We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Abadia Tradicional
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I was expecting a romantic getaway with my husband, but we had to change our plans and make it a cultural weekend, as we could not wait to get away from the room, which was too small, dark and ill ventilated. The only window opened to the hallway, we did not get hand towels and had to give a deposit to get a remote control. When we booked, we asked the person if you could get downtown walking, and they answered that it was not far away. When we arrived, we noticed that this would not be possible unless you were used to running marathons. The breakfast was not good, there are other hotels on the price range with better facilities. Staying at the Abadía was a huge mistake.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sheebita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2008

We stayed at the "traditional" hotel, one of three locations in Guanajuato. The hotel seems to suffer from organization and communication among staff. We asked if the restaurant would have regular meal service on Christmas Eve--or if if would be reserved for a special holiday function. We'd seen several people come to the desk during the day, buying tickets for the restaurant so we thought we should ask. We were assured that normal service and hours would be in effect. It turned out the restaurant was indeed shut down that evening, serving only a special holiday meal--after Midnight Mass. We had a 5:00 a.m. flight on Christmas morning and had arranged for a wake-up call for 2:30 a.m. in order to be ready to leave for the airport. We twice checked with the front desk to make sure this was all set. No walk-up call ever came. Fortunately, we managed to get up on time--mainly due to the fireworks being shot off outside our bedroom window. When we arrived at the front desk, we found the clerk busy playing computer games, clearly having no sense that the wake-up call needed to be made--even though it had been recorded in the "To-Do" book for the incoming shift. The final problem was opening on time for the (included) breakfast buffet. The dining room is to open at 8:00--a little late, in my opinion, for a hotel breakfast. Even so, when we presented ourselves at the door of the dining room at 8:00, we were told that it wasn't yet open; that it would be another ten minutes or so. A fairly large crowd had already assembled in the lobby, waiting to eat. We could see the staff just beginning to fill the steam trays with food at the point we should already have been seated. All in all, I can't recommend the hotel because of the poor organization--and the potential for a major screw-up, as in the case with the missed wake-up call.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alphaboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

There are different locations of this hotel. My review is based on the main bldg on the hill across from the Camino Real Hotel. Other locations may be better. This hotel which has lots of steps with rooms right on the street had no a/c. My room had all nite traffic plus the chorus of barking dogs that added to the charm. I was with a group, but desk staff speak no english so unless your pretty good with spanish I found that to be a problem. Also they issued brkfst vouchers to pay for breakfast but I thought the staff putting up signs reminding everyone to tip was obnoxious to the point of overkill. The room itself was just fine and free internet was nice. If my room wasn'[t right on the street and didn't have the noise my experience would have been a lot nicer. It was far from downtown but as mentioned not a expensive cab ride. The city was phenomenol but needed to be closer to really explore it.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank davidgmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We had a good experience in this hotel, it's very clean, the decoration if ok but it's just a little bit far from the downtown. For us, it was ot to walk but for other who doesn't walk it's not a good idea. The food for the breakfast is wonderful and very good. It's a big breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank domoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at La Abadia. The hotel is not luxurious but it's clean and quite charming. The rooms are small, but comfortable (except for the pillows). No A/C but the fan kept the room cool. The buffet breakfast is good... we particularly enjoyed the view from the dining room/balcony. Note: hotel has lots of steps.

It's a $3 cab ride downtown or a 20-25 min walk up/down hill. The hotel was quiet except for Sunday morning when the church bells ring.

Our only serious complaint is that the hotel did not have our reservation on file despite the fact that it had already charged our VISA card!! We had to go back and forth with them several times before this was resolved. If we hadn't checked our credit card expenses online before traveling, we may have let them charge us twice for the first night. If it hadn't been for this mix up, I would have given the hotel 4 stars.

Note: La Abadia actually has 3 hotels in Guanajuato, all of which are relatively close together. We found this out b/c we had to go to the other 2 hotels to find a place to park.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank C&L23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

The city of Guanajuato has a problem with parking availability, so if you are driving to the city this hotel is convenient since it has parking available. Also, I would recomend to walk to downtown Guanajuato or take a taxi. Rooms are average, and there are a lot of stairs in all the hotel. They have a good restaurant that has tables in a balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travelermexico74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed here our first night on a Conference in Guanajuato.
Everyone in the conf got a special rate.
Which is the norm with most conferences.
But....

When we got our key, we walked into a crap room.
Right next to an all night bar

So anyways you trudge back and get another room.
Not much better, but after a long flight, it will do.

But it turned out that our Room was right next to to Highway, going up a hill. And to make our story short. Every truck in Mexico reved up their engine just before they went up the hill just outside our room.

I know there were other rooms available. We left and went elsewhwere.

The final p off? The only place in Mexico that took an imprint of my mastercard was here at this Hotel. And guess what????
We got a call from Mastercard asking if we were buying gas in Texas, THE NEXT WEEK
No
So someone from the Hotel got our card details and did their thing.

STAY AWAY FROM HERE

Stayed: September 2006
9  Thank fillipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Abadia Plaza
Hotel La Abadia Plaza
#39 of 54 in Guanajuato
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#27 of 54 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Guanajuato
Camino Real Guanajuato
#38 of 54 in Guanajuato
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#17 of 54 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de la Plata
Hotel Villa de la Plata
#32 of 54 in Guanajuato
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 54 in Guanajuato
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Abadia Tradicional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Abadia Tradicional

Address: San Javier, Col. Centro, 1 | Guanajuato, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Abadia Tradicional 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Abadia Tradicional Hotel opened in 1984 with 42 rooms, today it has a total of 83 accommodations with a modern rustic style. Rooms feature a King size bed for couples or two double beds for family trips, business travelers may enjoy rooms with a full bed. La Abadia Tradicional Hotel offers exquisite cuisine at its restaurant Arcangeles where you can enjoy typical "Miners" enchiladas, as well as a variety of regional and International dishes, for your enjoyment Cava Virreyes Bar is also available. A relaxing swimming pool awaits for you during the hot summer days. For conferences, seminars, work meetings and special events a variety of meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Abadia Tradicional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Abadia Guanajuato
La Abadia Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing