We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Casa Venezuela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Venezuela
Ranked #8 of 59 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Chino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I went to Guadalajara to help out at an Orphanage near by. We found "Casa Venezuela" on trip advisor and we are glad we did! This is by far the best B&B we have ever been to. It is beautifully decorated and well taken care of. Bedrooms are great, bedding is superb, restrooms are clean and you always have all necessary toiletries.

George is a fantastic host. He's very welcoming and always makes sure you are comfortable and has everything you need. He went above and beyond. We wanted to do a little bit of site seeing during our free time while we were there and George gave us great ideas and places to go see. We always felt very welcomed during our stay.

Francisco is not only an awesome chef but an awesome personas well. We enjoyed his company as well as his food. George and Francisco asked us what we would like for breakfast and we simply requested a surprise mexican breakfast everyday. We were there for a week and had amazing breakfasts every single day. The meals did not only taste great but were always beautifully displayed.

My wife and I will be returning to Guadalajara soon to bring supplies to the orphanage and we will be staying here again FOR SURE! It is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful location. We told all our friends and family that if they go to Guadalajara they have to stay here. We think anyone visiting Guadalajara should stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure recently of spending 3 glorious nights at Casa Venezuela, an oasis of paradise in the colonial part of Guadalajara and definitely the best area for a B&B. George is a delightful host, and Francisco, the gourmet chef is not only is a great chef, but incredibly helpful and welcoming as well.

The B&B is beautifully decorated with an extraordinary garden on the back patio. It is all wonderfully inviting. Our accommodations were lovely, clean & spacious. And, this may sound silly but the shower has great water pressure AND hot water -- something we found out is a rarity having stayed in a nearby city earlier in the week! Sometimes it is the little things that count. :-)

Anyway, I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed everything about Casa Venezuela and will -- actually already have -- recommend it to all of our friends and family because they are guaranteed a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but I would recommend The Studio on the ground floor because it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamborgini3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at Casa Venezuela two times -- extended visits for weeks at a time. The place is beautiful, the meals are AMAZING, and George & Gabriel (the owners) and Francisco (the gourmet chef) are wonderful hosts! The rooms are decorated in traditional Mexican style with excellent and tasteful accents. You'll also love the outdoor patios -- one in the front and the other in back. Incredible!

The three hosts know the city inside and out: they can and will help you get tickets to shows you want to see, tours you wish to take, whatever you desire. They'll arrange drivers and services with no expectations or fees -- it's inclusive in the service and it's just how they are -- first rate. They also know the best restaurants -- from fine dining to stunning (and safe) food you can buy on the street for a true Mexican experience.

But what separates the place and makes it the best hotel of any kind I've stayed around the world -- service. I've seen them both George and Francisco for other guests and experienced it myself. Nothing is too small or large and they are ALWAYS smiling and sincere! And, on a recent visit, an American friend of mine arrived in Mexico feeling ill. We could not go out for dinner and Gabriel overheard my friend say that he'd like some chicken soup. Within minutes Gabriel was out the door -- he got all the ingredients to make homemade chicken soup for my friend's dinner. It was an incredible meal! When my friend told Gabriel: "a can of soup would have been more than I expected," Gabriel laughed and said: "No, no cans in Casa Venezuela!" (And, just to note: Casa Venezuela charged nothing for the homemade soup -- it's just the kind of hosts and home George, Gabriel, and Francisco offer guests.)

Casa Venezuela is located centrally for tourists: you're a 15-minute (safe!) walk to the city's historic center and 10-minutes (safe!) walk to the trendy Chipultepec area. You're surrounded by restaurants, galleries, cafes, and shops! If you come to Guadalajara, stay here!

Room Tip: Try the front room with the king-size bed. You have your own entrance without having to go inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

George Zookey, the owner, and his partner, Gabriel, did a great job, as did their cook, Francisco. We had not only a terrific room and great breakfasts, but George provided excellent information about the city and region, and he gave us access to a top notch driver-guide. A visit to a city of 7 million usually requires substantial legwork, but none was required in our case; it was provided with the room! In six days we were able to see much of Guadalajara and nearby environs (e.g., Lake Chapala) at our leisure, and we dined at top notch restaurants. For a great visit with a personal touch, you can't beat the Casa Venezuela.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chattye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Four of us stayed at Casa Venezuela on our recent road trip through Central Mexico. George offered us a drink on arrival and made us feel very welcome and at home, offering use of space in the fridge. Now that's sharing your place! The decor in this home is very fascinating. Enjoyed perusing books on local culture in the cheery upstairs lounge. Breakfast not only tasted fabulous but was beautifully presented. He escorted us several blocks so we could find our way to the downtown square. We enjoyed the restaurant he recommended and it was only blocks away. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have never felt soooo welcome into a home on Christmas eve. Our plane was late. The three of us got into a cab, tired, starving and arriving to Casa Venezuela almost 3 hours late for dinner the cab driver, drives down a street and we come upon this house, lit with twinkly lights and beautiful. As we entered the front door we notice how eclectic and comfortable it looked...gorgeous. George and his friend were sitting around an elegant table, dimmed by warm candles. George and his friend made us feel so welcome with hugs and cheers. I expected, here is your room goodnight...but NOOOO. George heated up the dinner we missed, we sat in the open patio area with a nice breeze and the little trickling water fall with his friends had and talk into the wee hours of the night.

Thank you George. I would go back just for George. The morning breakfasts prepared by Francisco was FAB and the room was comfortable and clean. It is a great location and in walking distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed two nights here and was very impressed. The property is small, only three rooms, and this is all part of its charm, as this allows George, one of the owners, to truly offer a personal B&B service. The house is beautifully presented, and the breakfast is delicious. George also has lots of tips and recommendations. It's a bit of a trek into town, about 25 minutes or so, but it does allow you to walk off the very filling breakfast! And there is plenty to see along the way. I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I travelled with a friend, and they have rooms with two separate bedrooms. This was a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.2 mi away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#4 of 128 in Guadalajara
190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#9 of 128 in Guadalajara
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.6 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#31 of 128 in Guadalajara
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Venezuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Venezuela

Property: Casa Venezuela
Address: Calle Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Venezuela , a Bed & Breakfast in a century old house in the Colonia Americana section of Guadalajara, close to the historic center, many restaurants, night clubs, a short cab ride to many of the cities attractions. We offer comfortable rooms all with private bath, full breakfast, luxurious linens, comp cocktail each evening, all rooms have TV, DVD players, smoking permitted on any of our three patios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing