We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Quiet Quaint And Cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dickinson Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dickinson Guest House
Ranked #4 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean Quiet Quaint And Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I travelled to Guadalajara for cosmetic surgery with Dr. Cardenas. Not knowing any of the spanish language I was a bit nervous, James helped me translate, exchange US Dollars for Pesos, Brought me to the clinic for appointments, which by the way is very close to his house. He cooked for me and help me prepare a special protein smoothie that I drink daily. I was able to relax and heal myself after surgery in a very cozy quiet room and watch english channels on the tv. The kitchen is nice and clean with fresh mexican pastries and coffee always available. I was sad to leave. I enjoyed this beautiful city very much.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mid40zMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Dickinson Guest House - - how do I love thee? - - - I had surgery with Dr. Cardenas in Guadalajara and with the doctor’s recommendation I and my two friends stayed at the Dickinson Guest House for ten days prior to and following my surgery. I cannot say enough about the guest house and the most wonderful host, Jim. The home is very comfortable and welcoming and Jim configured the master guest room so that the three of us could comfortably share the room. The three of us had plenty of space and the adjacent patio was used daily. The neighborhood is quiet and very safe. Following my surgery, Jim took such good care of me! I can’t begin to say all the extra things he did for me to make me comfortable and to promote my healing. What a wonderful guy and what a great experience staying with him. The most important thing in a hotel/motel/guest house is a comfortable bed, especially following surgery. All of our beds were heavenly and every effort was made to insure that we were comfortable and content at all times. We left Guadalajara for ten days of vacation at the beach and upon our return to the guest house, it truly felt like coming home. I highly recommend this home and will never stay anywhere else in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumont_COMitzimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

The first thing that struck me was that the guest house, located down a quiet leafy street, is like finding an oasis of calm in this bustling city, especially after having just battled the afternoon peak hour traffic! The second thing was the warm welcome extended by our host, James Dickenson. The third thing was the delightful ambience, comfort and thoughtful facilities, like free laundry, WiFi internet and cable TV, which James explained in his very thorough introduction. I especially loved being able to relax in the spacious living room and chat with other guests and being able to wander into the kitchen at whatever time suited me to make myself a delicious breakfast from the well-stocked freezer and pantry. And, if what you crave isn't on hand, James will be sure to pop out and get it for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAussieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

Jim welcomed us warmly, gave us the key to the house, a tour of the kitchen, took us up to our nice rooms and showed us how to use the washer and drier. Although this is not a B&B, He took us to the store a few blocks away so we could pick out what we wanted him to stock in the kitchen. We were thrilled to be able to eat what we wanted when we wanted. Jim had the table set with a huge fruit bowl, and fresh pastry. We popped into the kitchen anytime we wanted and put together our own breakfasts. We made ourselves at home. We enjoyed chatting with Jim and guests in the living room and using the washer a couple times. Jim introduced us to Ilse, a fantastic city guide and he was able to help us get bus tickets using his computer and taxis from a block away for our trips out of the city. This is an ideal home base for independent travelers. If I ever decided to have a nip or tuck, Jim's place would provide me and a friend with a restful place to recover. It was a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 98006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

I stayed 5 days in the Dickinson Guest House with 7 others colleagues attending a conference. The guest house is located is in a nice, quiet neighbourhood.The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of sweet and savoury food. Free-access to the internet was also provided. This is excellent value-for-money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We, 8 colleagues stayed in the Dickinson guest house to attend a conference in the Hilton which was nearby. Complicated itineraries, lost bags, jet lagged guests were all accommodated by James, our host, he even lent us his mobile phone for so the airline could call us when our lost bag arrived. One of our colleagues staying somewhere else had trouble getting into her guest house very late on the first night we arrived and was taken in by James and given a bed for the night. So he is definitely a special host. It felt very safe in the neighbourhood and there were lot's of places to eat and drink around there.The house itself was very comfortable, the rooms were all nice and the master bedroom was most impressive.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thosdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Having stayed here before, I already knew what to expect. The bedrooms are all very well cleaned and maintained and well arranged, as well as the newly tiled bathrooms.
I had a last minute chance to visit the annual Guadalajara Book Fair and called to book a room. Jim's (as he explained to me once) home is becoming a prime area to stay in while visiting this vibrant city. Located 15 minutes from the old historical plazas and art museums of downtown and 15 minutes from Puerto Hiero's Andaro Plaza, with it's super deluxe restaurants, to elegantly inexpensive pizzas and very upscale shopping, he is just where it is easy to get to everything, including at least 15 restaurants of all types right in his neighborhood. Day trips to the wonderful art communities of Tlaquepaque and Tonala are fun. For those that don't mind shopping a little longer for the identical item sold in Tlaquepaque for triple the price in a nice Air conditioned shoppe can save a bundle.
Jim's home is in a quiet residential well known area of the city called Chapalita, not to be confused with Chapala, the retirement lakeside area for Americans and Canadians who have chosen this great climate year round to live in.
The book fair being the largest in the world outside of Germany was an adventure in Guadalajara's newly expanded Expo Centre. I was lucky enough for a last minute cancellation to what is becoming not so much of a secret anymore. And with 4 new high rise hotels being added to the area for overflow, Jim has no intention of raising his prices. One of his great amenities is his high speed wifi, that although is now offered in most hotels (for a fee) are not really fast at all! Jim has invested some time and money into making high speed internet a "true statement"! Great for business people not willing to overdo it in this economy, this is surely the place.
A gracious host that makes you feel right at home from the time you are greeted at the front gate. When in this fun city again, right over the mountain from Puerto Vallarta, I will stay once again. Thank you, Jim. Happy 2010 to you and I trust the new year will bring you even more guests to this increasingly important, convenient and fun area of this great city!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Folsombob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guadalajara/Expo
3.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dickinson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickinson Guest House

Property: Dickinson Guest House
Address: Calle San Uriel 338 | Expo Guadalajara/ Chapalita, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dickinson Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dickinson Guest House , within walking distance to the Guadalajara Expo Center is a cost effective hotel-alternative to the many new luxury hotels that abound in this well maintained area of the city. We are available as a whole house rental, which is popular for those coming from the North during the winter months-or we rent rooms out to corporate or business travelers that need to be close to the Exposition center and this business hub of the city. This large home in the Chapalita neighborhood of the city is well know by locals. It is not to be confused with Lake Chapala, another destination of about an hours' drive away. We also have a shortcut to the very enjoyable towns of Tlaquepaque and Tonala, home of many artisan shops that are just beyond the historical district, a short ride away. Our business services for the traveler that needs fast internet service will be surprised to experience speeds that are actually superior to even the finest hotels in this pricey area of Guadalajara. The fully equipped kitchen will be a place for those who enjoy cooking for a group or for themselves. It is also has plenty of storage space for beverages and snack foods for those who prefer eating out at the many great restaurants that surround us. Come and feel the difference of the personal touches and amenities offered, while enjoying your privacy that is very much part of your wanting a private home. There are several spaces in this large property to enjoy with your friends or colleagues while still enjoying your private bedroom. Now that the business meetings and conventions are closeby, this home has become a popular alternative for 6-8 single guests or 4-5 couples on a stop-over visit to other Western cities in Mexico. If you are travelling as a group, why pay the high prices of separate hotel rooms when you can have a private room in a house and still be with colleagues or family? If you are looking for a week-end in the city-coming from Puerto Vallarta, bring some friends and take advantage of all the space to enjoy while at home! An excellent choice to stay in Mexico's 2nd city, for 10 years now-and counting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dickinson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing