We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated in many ways”
Review of Cabanna

Cabanna
Ranked #26 of 1,476 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 26, 2018

On a business visit to Guadalajara, Cabanna was suggested by my nearby hotel as somewhere good for fish/seafood. I found the English menu pretentious, - everything declared to be wonderful in various words.

My Especial de Pulpo starter (Octopus Special) consisted of some small bits of octopus in an overpowering spicy sauce with lots of chopped celery and other "padding". I chose a shrimp/prawn main dish, Camaroa Junior (spelling?), comprising small and seemingly tasteless shrimps/prawns in a highly flavoured sauce, -poor. The Flan (creme caramel or similar) I chose for desert was heavy and I left much of it.

The music was too loud even for dining on my own with no one to try to talk to, and the first bill presented was so faintly printed as to be completely illegible.

Suggest La Matera, almost opposite, - more meat based but excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rainst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANNArest, Gerente at Cabanna, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Thank you for your comment. It´s very important to us to know our customer's experience in Cabanna. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the food and the service. We try to do our best effort everyday and thanks to this comments you help us to do everything better. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2018

They have a very good menu, not easy to find a place with good steaks and sea food but this is definitely one. Also the micheladas are really great.

Thank RaymundoB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANNArest, Gerente at Cabanna, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for your comment. It´s very important to us to know our customer's experience in Cabanna. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

This rest has lots if mexican food prepared in a gourmet , simple, delicious manner. Great attention, service, prices, excellent location (I visited the Ave Mexico ) . They have delicious tuna tostadas, beef tacos, and specially recommend the volcanoe dessert. A delicious cake filled with "cajeta".

Thank T9890SVjorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANNArest, Gerente at Cabanna, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Thank you for your comment. It´s very important to us to know our customer's experience in Cabanna. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the food and the service. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Cabanna is the IN Place in Guadalajara. Packed full every night, with a line waiting to get in...a true hot spot. Service is impeccable, a big number of waiters make sure that you are properly taken care of, drinks are on moderate prices. As far as food, seafood is specialty of the house, but it is bland at the most. Presentation is beautifully executed, but the flavors are not there. To me, perfect for drinks and snacks, not so much for dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GerardoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANNArest, Gerente at Cabanna, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you for your comment. It´s very important to us to know our customer's experience in Cabanna. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the service and drinks. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

That's my recommendation this place I see it more like a very nice place to hangout with some drinks and some seafood tacos they are delicious!

Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABANNArest, Gerente at Cabanna, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hi! Thank you for your comment. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience and of course the delicious variety of food and drinks. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabanna also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Zapopan, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Cabanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing