We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have returned every year since 2005....simply the best hostel in the world”
Review of Casa Vilasanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Vilasanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have not written a review about this place for fear that other people would find out about my secret! When I returned this year I found the hostel to have less guests than the so feel obliged to write a review about this wonderful and charming hostel. I have to say the best part about staying here is you feel like you are in your own home but in Mexico....the way the staff make you feel and the effort put into the decorations creates a very special ambience. All the rooms have cable TV, A/C and ensuite bathrooms. The kitchens are taken from a restarant and have huge fridges and cookers. Martha the lady that cleans the rooms (daily) cooks great meals for the guests, always different and always tasty. I have to warn potential visitors that all other hostel will feel inferior after staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailorman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed in Casa Vilasanta for one month last year while taking Spanish lessons and we returned for 4 weeks again this year just because we love the city.The location is within walking distance to the historic downtown and very close to any necessary ground transportation .The facility is very clean with daily room cleaning,free bottled water ,use of large kitchen with plenty of refrigerator storage and wireless internet throughout.Staff is very friendly/helpful and the majority of guests are staying for a week or more at a time so very little transient traffic.
We will be back again next year ....it is one of ..if not THE best..all-around deals in all of our Mexico travels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

As a long term guest at Casa Vilasanta, I can say with assurance that this is the best hostel in Guadalajara. Even my local friends who have come to visit me are impressed with its appearance and accommodations. And, the staff here is wonderful. The minute you walk in you are greeted with a beautiful array of colorful decors, flowers and plants that delight the senses. The common area (courtyard), the rooms, both shared and private, the kitchen and dining room are very spacious and well planned. Each guest room has ample storage for clothes, comfortable beds, wifi throughout, cable television and baths that feature large shower stalls with sliding doors. Downstairs you have the kitchen, suitable for any chef, a large dining room that seats ten people, a sitting area in the front, another in the back and a courtyard type common area in the center where you can casually dine or watch your favorite TV show with friends and other guests. A business center is provided with two computers for those that don't have laptops. Upstairs you have a sun deck to catch some rays, a covered patio with a large wooden picnic table, another patio with an umbrella table and a laundry area with washer, dryer, ironing board and plenty of clotheslines for hanging your clothes to dry. The kitchen also features a microwave oven, blender, coffee maker, bottled water for drinking or cooking, two commercial refrigerators that keep your foodstuffs very cold and utensils galore for your culinary use.
The staff members at Casa Vilasanta are extremely pleasant, courteous, respectful and very helpful with anything you need. Martha will even cook for you for a small fee if you give her ample notice. Her food is delicious. Willy will come to your rescue if you have a burned out light bulb or need anything fixed. He is an incredibly talented maintenance man, painter, gardener…you name it, he knows how to do it. And he does it well. Your room will be cleaned every single day. And, the front desk managers will help you find the directions to any destination you are seeking.
As for location, Casa Vilasanta is central and convenient to many popular areas in Guadalajara. It is within walking distance to the downtown historic area (10 blocks), one block from the subway hub located below the Parque de Revolucion, one block from the nearest major bus stop, two blocks from a 7-Eleven or OXXO, two blocks from the University of Guadalajara, two blocks from the Plaza de Expiatorio where activities never cease, and 10 blocks from the popular Avenida Chapultepec where the best Starbucks and many wonderful restaurants reside. There is even a barber shop within five blocks where the sweetest lady will give you a professional cut and shampoo for 30 pesos.
Viva Mexico!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillRansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The staff at this cheerful, colorful and clean hotel are friendly and helpful. Few speak English which is a great incentive to practice your Spanish! The rooms downstairs around the courtyard are large. We have access to the large fridge. Everyone gets a bin with their name on it to keep stuff separated. And the shared kitchen is stocked with pans, plates, utensils and a few basic spices. Perfect for longer stays.

This little gem of a hotel is in the historic center of Guadalajara within walking distance of the main cathedral and plaza area, nightlife, shopping and parks.

Nitpicks: Most rooms have a lone window that faces the interior courtyard. When people smoke in courtyard, their smoke drifts into the rooms. Our windowless bathroom does not have a window or vent to outside the room. The air conditioning works well to offset both issues somewhat. The 'on demand' hot water is a bit temperamental. Scalding hot water will stop when mixed with cold. Turning it off and on again will rectify it for a few minutes. Maybe it is just in our room (#2) and in the end it doesn't bother us enough to move to other room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Love this hostel. The staff and rooms are great.

Clean private rooms, daily maid service, tv, air conditioning, and great location near to the Juarez metro station.

Make sure to book directly with the hostel, you can get a better rate, especially when staying a week or more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ubi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I stayed here for a month and a half to take a TEFL class, and it was awesome. There are tables to study and eat food. There is a kitchen that is equipped for cooking and big fridge. Also there are many Mexican university students there as well. There are single rooms and shared rooms. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. There is hot water and room cleaning is provided along with a towel. It is beautifully decorated. If you go here you will not disappointed and are sure to have a good time. It is walking distance from the centro and Expiatorio Catedral. Guadalajara is really spread with many things to do all over the city, but Casa Vilasanta is centrally located to check out the center. It is close to the main subway connection in Parque Revolucion, so getting around is no problem. Hope you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Surprisingly great clean place with NO obnoxious drunken college backpackers. Very respectful clientele and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 130 in Guadalajara
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#21 of 130 in Guadalajara
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 130 in Guadalajara
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.8 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
#1 of 98 in Guadalajara
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Nacional
Hostal Nacional
#2 of 98 in Guadalajara
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vilasanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vilasanta

Address: Calle Rayon Street 170, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range: $29 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Vilasanta 1.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Vilasanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing