We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant....poor service, small portions, lukewarm food”
Review of Mision Guanajuato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mision Guanajuato
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a wonderful tour of the Museo exhacienda San Gabriel and decided to have lunch at this hotel which is across the street. Big mistake. The Hotel looks wonderful as you walk in but the staff and there were lots seems to spend more time talking to each other. We sat at a pretty table ordered wine and lunch. My lunch was Enchiladas Mineras, a specialty of the house and it was served lukewarm and small portions. My friend had enchiladas three colours and the plate was so hot you couldn't touch it. When we asked for the Bill the prices were wrong and added up incorrectly, which we mentioned. It was corrected but when we got our change we were shortchanged a few pesos. I was disappointed as we really wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt as we are looking for different places to stay when we return but this hotel is not on our list!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments which are really helpful to improve our service.

All apologies for this incident.

Regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 532 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

We ate lunch today in the restaurant. Food was mediocre. Worst, though - the bill came with higher prices than the menu! So we asked to see the menu again, and pointed out the discrepancies on both orders. Bill was fixed. But, when we received our change, we were both shorted. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback, we truly appreciate your comments because thanks to them we can use them to keep improving our service.

All apologies for the incident that you have already mentioned, we are working to correct them.

Best regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff. Really rude. No clean towels each day. Awful food. Expensive. Bed more like an ironing board though the hotel did not have an ironing board. Terrible shocking and appalling. There are so many other wonderful hotels here like boutique 1850, do not stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank therockdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest,

It is very important for us the feedback that you have made through your comments. We took already action to improve our services in that way you can appreciate the changes during your next visit.

Thank you for your comments.

Regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato
Director Misión Guanajuato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Good things: the hotel is very pretty and the beds and room are comfortable.
Bad things: The shower was extremely small and only had two temperatures, boiling water and freezing ice.
The worst: The room we got smelled like ashtray the whole time we stayed.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was once a really nice one. But today, sadly, it is screaming for a makeover.
Its an old "hacienda", but rooms are old, they need a makeover. However, it is super clean. Staff is very helpful. The conference room is small. It can fit no more than 200 people, and it is hot as hell!, the ac system is not enough for the entire room.
Food is good, nothing fancy.
Overall clean, friendly staff, but in desperate need for a makeover.

Room Tip: If you have any kind of disabilities, and if you need to use a cane, wheelchair or something like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drpjgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I chose to stay here rather than downtown for the Cervantina. Taxis and buses to and from the city center were readily available and the Ex-Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera with its colonial mansion and gardens was at the door. As a retired Spanish teacher, it was the first time I was at liberty to go to the Cervantina and it was one of the most exciting events I had ever attended.
I saw plays and heard music and saw street performances and enjoyed a peaceful and interesting city where everyone seemed to be in the streets but no one was discourteous.

Room Tip: All rooms are on ground level and mine was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For starters, this hotel is right next to a sewage treatment plant. The smell is unbearable! The place is also terribly noisy. One can hear conversations from neighboring rooms even at 2am!

You should also keep in mind:

1. Half of the time the internet does not work, and when it does, it is extremely slow.
2. The rooms do not have a safe or a coffee maker, as advertised.
3. There is no AC.
4. The breakfast is a buffet of very poor quality in terms of food selection and hygiene.
5. The bathroom does not have ventilation or a fan.
6. The hotel is far from the center of the city and you can't even get a taxi there unless someone calls one for you.
7. Linens and mattresses are old and worn out.

On top of all the above, the staff is rude. I wanted to leave the hotel as soon as I saw it, but had to stay there for work. Very annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direct0rH0tel, Gerente at Mision Guanajuato, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the feedback provided. Now at the moment we are working very hard in each point that you have mentioned. We will be very thankful if you can give us the opportunity to host you again to show you all the improvements that we have made based in your comments.

Regards

Claudio Ponce
Director Misión Guanajuato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 54 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 54 in Guanajuato
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 54 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 54 in Guanajuato
107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guanajuato

Address: Camino Antiguo a Marfil km. 2.5 | Col. Noria Alta, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guanajuato
#4 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guanajuato 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of Guanajuato, a World Heritage Site, with its colonial architecture and its romantic atmosphere, it is an excellent destination for unforgettable moments. It has 138 rooms with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 6 meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 to 800 people with services to perform the wedding of your dreams, special events, parties and business meetings. Hotel Mission Guanajuato support you with the organization and we provide everything necessary so that your expectations are met. In our facilities you will find restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, laundry and dry cleaning and gift shop, which places us as one of the hotels in Guanajuato most complete services and amenities. Our hotel has a prime location, next to the Museo ex Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera, heritage of the city and home of the International Cervantino Festival. Also we are located 20 minutes from the airport, 40 minutes from the city of Leon and 3 hours 45 minutes from Mexico City. Among the main attractions of the city is the Jardin de la Union, beautiful triangular park roofed by leafy trees, with its kiosk in the center and a pleasant atmosphere, the Collegiate Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato, the Temple and Ex-Convent the Society of Jesus, with a large dome in the neoclassical style and the famous Callejón del Beso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mision Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing