We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn overlooking the city....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
Ranked #9 of 78 Guanajuato B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at Casa Estrella in October. It was a lovely place with panoramic views.
The staff provided delicious Mexican breakfasts which held us until mid-afternoon! The beds and linens were so comfortable that we always had a good night's sleep. Since the inn is above the city, we did not experience the noise of the central into early morning hours. Each of the people on the staff were wonderfully helpful with any request. The pool, jacuzzi and gardens were beautiful, giving a sense of relaxation and peace. I would highly recommend this charming bed and breakfast inn.

Room Tip: Every room, even the standard rooms have views of the city and surrounding mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Mae V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Casa Estrella de la Valenciana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The city of Guanajuato is a university town with 30,000 students and a population of 145,000 people. Very young and vibrant. The central part of the city is reached through a maze of tunnels. Casa Estrella is about a 10-15 minute $4 taxi ride away and overlooks the city. The facility is small..about 8 rooms..and is really a bed and breakfast. The rooms are nice and there is also a large shared living room, deck,dining room, pool,etc. Lots to do in the area - several museums including a mummy museum, theaters and mines. Lots of history in this area. The breakfasts were great and we got a couple of good recipes...had great informative talks with both Javier and Janet. The entire staff were very accomodating

Room Tip: The larger suites would be worth the money although all the suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCJimVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Casa Estrella. The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. They seemed to anticipate our every need. Janet and Javier gave excellent tips on restaurants and helped set us up with a tour guide. The breakfasts were phenomenal ... the best we can remember at a Bed and Breakfast ever. The room we stayed in (Guadalupe) was gorgeous. It had a beautiful view of the city skyline and surrounding mountains. There was gorgeous local artwork in our room and throughout the common areas. Although the Casa Estrella lies outside Guanajuato, it was a simple 10-minute cab ride into town. We would happily return to this property again in future trips to the region.

Room Tip: The website represented the rooms well.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2travel262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I surprised my boyfriend with a night here for his birthday. Janet was wonderful - arranging a masseuse, asking if I needed wine chilled or cheese plates and recommending places for dinner. The place itself is magical - fantastic views and perfect service from unobtrusive staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Casa Estrella has the appointments and amenities of a five-star property similar to those included in the "Chateau and Relais" chain. However, it also has the friendliness and warmth offered by the B and B's staff, who go out of their way to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. Given the hustle and bustle of Guanajuato, it is worth the easy and inexpensive 10 minute taxi ride to be out of the city but enjoying the magnificent view of the area below. I can't imagine a better option for Guanajuato.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Estrella. It was a true oasis of serenity after a hectic week visiting several locations in Mexico. Staff very responsive to our requests - Angelica and Javier both were very helpful. The B & B is located out of the central area of town but taxis are very easy to call and on average about 40 pesos into the centro - this is about $3.75 USD. The tradeoff is an absence of traffic noise at the hotel. Rooms were beautifully decorated with quality bedding and amenities. Also, thoughtful additions such as an honor bar and wine by the bottle at very reasonable prices and books about Mexican folk art were on premises. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is one of the most beautiful B & Bs we've ever stayed at, and we've been to many. We were fortunate that Sharon, one of the owners was there, who took us with her and a friend to two fabulous ceramic studios, Capelo and the town of Santa Rosa, both very
close to Casa Estrella. The decor of the common areas and the rooms were elegant and traditionally Mexican, using artists from the area. All the rooms had a view, overlooking Guanajuato and beyond, which was great. If you can, reserve the Valenciana room, which we had, as it had it's own outdoor patio with a hot tub. We loved the delicious breakfast on the deck overlook the town, which was plentiful and changed every day. The only slight drawback was that we needed a taxi to go in and out of town, which arrived within 7 minutes of calling (so not a big deal), but the plus was the quiet and beauty of the location. And if you can combine your visit with the Cervantino Festival in October, you can't lose. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tepoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.9 mi away
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
Edelmira Hotel Boutique
#3 of 55 in Guanajuato
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Meson de los Poetas
El Meson de los Poetas
#2 of 55 in Guanajuato
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
Castillo Santa Cecilia Hotel
#46 of 55 in Guanajuato
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel de la Paz
Hotel de la Paz
#8 of 55 in Guanajuato
100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Zuniga B&B
Casa Zuniga B&B
#1 of 78 in Guanajuato
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique 1850
Hotel Boutique 1850
#1 of 55 in Guanajuato
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estrella de la Valenciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estrella de la Valenciana

Address: Calle Jalisco # 10, Guanajuato 36260, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Guanajuato
Price Range: $116 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Estrella de la Valenciana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Estrella de la Valenciana is a hillside Mexican bed and breakfast inn that overlooks the Valenciana mine. Every one of our unique bedrooms has a view of the city and its surrounding mountains. Nestled in the heart of the Central Mexican Highlands - Mexico's "Cradle of Independence," our location is perfect to enjoy the romantic city of Guanajuato, with its underground tunnels and beautiful plazas, as well as day trips to the nearby cities of San Miguel de Allende and Dolores Hidalgo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Estrella de la Valenciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Estrella De La Valenciana Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing