We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Casa Mercedes

Casa Mercedes
Ranked #1 of 249 Restaurants in Guanajuato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Rossland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last week, during our third visit to Guanjuato, we dined at Las Mercedes. We both selected the ensalada del dia and then a steak. We usually do not choose steak in Mexico, but these were just perfect: quality, seasoning and cooking as good as anything I've had, anywhere.

The service and ambiance rivals any first class restaurant. A very good wine list, a little pricy compared to the other first class restaurants in Guanjuato.

We're planning to return this week to sample the pescado.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RosslandSnowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    65
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had in my entire life!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

One of the best meals I had in my entire life!

After reading so many good comments here, we went to Las Mercedes for our last dinner in Guanajuato! What a wonderfull surprise!!!

The place is beautiful and very well decorated, with a nice atmosphere, like a really good music (we felt as if we were in a Wood Allen's movies). The service was great (what to say about the chef, Jesus? He's incredibly kind and attentive). And the food... Oh god, we live in São Paulo and have already visited lots of restaurants all around the world. But this place is definitely one of the top list!

Food was incredibly delicious, we had to great wines, recommended by the chef. It was truly a sensory experience, a real culinary incursion!!! I'll never forget it so, if you go to Guanajuato, you should not miss this restaurant!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

high above the city, the view is breathtaking. we arrived at about 8 pm on a sunday only to learn they closed at 6:00 on sundays. the chef came out apologizing and said we were welcome to stay but he didn't have much in the way of food left as they had been very busy that day. We said great! Make us whatever you want. We had an appetizer of nopales layered with goat cheese followed by a pork shank to die for, so tender and juicy. Dessert was a pear poached in red wine. Everyone treated us wonderfully. A definite go to place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner! Awesome service!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were 9 people and all of us had a great dinner! The owner Jesus and his family took care of every detail delivering an awesome service! Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-vemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best contemporary Mexican food in the region.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This hard to find restaurant has everything to be a top restaurant. The only area where they really need to improve it's the service, as the waitress is too slow. But besides that, food speed it is exact to let you enjoy an appetizer and a cocktail (I personally recommend the xoconoxtle and mezcal cocktail). Any dish you pick will delight you, and you will be looking in coming back again ASAP!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Signore_Colomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mercedes also viewed

Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 
Guanajuato, Guanajuato
 

Been to Casa Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing