather noisy) I think this is pretty normal for most GTO hotels. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very tasty. The only disadvantage of this hotel, is the view (most rooms face the parking lot), however it was well worth it for the price (book online via the Mexico Plaza website). Our stay was only $91/night with taxes when booked online. They have a shuttle that will drive you downtown, or you really could walk in a half hour or less. Then you can just cab back for $3. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

When I stayed at this hotel there was no review on Trip Advisor . All of the hotels downtown did not have Airconditioning but the Spa Plaza did so I thought I would try it. It is a recently opened modern hotel, my room looked like no one else had ever stayed there. The room has a small entrance foyer with a table & chairs, a microwave, refrigerator and a coffee maker. This room leads into the bedroom and off to the side the bathroom. The airconditiong is a new split system and works very well. There is a TV with cable but alas no english stations. The room also has an iron and ironing board. The hotel has a nice restauraunt and bar with inside as well as outside tables. In the lobby there is free high speed internet with two computer terminals. The hotel is approximately 1 kilometer from downtown at the top of a steep hill. Going down is an easy walk of about 20 minutes, going back up is a lot harder though. I used to walk down town and get a taxi for $3 back up to the hotel. The hotel is set in a complex where there is a lot of free parking, nearby stores include a chinese restauraunt , a liquor store and just around the corner from the hotel a good mini market where you can buy everything you would need. There is also a service station just accross the street. The hotel is in a quiet location and is very clean and modern, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with my stay here especially after seeing the old non airconditioned hotels downtown. The afternoon heat here can be extreme and those old hotels would not cool down at night. For older people I would advise a taxi both ways to downtown.

  • Liked — Modern, clean and airconditioned
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 50+traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#34 of 56 in Guanajuato
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
492 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 56 in Guanajuato
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza

Property: Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza
Address: Carretera Panoramica | Col. San Javier, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Boutique Mexico Plaza)
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suites Mexico Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing