We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mision Guanajuato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mision Guanajuato
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Guanajuato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mx
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good service and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I just went to a wedding in this hotel. The service is excellent, all the staff is friendly and the standard room is very large, no matter which room you have, all of them have an incredible view, that´s because this hotel is an old ranch that was remodeled to an hotel. It is also one recommended tourist place to visit because is also a museum.
The menu is varied and delicious, you can get buffet or a la carte; and besides there is a bar.
The only thing I noticed is that all the room stuff is a bit run down, for example, in my room the carpet had an iron burn; but in general it is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HitGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments, thanks to them we can improve our services and facilities,

It was a pleasure to host you in Misión Guanajuato

Best regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    136
    74
    46
    48
See reviews for
188
102
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are many hotels in Guanajuato City but this one is one of the best ones I have ever been in.. Service is great, food is tasty and the buffet in the mornings is just delicious! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItzelMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to meet and exceed the expectations of our customers, thank you very much for your comments, these motivate us to keep improving.

Best Regards

Claudio Ponce

Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

It caught my attention that the locals had told me that this hotel was a 5 stars category. They have a great service, the food is really good and in an accessible price. The pool is very small for the hotel which was kind of a surprise we couldn't really enjoy that. The rooms could be improve, they seem really old and not in a good way. The mattress were really uncomfortable maybe they were too old we didn't have any good sleep. The room was clean but we had trouble with the tv, they manage to fix it.
It is located in front of a beautiful museum of an hacienda.
We stayed for very few days and it was only ok.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maritza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback and we will work in our opportunity areas to improve the quality of our services.

Best regards
Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a wonderful tour of the Museo exhacienda San Gabriel and decided to have lunch at this hotel which is across the street. Big mistake. The Hotel looks wonderful as you walk in but the staff and there were lots seems to spend more time talking to each other. We sat at a pretty table ordered wine and lunch. My lunch was Enchiladas Mineras, a specialty of the house and it was served lukewarm and small portions. My friend had enchiladas three colours and the plate was so hot you couldn't touch it. When we asked for the Bill the prices were wrong and added up incorrectly, which we mentioned. It was corrected but when we got our change we were shortchanged a few pesos. I was disappointed as we really wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt as we are looking for different places to stay when we return but this hotel is not on our list!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments which are really helpful to improve our service.

All apologies for this incident.

Regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guanajuato hotels

Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We ate lunch today in the restaurant. Food was mediocre. Worst, though - the bill came with higher prices than the menu! So we asked to see the menu again, and pointed out the discrepancies on both orders. Bill was fixed. But, when we received our change, we were both shorted. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback, we truly appreciate your comments because thanks to them we can use them to keep improving our service.

All apologies for the incident that you have already mentioned, we are working to correct them.

Best regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff. Really rude. No clean towels each day. Awful food. Expensive. Bed more like an ironing board though the hotel did not have an ironing board. Terrible shocking and appalling. There are so many other wonderful hotels here like boutique 1850, do not stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank therockdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very important for us the feedback that you have made through your comments. We took already action to improve our services in that way you can appreciate the changes during your next visit.

Thank you for your comments.

Regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Director Misión Guanajuato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Good things: the hotel is very pretty and the beds and room are comfortable.
Bad things: The shower was extremely small and only had two temperatures, boiling water and freezing ice.
The worst: The room we got smelled like ashtray the whole time we stayed.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#10 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guanajuato

Property: Mision Guanajuato
Address: Camino Antiguo a Marfil km. 2.5 | Col. Noria Alta, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guanajuato
#4 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guanajuato 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of Guanajuato, a World Heritage Site, with its colonial architecture and its romantic atmosphere, it is an excellent destination for unforgettable moments. It has 138 rooms with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 6 meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 to 800 people with services to perform the wedding of your dreams, special events, parties and business meetings. Hotel Mission Guanajuato support you with the organization and we provide everything necessary so that your expectations are met. In our facilities you will find restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, laundry and dry cleaning and gift shop, which places us as one of the hotels in Guanajuato most complete services and amenities. Our hotel has a prime location, next to the Museo ex Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera, heritage of the city and home of the International Cervantino Festival. Also we are located 20 minutes from the airport, 40 minutes from the city of Leon and 3 hours 45 minutes from Mexico City. Among the main attractions of the city is the Jardin de la Union, beautiful triangular park roofed by leafy trees, with its kiosk in the center and a pleasant atmosphere, the Collegiate Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato, the Temple and Ex-Convent the Society of Jesus, with a large dome in the neoclassical style and the famous Callejón del Beso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mision Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing