We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should not stay on RCI list”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa de la Plata
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“should not stay on RCI list”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we stayed here for a week in December, as guests of an RCI member (i.e. at no cost to us). If we had not been staying for free, we would definitely have moved to another hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, the bed & couches were like plywood, the furnishings are old & in poor repair. Bring your own toiletries, there is no shampoo/conditioner/lotion supplied, only basic hand soap. Service was inconsistent, some days dirty towels were removed but not replaced so we ended up short. The on-site restaurant is not open for supper except on Saturdays, so be prepared to eat in or travel somewhere else.
On the plus side, there was no shortage of hot water in the shower; it is within walking distance of attractions in this part of the city including the Valenciana Mine, Valenciana Temple, Museum of the Inquisition, & Museum of Purgatory. Local buses stop just outside the entrance & cost 5 pesos to the centre of town, a taxi costs 40 - 50 pesos. And we could access WiFi in our room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a week in April--it was a great example of terrific packaging but extremly disappointing interior--the grounds are terrific, the buildings have been painted and the swimming pool looked impressive. We had a 1 bed/2bath suite with a kitchen--BUT even though the suite was big, it was extremly rustic--bed was hard, three bar stools were small and one was broken, the only seating available was the extremly unconfortable couches up against the wall. There is no air conditioning and the only fan was a small floor one in the bedroom. This area of Mexico is very hot during the day--we found that we had to open all three doors in order to get some air circulation--the only windows that opened were two very small panels on the huge windows--the caulking on the windows is extremly dry and was scared that the windows would fall in when I opened them. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances--but the stove and sink/counter combo looked like it came out of a 1940's trailer.
We had two terrific balconies which overlooked thelandscaped grounds, town and the valley. We really couldn't use because there was only one chair avialable--we did bring out the bar stools but they were unconfortable.
Up close the swiming pool and spa area looked very tired and in need of a good paint job. Room extremly noisy because the hotel is right smack on the road out of town towards the mines--and the trucks need mufflers.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a better room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veliagonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here in late April 2012 -- sure, it's not your typical "fancy, schmancy" RCI resort, but we found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We stayed in Unit R and had a great view of the city of Guanajuato from our balcony. The unit itself was large (2 BR and 2 BA with a full kitchen). While the furnishings were a bit older, everything was incredibly clean. Each day we would return and find the unit in pristine condition -- the woman that cleaned our unit was efficient, thorough, and friendly. The staff was attentive and friendly -- any requests/concerns were immediately addressed. The resort does not have Wi-Fi, but there is a computer in the lobby for guests. We enjoyed our time in Guanajuato and would return to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiguira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The property looked beautiful as we pulled in, well kept landscaping and building exterior. When we went into our room we were disappointed in the upkeep. The walls needed cleaning and/or painting. The carpet was a mess and who knows what on the walls in the restroom. The curtains were so musty and dusty and moldy we were afraid to move them. There was mold on the shower curtain and around the shower fixtures. Many of the tiles in the restroom were broken or missing. It took two days to get the restroom properly cleaned. One of the light fixtures was missing the cover. Everything was dusty, really dusty. The sleeping arrangements were just as poor, the king bed was hard as a concrete floor, and the futon sofas that the kids slept on were stained and not comfy. There is no way the room could accommodate 4 adults, it barely accommodated 2 adults, a teenager and a child. Also, if you don't speak any Spanish you may have a difficult time communicating with the staff. RCI should re-evaluate this 'resort'.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stehai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I think the hotel has a good marketing guy desing the web site, the real thing is when you go to your (basic one) is ouwful. The room is no clean, the beds are no goods and has some fails that I don't have time to listed all.

Anyway if you don't find other hotel you could sleep here but never go with the idea that you find an four start hotel, it's not. in the best cases I give this hotel 2 starts, one for have the corage to call itself hotel and the other one because they have internet to write this.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramm99mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Dirty, dirty, dirty. It was advertised as 4 star, but I don't know what scale they were using. Dirt from the base boards to the ceiling. We could not get comfortable the entire week we stayed. We were with friends who were on the timeshare, it may have been a value for them - but at the rate we payed for the week, I do not feel at all like we got what we paid for.

Guanajuato is beautiful, but go stay closer to town for a better experience.

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — Dirt
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TXN_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We booked our reservations through RCI at the Villa de la Plata before we read the negative review. Our experience was much better than the previous reviewer. There were four of us all together - my husband & I and our two daughters, one 22 and one 19. We wanted a place to "land" after a full day's sightseeing and shopping. The Villa de la Plata served that purpose well.

We found our room very clean, albeit very basic. We had a two bedroom unit that was supposed to sleep 6. They would have had to be verrryyyy litttlllle people. My husband and I took one look at what was supposed to be the master bedroom and opted for the larger second bedroom with twin beds. Older daughter slept in the master, younger on the couch. In order to get to an occupancy of 6, both those would have to sleep 2 people - no way! The hotel is on a busy road, but that quieted down during the night (and started in again early in the morning). Also, barking dogs across the street. Ear plugs are the only way to sleep. Take several pairs!

The unit had two bathrooms, both of which were basic, but clean and serviceable. Water pressure was minimal, hot showers available about 75% of the time.

The kitchen had 3 burners - only one of which worked. But it did have a microwave, blender, toaster and fridge. There was also a 5 gallon bottle of purified water in the room. When we needed that replaced (close to the end of our week) we were charged 20 pesos. No biggie - and the convenience of having the potable water right there was well worth it! Btw, if you plan on doing an cooking, however minimal, I'd suggest you pack a sharp knife in your luggage - even a steak knife, and if you have it, one of those plastic cutting "boards" that is about the size and thickness of a plastic placemat. We had one VERY dull butcher knife and a cutting board about the size of a large postcard.

Besides the bedrooms and bathrooms, there was one main room (the kitchen was at one end of it). There was a sofa, a tv, and a large table with six chairs. There was not enough comfortable seating for four.

Resort facilities weren't great, but you don't go to Guanajuato for a resort experience. The pool was indoors and seemed quite cloudy. The playground appeared to have new equipment. There was a gym, but we didn't use it.

We DID use the on-site restaurant twice: the evening we got in, and one morning for breakfast. It is generally open for breakfast and lunch only (closes at 4pm) but Saturday when the RCI folks come in, it is open until 8pm. The food was fine, but for dinner, a better choice (other than going into town) is Restaurant Conde de la Vallencia in Vallencia, the little town up the hill from the hotel. It's about a 15 minute walk BACK to the hotel (downhill). We never actually made the uphill walk. But great food there! I had a steak dinner that included rice, beans, guacamole, and a cheese enchilada for 122 pesos (about $12 US). Really, really good. While you're there, see the church - gorgeous. Also several little shops - jewelry, folk art, etc.

Staff at the hotel was very helpful - within language constraints. One bellboy spoke a bit of English. Otherwise, as it is pretty much everywhere in Guanajuato, you do need Spanish.

Villa de la Plata served us quite well -- although we probably would not stay there again. We would want to be closer to town or actually stay downtown.

  • Liked — separate bedrooms for family members, kitchen facilities
  • Disliked — nowhere comfortable to sit, too far from Guanajuato
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
0.6 mi away
La Abadia Tradicional
La Abadia Tradicional
#38 of 56 in Guanajuato
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
Quinta Las Alondras Hotel
#22 of 56 in Guanajuato
80 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#15 of 56 in Guanajuato
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Real Guanajuato
Hotel Real Guanajuato
#34 of 56 in Guanajuato
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de la Plata

Property: Hotel Villa de la Plata
Address: Carretera Mineral de Valenciana Km 3, Guanajuato 36240, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa de la Plata 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa de la Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing