We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Virreyes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de la Paz(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luna Hotel(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Santa Fe(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Diego(Guanajuato)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
26
33
19
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
33
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfredohistoric hotelguanajuato citycomfortable bedsde la pazcathedrallocation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 86 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I arrived quite early in the morning off the red eye flight and the front desk was very understanding and accommodating and I was given a room. The room was clean with nice high ceilings but a bit plain. I have to agree with previous reviews regarding the noise which echoes from the atrium and the church bells across the street. If your a light sleeper make sure to pack ear plugs. The location of the hotel is ideal, with everything within walking distance. Overall I thought it was a good value and quite convenient with helpful staff who arranged several tours in the area for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest: Thank you so much for your review, it's always nice to learn we took good care of you, please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights in August at this small hotel in central Guanajuato. It is a lovely, old building that has been well maintained. The room on the 3rd floor was clean, spacious and had the bathroom was updated and fairly nice. It lacks air conditioning, but the provided fan was adequate since it cools down considerably at night. Although we didn't avail ourselves too much of the continental breakfast, the dining room was very nice and service was excellent. It could use an upgrade from the plain white toast, however. The hotel itself was quiet, but our room was right next to the Basilica and you not only heard the church bells, you felt them! No complaint here as this was the charm of the hotel, the city and the location. The main attraction for this hotel was the ideal location next to the Basilica and Plaza De La Paz. It was walking distance to most of the restaurants and attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Basilica although sheltered from street noise, are subject to the church bells in the morning.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjohengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped: Encantados de leer sus comentarios sobre su estancia, gracias por su tiempo. Esperamos tenerlos nuevamente con nosotros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Casa Virreyes is in a perfect location in the center of Guanajuato. My wife and I stayed there for one night while visiting with friends. The hotel is comfortable, reasonably quiet and the room we had was clean and comfortable. We were disappointed that we were not given a king size bed as that was what our reservation called for. Had we been staying longer than 1 night we would have requested a room change. The room could have been improved upon by changing the light bulbs to ambient light rather than the harsh florescent ones. The free breakfast was adequate with toast, coffee, juice, cereal and fruit. The staff and service personnel were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014
Google Translation

Estimados huéspedes: Agradecemos sus comentarios y esperamos poderles atender nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend and the location is really centric, the staff is nice and the hotel is good except the pillows hehehe they were so huge that it was really hard to use them for sleep. So on the good side is the location, you can leave your car in another hotel of theirs that is about 10 min drive and take a taxi (you pay the taxi), and you dont need it inside the city everything is walking distance, friendly staff and attentive, clean and big rooms. On the not so good side the pillows as I mentioned, the breakfast which is very simple, and that the rooms do not have windows (at least ours) but it was ok and also since it is in the city center next to the main church you can hear the bells every hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest: We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope we can be your hosts again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

butler, receptionists, everybody was really friendly. We booked a suite or something with 3 beds, two on the lower part of the suite and one on the upper part, everything was clean. Best of all was the location, its exactly in the middle of the city . We were there for two nights. Price/value ratio was excellent. Good Breakfast too. Parking was a bit far a way, 10min drive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJsMM, Director Comercial at Hotel Casa Virreyes, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Very much appreciated, nice to hear your stay with us and your visit to Guanajuato was a pleasant one. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews