We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casino Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Demetria(Guadalajara)
$178
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$46
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Ganz(Guadalajara)
$92
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de Mendoza(Guadalajara)
$64
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
150
115
27
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
115
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet roomrestaurants and convenience storesimportant placeswithin walking distancestayed nights at this hotelexpensive hotelgreat wifiexcellent pricetwo double bedschaiwould highly recommend this hotelawesome hotellatin americaspecial thanksfew blocksplenty of hot waterel centro
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 298 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Clean, nice rooms, friendly staff, and a good location where you can walk to everything in el centro. I recommend trying the lovely cafe Carmen at the plaza in front of Templo Carmen just a block away, it has a very European feel sitting out on the plaza. Nice that they offer a DVD, and suites are an inexpensive upgrade, with a great jacuzzi. Only regret is a room with a view of the light shaft, ask for a rooms with real windows! Also the noise from hallways can travel into rooms. Close to all the fun gay bars too! Secure parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank managercasacupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed here for two nights having received a recommendation. The streets are under repair as we noticed all of downtown is. We heard it is because of an international event being held here in the future. Our room was spacious and clean. We have stayed in many places in Mexico, but the beds in this hotel were the firmest ever! Our first night was peaceful, but the second night, it was difficult to get a restful sleep due to youth running about the hotel and being very disruptive. Nothing seemed to be done to stop the noise. There are no restaurants nearby to eat at. We ate one night in the hotel. We were the only patrons, but the food was quite a bit above average, which was a plus. Also the wait staff was friendly. This stay was fine, but wish we had been closer to centro.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

I spent two days in this hotel and in Guadalajara overall. At first when the taxi driver dropped me at the hotel I was shocked. The street and the whole area looked like a dangerous place. The street looked awful and it was super dirty.

Once you go inside the hotel is quite nice. My room was big and there were always hot water.

Breakfast in in the hotel was quite basic. The smell in the dining room was quite awful from the cooking I guess.

The hotel is about 7 blocks from the main town area. It is easy walk but quite scary at night when there is no one at the street. On the other side it is close to Independence park which is considered to be a dangerous area.

Overall I would not stay there again. It is too far away from down town if you want to go out at night and the location it is in looks horrible.

If you do stay there, make sure to ask for a non smoking room and a room the is at the back since the street can get quite noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlackAgnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My family and I stayed at this hotel 2 nights after spending 1 night at the Hotel Morales (we were referred to it from them). Although it doesn't look like much on the outside, the rooms are beautiful and the amenities are a welcome change from other hotels and especially the city. The best part was the shower - give a full body message and has lots of water pressure. The beds are a little hard, but every bed in the city was hard. Bad part was our cable went out one night (Sunday, and no one works on Sunday) so we were a little upset over having nothing to do in the room, but thank goodness for the DVD player. Also, no window in the room, but our room had a large patio area which let some sun in. Overall, a great experience. This is the most comfortable place I visited in the whole city in 6 days.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdelatorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

We’ve stayed at the Casino Plaza 3 of our last 7 times in Guadalajara, having been referred to it initially by its sister hotel, the Hotel Morales, (same owners, similar decor) when the latter was full. It’s great for the traveler who wants a very affordable hotel (we’ve paid about $60/night for a couple) which is easy walking distance to the Historic Centre, but also has modern, spacious and very quiet rooms.

Inside the Casino Plaza you hear no noise at all, anytime. The bathrooms are marble with upscale plumbing fixtures and there is plenty of work and closet space. All rooms have complimentary WiFi which works very well. The only things we didn’t like about the rooms were that there is no coffee-maker or mini-fridge in the basic rooms and there is no lighting above the desk units, but other than that they are very comfortable. We also, really, REALLY liked the parking. Best we have ever used in a downtown hotel anywhere! The complimentary private parking garage (very secure) is located just off the lobby so it’s a very simple matter to go back and forth to your car or to take your car in and out. It's as convenient as parking in your own garage and going in a backdoor straight into your house. During our most recent stay (at the end of March 2007), we went to brunch at one of our favourite places near the University of Guadalajara, called Chai, then on to Lake Chapala, then back to the hotel to freshen up, then out to dinner at La Vaca Argentina. What a contrast to most urban hotels where you have to call for your car, wait, tip the parking valet, etc! There is also a nice little exterior courtyard adjacent to the restaurant/bar where you can have a drink or a simple meal (unfortunately it closes at 3:30 pm Saturday and Sunday) and do some work or read. It’s very peaceful with a wall fountain, some plants and two cages with songbirds-- all of which adds to the "oasis" feel.

Who would this hotel NOT appeal to? While there is a very small restaurant/bar on site, it has limited selection and hours (it’s only open until 3:30 pm on Saturday and Sunday). There is no gym or pool or in fact anything else to do inside the hotel (other than stay in your own room). Also, while the Casino Plaza isn’t far from anything, it’s not that close to anything either. There is nothing right outside the door except a convenience store (OXXO) and there are no cabs waiting at the door (although the staff will go out and hail you one if you wish). In fairness, it’s very close to both subway lines. However, if you come home tired from walking around, you feel a bit "stuck", particularly on the weekends when the one restaurant/bar closes at 3:30 pm. We enjoyed staying there much better when we had our own car than without it.

A couple of tips regarding the Casino Plaza 1) Rates: We have never paid anywhere NEAR the rates listed on the website, or on the board in the lobby so don't be put off. Phone and ask. 2) Room Choice. Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or higher. We stayed twice in rooms on the first floor and they had absolutely NO natural light making them feel rather depressing, particularly waking up in the morning and not knowing it was day or night. The upper floors have a lovely view though. 3) Unless you are more than two people, the more expensive rooms aren't really worth the extra money in our opinion. For one thing, the Executive Suite design only comes with two double-beds (no Queen's no Kings). While it was nice to have a mini-fridge, overall we found the basic, and cheaper, Executive Room, more comfortable overall. We've never stayed in a Master Suite.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank careyeroslib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews