We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
66
7
6
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
66
7
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool beautiful property glass elevator rooftop bar longer stay diego rivera master suite beautiful guanajuato one night bartola mauricio memo hillside architecture hallway mezcal casa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 84 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Found this great little hotel by chance, just walking by.
The rooftop lounge is a fantastic jewel.The view second to none, the staff were great, on a warm day with a light breeze, best we found.
Decided to have dinner in the courtyard, we cancelled our previous reservation elsewere, and it was well worth it. The service was excellent ( thanks Memo) and the food was enjoyed by all four or us. Limited but Good wine list is also a plus.
Well recommended!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jeanld2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Really loved finding this gem of a bar and staying a while. The rooftop is accessible by a glass elevator after the 2nd (or 3rd?) floor? Sweeping views and a small infinity pool plus a great deck to enjoy perfect concoctions of cocktails. The best bartender is Alfonso, next best is Cristian.

I ordered a gin drink (with cardamom and grapefruit) and a mezcal drink (with ginger and lemon) and both of them were pure perfection.

Truly enjoyed the calmness of the bar and plenty of seating.
Cocktails not cheap at 160 pesos a pop, but I think it is worth it for the excellent service and vibe

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank viajera4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Well worth the splurge for the master suite which has a stunning view of the city. The hotel is a beautiful property which features a lovely pool, beautiful courtyard, and trendy cafe/bar. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Splurge in a suite.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IEM10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

Stop searching and stay here!

Casa Del Rector is unique in Guanajuato. The physical space is breathtakingly beautiful, on all levels – a former historic home which has been completely renovated to include comfortable seating areas, an infinity pool, and rooftop bar with the best sunset view in town. But the friendly, capable (and bilingual) staff, mentioned in many other reviews, is what really sets this place apart. It’s well worth a little extra to stay here; and even if you don’t stay here, you should at least experience the serene patio restaurant and/or a sunset drink on the rooftop.

My husband and I recently spent several weeks in Guanajuato, staying in a rental home near this hotel. The first time we happened to walk past the entrance, we were enthusiastically invited in for a tour of the property; on seeing the zenlike inner patio, we decided to stay for a drink; once we discovered the rooftop bar and pool, we never wanted to leave! We immediately guided our family members to book a room here for their upcoming visit. The evening our guests arrived, Victor helped us arrange a late dinner for them on the patio, as no other restaurants were open. Throughout their visit and our longer stay in the area, we visited the patio restaurant and the rooftop bar regularly, and introduced a number of other visitors and long-term Guanajuato residents to Casa Del Rector as well. In addition to Victor, we were grateful to Carlos, Memo and Christian for their helpful and friendly service. Our meals were consistently excellent, risotto being a particular favorite; there are several options for vegetarians. I should also mention that our family members who stayed here found the sleeping room exceptionally comfortable. (At first we were concerned that they were assigned Room 2, in the hallway; Carlos offered to change the room after the first night, but the thick shutters made the room very private, and our guests decided to stay put.)

Overall, we are very grateful to the whole team at Casa Del Rector for making our guests extremely comfortable and welcoming us back time and again. We hope to return soon.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avatar627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

This is a truly awesome hotel with unique features and just an overall great vibe. The staff is attentive and very knowledgeable. The rooms are spacious, clean, and each is different. They could have cut some of the rooms in half to make room for more but they decided to give us more. The food is great, the bartenders on the top floor roof deck are artists, and the front door staff is really something. We accidentally left a computer in a cab (I know lame!) and they got it back for us! They helped us with getting taxis and Reservations at other restaurants. We will be back again for sure! I think the only negative is that the pool is nice, but a spa would be even better. It was a little chilly and a hot spa would crush it!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews