We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Del Frayle
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de la Paz(Guanajuato)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Las Acacias(Guanajuato)
$104
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
17
51
54
19
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
51
54
19
20
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 161 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We loved this hotel, a great location just off the main square.We were very lucky to get upgraded to the suite..........which is fab for a family of 4 ! A violinist woke me up under my window in the morning, atmospheric and beautiful. I will definately return to this magical place and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUNKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

When i heard "hosteleria" i thought we were gonna struggle with the facilities but when we arrived there i was stunned!! the whole experience was amazing, great rooms, great service and its so close to the whole bars & clubs area!
For sure, everytime i go to Guanajuato I'll stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Arriving from the bus station by taxi through the tunnels, you will be dropped at the rear of the theatre. Walk up the side & turn right onto the pedestrinised street, passing in front of Theatre Juarez - the hotel is a little over 100m away. This historic hosteria with thick adobe walls has only the reception on the ground floor. [The restaurant has been "hived off" & in any case does not do breakfast]. Reception staff friendly, member of staff available to move luggage - the steps to the first floor are not easy. Remainder of stairs OK - there are four floors of accommodation in total. Rooms are individual - ours on the second floor with a window to an open court yard - it was was dark. Bathroom also dark, shower good - no sink plug. However being towards the back of the hotel - it was quiet.

It has to be said that this hotel would not suit all, but I would stay at this hotel again, many of the city's other hotels are 15 mins taxi ride outside the city - better to be close to the action! At the time of our visit, two different American tour groups were in residence.

For breakfast I would recommend La Bohemia (opens sometime after 8.30am), very friendly & for dinner Casa Valadez, both on the Jardin de la Union - some 100m left from the hotel.

The city's road -are winding & steep, the underground tunnels & the coloured houses make this a city you really should visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I would try to do a fair evaluation. Despite the excellent location of the hotel, and that the rooms are clean, big and beautiful (just very dark as not all of them have windows), I have to say that if you want to sleep, FORGET about it! It is located just in front of a couple of pubs and it is impossible to sleep as they have loud music until 6 am and the hotel does not do anything about it. People are screaming at night, singing loudly and well...seriously, you don´t rest at all.
Apart from that, in the reception they DO NOT respect the price they offer in expedia or Trip advisor in this site. Native people from Guanajuato, called this hotel "Hotel del Fraude" which means "Fraud Hotel"

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunita_desertica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I've spent two nights at this hotel so far with one more to go. The room is OK, the beds are comfortable, there is cable TV with an acceptable assortment of channels and the staff are polite. Location is one of the hotel's main strengths, as it is only a few steps from "Teatro Juárez", and the best restaurants in the heart of the city. Also, there is free WIFI but the service is very unreliable (at least here in the thrid floor), one has to be moving and angling the laptop to find a spot with better reception. There are a couple of other downsides: one has to wait for over 25 minutes to have any hot water coming from the shower, which is insultingly anti-eco-efriendly (but not surprising, "hello, we are in Mexico"), and the toilet has no space to put one's toiletries other than on top of the toilet seat's water tank. On the other hand there is a club across the street that plays loud music until around 3 am, which means ear plugs are a must. All said the hotel three stars official rating stands, though I think the price/value equation is rather negative.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews