We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home, with lovely staff, interior and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #9 of 75 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home, with lovely staff, interior and view”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a wonderful place. the view, the interior, the warm and welcoming staff. You feel instantly at home here. The whole place is at such a scale that it never feels like a hotel. More like a lovely house. Unfortunately I cannot give the 5 stars since the room (Sirena) we upgraded to on arrival had a sauna that did not heat up properly. Even after more than an hour preheating (please notice that the heating system turns off automatically after 30 minutes or so). The simple reason for that is that the whole space is covered in cold, yet beautiful, tiles. Saunas are for a reason made of wood. It did not spoil our fun, though.
When we get the chance we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicaninns, Owner at Casa Estrella de la Valenciana, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
I regret that the steam room did not heat properly for you. When we tested it, the steam was fully functioning in about 5 minutes, so I am not sure what happened. When something like that happens, we hope that guests will notify the staff as no one was aware that you were having problems with the heat. Our staff has been reminded to ask guests if anything is not working to their satisfaction so we can attend to it.
Also, traditional steam rooms, unlike saunas, usually have stone or tile interiors because of the high humidity heated environment. Nevertheless, we are happy that you enjoyed your trip to Guanajuato and were comfortable at the inn; better yet, that you plan to return some day in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived at night to even after we left the next day, we couldn't stop thinking about how wonderful this "casa" was. The interior and exterior was amazing and each person we met during our stay was fabulous. The room, snacks, view, breakfast, everything.. was AWESOME!

We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Piedad, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I spent the weekend there with my husband and we absolutely loved it. The decoration was awesome, I wanted to take pictures of everything. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Adan, our host, found us a great parking spot (gated) and he was very helpful. The food was delicious. We had to rush out because we got a call from our doggy-sitter that our dog was lost, so we didn't get to see everything that was recommended by the staff, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The feeling you get when you arrive to the hotel is priceless. You feel like you arrived home. It's a beautiful house with a beautiful view. Each suite is different, and they are all spacious and well-equipped. We stayed at the Valenciana suite, which has an outdoor jacuzzi and outdoor seating, very nice and very comfortable. Free parking on site, too.
The staff is incredibly nice and welcoming. We appreciated Juan's and Angelica's help getting there and advice regarding the city. We even got a goodbye gift from Angelica when we checked out. Great attention to detail.
The hotel is 10 minutes away (by car) from the city center, so know that you will need to move by taxi (50 pesos each way) if you stay here. We were glad we stayed there because the center of Guanajuato is VERY VERY loud at night. We were surprised at the amount of night clubs there were and the booming bass that invaded the air everywhere. Very annoying.
Everything is clean, the decorations are beautiful and very true to Guanajuato's style. The living room, dining area, and balcony are spectacular and very cozy. The breakfast is plentiful and absolutely delicious!! Coffee, tea, fresh fruit, orange juice, milk, cereal, granola, yogurt, sweet bread, and yummy chilaquiles.
If we return to Guanajuato, we will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaDelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful place to stay - amazing views over Guanajuato - enjoyed sitting on terrace having breakfast every morning.. Very friendly and helpful staff. We left our passports in the safe and Aidan helped get them to us in San Miguel. My husband found a picture of a pottery bottle of tequila he wanted - next thing Javier has the salesman travelling 2 hours with his wares! The pool is lovely to sit by at siesta time...so relaxing. And the DVD selection to have a lazy night in was a great idea. Only $3-4 in a taxi to centre of town - we popped in and out but loved escaping to return to our casa at the end of each day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel for one night and was very pleased in the stay. Service from all the staff was great, the hotel is beautiful and very well kept. Definitely recommended for any visit to Guanajuato. The included breakfast was great with home made chilaquiles and fresh orange juice and fruit. Overall the whole family was very happy staying at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever been in my life. I stayed there 3 nights with my boyfriend, it was perfect: great room, great service and good advices, great breakfast with fresh & delightful products; the view is wonderfull and the swimming pool is delightful. Everything is lovely and comfortable. The B&B is 10 minutes from the city center of Guanajuato by car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clothilde F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.7 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Maria Cristina Relais & Chateaux
1.9 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
Hotel La Casona de Don Lucas
#6 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada Santa Fe
Posada Santa Fe
#4 of 56 in Guanajuato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 75 in Guanajuato
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Property: Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing