We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Catholic”

Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 17th-century cathedral holds a wooden image of the Nuestra Senora de Guanajuato that is thought be the oldest piece of Christian art in Mexico.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Catholic”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Yup, there she is on a solid silver pedestal. If you come to Guanajuato, you should pay her a visit. It's hard for me to get behind the riches sacrificed on the blood and backs of the native people to a statue, but it's not at all out of line for the Church...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    162
    32
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EXAMPLE OF THIS TYPE OF ELEGANT INTERIOR”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I like this church too...This is where all the politicos and such are baptized married and buried...Where the pope will stop in March 2012 for 10 minutes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank IDYFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Living Church as well as a Historic Site”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Situated in the center of town and painted in bright umber, this church is alive with worshippers, especially on Saturdays which is when we arrived.

In the morning, crowds of families were there to have babies baptised, which was worth watching all by itself. The pews are many and one can sit unobtrusively and take in the scene. Which we did again later, hoping to see the interior more up close, only to discover a wedding was going on. So we came back again a little later (having bumped into a funeral slowly making its way through town) and did have a few minutes to appreciate the baroque excess of it all. This, too, was interrupted by the same priest who had done everything else, walking to the front door to begin a betrothal for an eager couple.

While it is a lovely place to visit for its colonial decor, we were thrilled to see it as a living church, and that we could witness some of the life of the people of Guanajuato as well as their old pretty buildings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank W F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guanajuato is great!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We loved the town of Guanajuato, Mexico. There is constant activity in the central plaza and on the steps of the teatro Juarez.
Manicured trees surround the immaculate plaza and several outdoor cafes are bustling with diners day and night.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and decoration.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

What to say, the interior is spectacular and in such good condition. I drop by sometimes just to sit and enjoy the vaulted space, beautiful decor and the peaceful setting.

Helpful?
Thank Nan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato also viewed

 
 

Been to Basilica of Our Lady of Guanajuato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing