We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get by car be very careful. I will never come back to his hotel.”
Review of Mision Guanajuato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mision Guanajuato
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for a night. When we get to the hotel, they had our reservation but no the extra: such as breakfast and a city tour payed in advanced, I had to show them at my computer screen. This issue didn't give me confidence of the hotel personel.
Next day we pack all our stuff, put it at the car because de city tour returned after check out hour. When we returned to the hotel, go to our car, and when we opened it all our luggage was stolen.
The waiters and all the personel told us this happens very often. The guy that washes the cars at the parking lot is 'responsable' for keeping and eye. There is no surveillance, no cameras, no nothing.
The hotel has an insurance, when they arrived they told us that the hotel parking lot doesn't belong to the hotel. The insurance doesn't has coverage for theft at the parking lot.
It is very dissapointing to find out his happens often and the hotel doesn't do anything.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lrje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 532 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

The negatives were ceiling fans instead of air conditioning and sewer gases in our bathroom which also did not have a window nor an exhaust fan. Other than that, the rooms are rustic but comfortable, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous, and the food we had in the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend you try the mole if you ever find yourself in this lovely hotel! It is located in hills at the edge of town but we did not have any difficulty getting around in our rented car and via taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I can absolutely not recomment this hotel. It's outside the towncenter (you net a taxi). The rooms are old and need a renovation. The smell in our room (coming from the bathroom) was very bad. When the reading light didn't work, they only came next day to repair it (which doesn't help, when you want to read a book in the evening).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnenblume117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I like older, well-kept hotels. I am here at a busy time and chose to stay outside the city center. There is plentiful hot water, a clean room, lovely grounds and swimming pool, a very nice restaurant, and blissful quiet at night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This hotel looks nice in the pictures of the web page but really is not that nice, there is no elevators so i had to walk carring my luggage all the way to the 5th floor and thats not it, is really confusing, my frind got lost looking for his room. The beds were terrible i had a hard time sleeping, the shower was really bad it was either to cold or to hot.

So if you like getting lost, carring your luggage up to the top floors and sleeping in a really bad beds go ahead!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcialC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this place. The bathroom is smelly, water is never really hot. WE is very noisy and the restaurant food is to be missed at all costs. Breakfast "bufffet" is really bad, foul coffee, inneficient service...The worst for us was may be to discover on our departure day that our car had been forced in their public parking. and the security was to be "located"

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anargratos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The location of this place is out of town a ways and it is not particularly easy to find (not that anything is easy to find in Guanajuato). If you are driving then print a map first! There is a courtesy bus to town and taxis are CHEAP (30 pesos from town back to the hotel) so the location isn't too much of an issue.

The rooms are average. Reasonably clean, rather hard beds etc. Nothing to write home about. The pool looked nice but we didn't go in.

The service is ok in general but again nothing spectacular.

Avoid the restaurant and eat in town if you can then taxi back to the Hotel. The breakfast buffet is pretty good though it is a bit pricey.

The one big plus is the gardens and Hacienda next door which is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Regsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guanajuato
1.4 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 54 in Guanajuato
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 54 in Guanajuato
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 54 in Guanajuato
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#7 of 54 in Guanajuato
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Plaza & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Guanajuato

Address: Camino Antiguo a Marfil km. 2.5 | Col. Noria Alta, Guanajuato 36050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guanajuato
#4 Business Hotel in Guanajuato
Price Range: $68 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Guanajuato 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city of Guanajuato, a World Heritage Site, with its colonial architecture and its romantic atmosphere, it is an excellent destination for unforgettable moments. It has 138 rooms with services and amenities of first class. Also it offers 6 meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 to 800 people with services to perform the wedding of your dreams, special events, parties and business meetings. Hotel Mission Guanajuato support you with the organization and we provide everything necessary so that your expectations are met. In our facilities you will find restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, laundry and dry cleaning and gift shop, which places us as one of the hotels in Guanajuato most complete services and amenities. Our hotel has a prime location, next to the Museo ex Hacienda San Gabriel de Barrera, heritage of the city and home of the International Cervantino Festival. Also we are located 20 minutes from the airport, 40 minutes from the city of Leon and 3 hours 45 minutes from Mexico City. Among the main attractions of the city is the Jardin de la Union, beautiful triangular park roofed by leafy trees, with its kiosk in the center and a pleasant atmosphere, the Collegiate Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato, the Temple and Ex-Convent the Society of Jesus, with a large dome in the neoclassical style and the famous Callejón del Beso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mision Guanajuato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mision Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing