We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Abadia Tradicional
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We had a good experience in this hotel, it's very clean, the decoration if ok but it's just a little bit far from the downtown. For us, it was ot to walk but for other who doesn't walk it's not a good idea. The food for the breakfast is wonderful and very good. It's a big breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank domoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at La Abadia. The hotel is not luxurious but it's clean and quite charming. The rooms are small, but comfortable (except for the pillows). No A/C but the fan kept the room cool. The buffet breakfast is good... we particularly enjoyed the view from the dining room/balcony. Note: hotel has lots of steps.

It's a $3 cab ride downtown or a 20-25 min walk up/down hill. The hotel was quiet except for Sunday morning when the church bells ring.

Our only serious complaint is that the hotel did not have our reservation on file despite the fact that it had already charged our VISA card!! We had to go back and forth with them several times before this was resolved. If we hadn't checked our credit card expenses online before traveling, we may have let them charge us twice for the first night. If it hadn't been for this mix up, I would have given the hotel 4 stars.

Note: La Abadia actually has 3 hotels in Guanajuato, all of which are relatively close together. We found this out b/c we had to go to the other 2 hotels to find a place to park.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank C&L23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

The city of Guanajuato has a problem with parking availability, so if you are driving to the city this hotel is convenient since it has parking available. Also, I would recomend to walk to downtown Guanajuato or take a taxi. Rooms are average, and there are a lot of stairs in all the hotel. They have a good restaurant that has tables in a balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank travelermexico74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed here our first night on a Conference in Guanajuato.
Everyone in the conf got a special rate.
Which is the norm with most conferences.
But....

When we got our key, we walked into a crap room.
Right next to an all night bar

So anyways you trudge back and get another room.
Not much better, but after a long flight, it will do.

But it turned out that our Room was right next to to Highway, going up a hill. And to make our story short. Every truck in Mexico reved up their engine just before they went up the hill just outside our room.

I know there were other rooms available. We left and went elsewhwere.

The final p off? The only place in Mexico that took an imprint of my mastercard was here at this Hotel. And guess what????
We got a call from Mastercard asking if we were buying gas in Texas, THE NEXT WEEK
No
So someone from the Hotel got our card details and did their thing.

STAY AWAY FROM HERE

Stayed: September 2006
9  Thank fillipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

While studying in Mexico nine of us went to Guanajuato for the weekend and stayed at La Abadia. The hotel is not right downtown, but there is a bus stop (maybe a 10 min. ride) right down the street and taxis cost $3 to the centro. The rooms were nice and comfortable, the hotel was quiet and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and it was very good. Be warned though that in Guanajuato they ring the bells at about 7 in the morning and it is very loud...our friends went the weekend before us and said the same thing happened.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GDL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2005

Absolutely fabulous hotel. I just finished a seven city jaunt through Mexico and this was my favorite hotel of any city I was in. It was quiet, fantastic food in the restaurant, two bars, very helpful staff, great pool and the hotel even has its own disco! But the thing I liked most about this place was the ambience. This hotel is nothing like the cookie-cutter look alikes you experience with most hotels. La Abadía (The Abbey) has a real old-Mexico feel about it. True to the name of the hotel there are magnificent culturally religious touches all around. And the colors used in the establishment - unbelieveable! I can't wait to go again and show my friends this hotel. Some of my photos are attached to this review.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chachafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado huésped: Abadia Tradicional ha tenido muchas mejoras, quizá ya ha tenido la oportunidad de visitarnos de nuevo y las ha comprobado, si no, esperamos poder atenderle nuevamente en un futuro proximo, muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
26
Reviewed October 21, 2004

The hotel looks lovely and the stay was pleasant. But my major complaint were the beds. The matresses kept rolling off the bed frame. Any kind of movement from my 2 yr old son, would roll the matresses of the side toward the floor.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at La Abadia Tradicional, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

Dear guest: Many improvements have been made to Abadia Tradicional, perhaps you already visited us again and were able to experience this for yourself, if not, we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guanajuato hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Abadia Plaza
Hotel La Abadia Plaza
#39 of 54 in Guanajuato
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Magica Hotel
Casa Magica Hotel
#27 of 54 in Guanajuato
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Guanajuato
Camino Real Guanajuato
#38 of 54 in Guanajuato
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
Hotel Boutique Casa Mellado
#17 of 54 in Guanajuato
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de la Plata
Hotel Villa de la Plata
#32 of 54 in Guanajuato
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mision Guanajuato
Mision Guanajuato
#11 of 54 in Guanajuato
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Abadia Tradicional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Abadia Tradicional

Address: San Javier, Col. Centro, 1 | Guanajuato, Guanajuato 36020, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Guanajuato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Guanajuato
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Abadia Tradicional 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Abadia Tradicional Hotel opened in 1984 with 42 rooms, today it has a total of 83 accommodations with a modern rustic style. Rooms feature a King size bed for couples or two double beds for family trips, business travelers may enjoy rooms with a full bed. La Abadia Tradicional Hotel offers exquisite cuisine at its restaurant Arcangeles where you can enjoy typical "Miners" enchiladas, as well as a variety of regional and International dishes, for your enjoyment Cava Virreyes Bar is also available. A relaxing swimming pool awaits for you during the hot summer days. For conferences, seminars, work meetings and special events a variety of meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Abadia Tradicional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Abadia Guanajuato
La Abadia Hotel Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing