We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but surprised”

Diego Rivera Museum and Home (Museo Casa Diego Rivera)
Ranked #10 of 64 things to do in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Mexico's most famous painter has been preserved as a museum featuring some of his original works and a collection of artifacts from his house.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but surprised”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was actually quite surprised by his home and how dark and small it was; especially given his work, his personality and yes Frieda :) I did love the range he had (surprised actually) and the photographs of him and Frieda working. There was also a little show that was quite lovely in the guest gallery.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank spnickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    226
    80
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Diego Rivera's first home”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved this museum. It looks very small from the outside but we were surprised as it seemed to go on forever going up. It shows Rivera's first home before the family moved to Mexico city when he was still young. Apparently he never went back until 1956, the year before he died. Not the most extensive collection of his work, but you get some idea of his development as an artist. a small bonus is a room with some of Frida Kahlo's work. All in all, for a mere 20 pesos, it's great value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get there EARLY!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Amazing place - could get lost in here forever. So much history, and the murel at the end! My wife and I sat in front of it for 20 minutes and kept seeing more and more. Wonderful visit. Tip: Go Early in the morning so you have the place to yourself. It is quite a small space so would be very frustrating if crowded.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NZRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

An interesting way to learn a bit about the country you are visiting is to look at the country’s currency. Only the famous (and sometimes infamous) make it on the coins and notes. Diego Rivera's mug can be found on the 500 peso note. That is equivalent to Ulysses S. Grant on the American $50. Needless to say, the man is a revered icon in Mexico and quite famous worldwide. I was not very familiar with Rivera, but the tour really showed me what a talent this artist had and why he is so loved in Mexico. The site of the museum is a nicely restored home with many original pieces from Rivera's life. Well worth a visit when touring GTO.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing museum - unique experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wonderfully restored building. Each room had originals of Diego Rivera...and what made this stand out from all the other exhibition we have seen is that this consisted of works by DR from when he was in school, so you were able to appreciate his progression as a painter and also reflect what was happening at that time in the work, in Mexico and where he was living- all which impacted his work and what drove him to paint. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eadsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diego Rivera Museum and Home (Museo Casa Diego Rivera) also viewed

 

Been to Diego Rivera Museum and Home (Museo Casa Diego Rivera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing