We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, beautiful views”

Santuario de Cristo Rey
Ranked #8 of 70 things to do in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a nearly 3,000-foot mountain called Cerro del Cubilete, this huge statue of Jesus is one of the largest in the world.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, beautiful views”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had an assignment at one of my employer's manufacturing facilities close by, and I had the opportunity to drive up to the top of the mountain where this monastery sits. It's beautiful. You can see for miles from the top. There's a little gift shop there where you can buy some trinkets if you so desire. There's also a little blue church on the way up. Park and stop in there as well. Overall a great side trip if you have the opportunity.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank THEDoubleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    126
    35
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathe Taking”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Dont miss out! The food stands at the bottom on the hill are AMAZING be sure to try the gorditas!! The view is breathe taking. Take a camera!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“View in incredible, despite the smoke in the air”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We are not religious per se but made the long trip up based on the 'cool' factor of the site. I had read reviews about the drive and what everyone has said is true (all part of the adventure though).

Do not expect any signs from the toll highway--we ended up driving quite a ways past, then back tracking on secondary highways that had occasional, small blue "monument" signs to follow. If/when you figure out how to get to the village near the base, you will leave the secondary highway and hit cobblestone quickly. This is not flat cobblestone but really uneven and very bumpy cobblestone--I'm an assertive driver and we were seriously limited to 25-30km/hr. Any faster and you would think your car was going to rattle apart (not to mention you and your passengers). On the way up we saw workers patching the road by hand--yipes! What an awful looking job.

The drive up took a full 30 min and involved many switch backs. There are no real guard rails but the road is plenty wide enough for two cars to pass, and you are going super slow anyway...heaven forbid coming across a bus though. Thankfully we didn't. There is an organized area of shops/vendors near the last switchback and then a large parking lot at the base of the statue (on the backside). We didn't encounter any beggars or vendors at the site itself. Walk up the huge ramp around to the front of the statue and enter a plaza type area. There was only one other family there while we were there so it was easy to get great photographs of the statue. Inside the small chapel (at the base) is the coolest giagantic crown of thorns, encircling the entire interior. Very nicely done. The views to the north and east were really, really nice and clear. The views to the south and west were 75% obscured by smoke. I think every farmer in that direction must have been burning their fields and ditches! Overall a nice little side trip (with some adventure) on our way to Guanajuato.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's worth it.......”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I don't really agree with previous reviews about the trip up to Cristo De Rey. It's not a "nail biter" as the road is wide enough for three cars. The issue is it's all cobblestone up to the top and it's hard to drive faster than 20mph. With that being said, take your time, and enjoy the many different views up to the top. Once up on top, it's definitely worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank baja204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular 360 deg view from volcano”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A round place built on the very top of a round pointed volcano, with a round church with translucent rock windows in the cupola. A view all around over all of the surroundings. Take the local bus, much cheaper than tours from Guanajuato.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank swiss-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario de Cristo Rey also viewed

 

Been to Santuario de Cristo Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing