We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee shop”

La Chata de Guadalajara
Ranked #12 of 1,091 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Chata
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I only had coffee and a pastry, but it was a great start to my day. Interesting clientele: the beautiful and the hip of Guadalajara. Definitely a step up from Starbucks. They do serve brewed coffee, if you get tired of espresso based drinks. The pastry was very high quality. Buen provecho!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcos_SMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    547
    196
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Holly Mole!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best places I have eaten in Guadalajara for a great price. Line was long, but we were kept waiting patiently being given free mini estrella beers for us to wait patiently for the next available table!! now that is service!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sajahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at La Chata”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Expect a wait to get into this place. If you go early...around 5 or so, the line is very long. We waited until around 8 and it was only a 10 min. wait. For being so busy...the service was pretty good. They make their own corn tortillas and they are awesome! Great for sopping up sauces. I had the chicken mole which was very good but my husband had the flautas and he did not like them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ardy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ambience and a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have enjoyed this café many times. Even just stopping for coffee here is great. they also have a great location on the malecon in PV

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mexicanbeachbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always crowded but food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed three days in GDL. Passed by here a few times a day and there was always a line outside. After a Saturday night show at the Theatro Degallado, I walked to this restaurant around 9:30pm. I waited in line for only a minute and was whisked to a table. The queso fundido wasn't something to write home about but the pollo mole verde was one of the best I've tasted! Service was attentive and pleasant. When I left the restaurant, it was pouring rain and some people were waiting patiently to get in. I guess it's worth the wait in the rain--and thunder, lightning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PilgrimsRegress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chata de Guadalajara also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Chata de Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing