We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait but food was worth it”

La Chata de Guadalajara
Ranked #12 of 1,091 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Chata
vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Long wait but food was worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We ate here on the recommendation of the concierge at the hotel we were staying. We arrived at 4pm for lunch and there were 15 people ahead of us in line. Waiting in the long line had a couple of benefits; we had a great view of the front open kitchen and watched the kitchen prepare the various menu items and the staff came by with a tray of beers for anyone interested in a cool one. I later found out the the beer was complementary. The food was tasty and came out quickly. I had the chicken mole and my wife the special plate that had an assortment of items on it. The price with 2 horchatas and 2 entrees and tip was under 300 pesos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    547
    196
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast but hectic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We got there early and were seated immediately. Service extremely rushed. Young waiters browbeaten and racing all about. Food average and delivered quickly but overall they rushed rushed rushed to get you in and out and turn the tables as fast as possible. Coffee lukewarm. Reset our table and reseated waiting customers before we were out the door! Moo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tursiops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“every day mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a very good place to go if you are looking for simple, every day mexican food. The price is very fair and service is very good. Definetely a place to try while in guadalajara

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We kept comming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were only in Guadalajara for two nights but we managed to have three meals at La Chata. The service is fast and professional and very pleasant and the food is terrific - particularly enjoyed the Pozole. We loved the fact that you walk past the open kitchen to get to your table. Do not be put off by the queue on the sidewalk - it moves very quickly and the short wait while watching the cooks only sharpens your appetite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Four times in six day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I think the fact we went back four times in the six days we stayed in Guadalajara serves as a testimony to the food and the service. Our hotel, Hotel Morales, recommended it and it did not disappoint. As soon as we realised this was a local’s favourite we knew we had made a wise choice. 5 stars for the staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jorja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chata de Guadalajara also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Chata de Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing