We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Spectacular house, distinctly Mexican...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our house is in the middle of Plaza San Fernando in the heart of downtown Guanajuato
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our house is in the middle of Plaza San Fernando in the heart of downtown Guanajuato
Living Room balconies open-up to Plaza san Fernando Fountain in front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
Our house is in the middle of Plaza San Fernando in the heart of downtown Guanajuato
Living Room balconies open-up to Plaza san Fernando
Fountain in front of the house
Entrance to the house....where the magic begins
Stone Staircase to Peristyle, Kitchen, Living Room and One Bedroom
Plants in Peristyle
Detail of Peristyle
Bench in Peristyle for a relaxing moment
Living Room-Spacious and Stylish
Living Room-Intimate and Comfortable
Living Room from another perspective
Enchanting Living Room
Living Room with great ambiance
Full view of Living Room with high ceilings, dim lighting, & 5 French doors that open to the Plaza
Romantic dinner on the Peristyle
Breakfast on the Peristyle
Dinning Room for 6 people
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Master Bedroom & Ensuite Bathroom
A different perspective of the Master Bedroom
Detail of Master Bedroom
Courtyard outside Master Bedroom
Bathroom in Master Bedroom
Detail of Bathroom in Master Bedroom
2nd Bedroom with lovely view of Peristyle
2nd Bedroom at night
Landing-Reading Room
Entrance to Roof Top Terrace
Roof Top Terrace
Lunch or Dinner on the Roof Top Terrace
Enjoying life on the Roof Top Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Guanajuato, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandymemi...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular house, distinctly Mexican feeling--Gto.'s gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a place to stay in Guanajuato (Gto.)--stop right now. La Malaguena is the only place to stay, if you truly want to experience Gto. at it's best. I stayed there with my husband and three children (young adults) for a week; it's elegant Mexican decor lingered in our minds for weeks!

The location: Absolutely ideal, could not get any better--located right in the heart of Plaza San Fernando. Surrounded by tourist-friendly restaurants, European-style cafes, eateries and other picturesque locales, in a charming tree-lined courtyard. The Plaza has a youthful atmosphere, and yet cultural sophistication; you'll often hear live musicians playing boleros, rancheras, classical guitar and jazz. Since Gto. is a city to stroll and driving a car is almost a nuisance, the location is perfect. By foot, it's a few minutes away from el centro historico, the majestic Teatro Juarez, Mercado Hidalgo, Jardin de La Union, Museo de la Casa de Diego Rivera, baroque churches, Alhondiga de Granaditas and the prestigious Universidad de Guanajuato. It's also great if you want to experience touring Gto.'s twisted maze of streets and zig-zag alleyways. Additionally, the neighborhood is extremely safe; cops are constantly patroling the area.

La Malaguena: It's a work of art! The gardens, crumbling rock walls, terra-cotta tile floors, high ceilings, spacious rooms, old wooden doors, antique furniture and vibrant colored decor recaptures the colonial essence Gto. provides. There wasn't any part of the house which we didn't like. The house itself was an attraction--everyone picked their favorite spot and spent hours drawing, reading, or just relaxing: my daughter loved the library, one of my sons made the balcony over looking the plaza his own--my other son napped peacefully on the deck patio, while my husband and I fought over the kitchen. However, during the night we met at the roof top terrace, overlooking the entire town--it's a real vantage point--and got a full sense of Gto.'s unique landscape. The house was incredibly clean, Sote the housekeeper does a magnificent job.

Service:
Maria answers all your questions about the property and goes out of her way to make sure you arrive safely to La Malaguena; she'll email you directions, instructions and provides phone numbers to reach her. Additionally, Maria has a property administrator named Lorena, she is very friendly and filled with character; she decorates the house with beautiful flowers before your arrival, she'll wait patiently for you (even when your flight is delayed) to hand you the keys and give you further instructions. If any problem arises, no matter how trivial it is, she'll arrive to the house in minutes. The best part, she is the best tour guide! Better than a tour guide handbook.


Would I go again? YES. Do I recommend it? YES. Would you love it? YES.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: La Malaguena's ambiance.
Liked least: Children: no television.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bevoise
Annandale, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical house in superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This house was everything I dreamed of when I booked it for Christmas with my family. It overlooks a wonderful plaza where there is always something happening. Every evening we would stroll from our door and find wandering minstrels and entertainment on street corners. Inside the house is a treasure trove of beautifully chosen artworks and lush plants. Everywhere you looked there was something special and interesting.There were many lovely nooks to read, have a morning coffee or an evening drink or just daydream. The roof terrace was a special place for us. The house is beautifully clean and well maintained and both the manager and the gardener/housekeeper were wonderful to deal with. We felt it was a privilege to to be able to share, if only briefly, in the magic of Guanajuato. If I did not live on the other side of the world I would be a regular visitor.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat...
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Location, Fun Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

La Malaguena, situated above Plaza de San Fernando, is a perfect location for walking excursions in Guanajuato by day and festive, cultural events in the plaza by night. The house is unique and interesting, the staff is helpful and informative, and the views from the rooftop terrace are fantastic. Each night we enjoyed margaritas on the terrace while listening to guitarists play and sing with crowds of locals gathered in the plaza and then serenading through the adjacent callejones. Bring ear plugs if you want to sleep before about 11 p.m., but things quiet down quickly after that. La Malaguena offers a unique and authentic lodging experience in Guanajuato.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedroom configurations
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristiArm
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, beautiful accomodations, fantastic service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

If I get a chance to return to Guanajuato, and I hope that I do, I am staying at La Malaguena, hands down. This is a most incredible house, most wonderful location - central to everything! It was spotlessly clean, absolutely beautifully decorated, and Lorena, who manages the house, served as our (delightful) guide for two straight days! She showed us parts of Gto that we would never have found on our own, special things that insiders know. She took us out into the country side where we ate a restaurant where the Gto families eat on Sundays - wonderful! We went to a pottery shop off the beaten path - what a treat! Etc, etc!

A couple of things you should know about the house: a spiral staircase leads to one of the bedrooms. Not something a person with bad balance wants to attempt. A third bedroom has steps to it that are rather oddly made - slightly smaller than your feet, not something that young children or grown ups with bad balance will want to attempt. There is a bedroom on the main floor that has a bathroom close by, which would be the option for the two groups I have mentioned.

The patio and upper deck are something out of a movie - spectacular.

All in all: If you are going to Gto, you owe it to yourself to stay in this house - you won't be disappointed.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing