We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrific B&B/Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Venezuela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Venezuela
Ranked #9 of 61 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B/Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

George Zookey, the owner, and his partner, Gabriel, did a great job, as did their cook, Francisco. We had not only a terrific room and great breakfasts, but George provided excellent information about the city and region, and he gave us access to a top notch driver-guide. A visit to a city of 7 million usually requires substantial legwork, but none was required in our case; it was provided with the room! In six days we were able to see much of Guadalajara and nearby environs (e.g., Lake Chapala) at our leisure, and we dined at top notch restaurants. For a great visit with a personal touch, you can't beat the Casa Venezuela.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chattye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Four of us stayed at Casa Venezuela on our recent road trip through Central Mexico. George offered us a drink on arrival and made us feel very welcome and at home, offering use of space in the fridge. Now that's sharing your place! The decor in this home is very fascinating. Enjoyed perusing books on local culture in the cheery upstairs lounge. Breakfast not only tasted fabulous but was beautifully presented. He escorted us several blocks so we could find our way to the downtown square. We enjoyed the restaurant he recommended and it was only blocks away. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have never felt soooo welcome into a home on Christmas eve. Our plane was late. The three of us got into a cab, tired, starving and arriving to Casa Venezuela almost 3 hours late for dinner the cab driver, drives down a street and we come upon this house, lit with twinkly lights and beautiful. As we entered the front door we notice how eclectic and comfortable it looked...gorgeous. George and his friend were sitting around an elegant table, dimmed by warm candles. George and his friend made us feel so welcome with hugs and cheers. I expected, here is your room goodnight...but NOOOO. George heated up the dinner we missed, we sat in the open patio area with a nice breeze and the little trickling water fall with his friends had and talk into the wee hours of the night.

Thank you George. I would go back just for George. The morning breakfasts prepared by Francisco was FAB and the room was comfortable and clean. It is a great location and in walking distance to town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed two nights here and was very impressed. The property is small, only three rooms, and this is all part of its charm, as this allows George, one of the owners, to truly offer a personal B&B service. The house is beautifully presented, and the breakfast is delicious. George also has lots of tips and recommendations. It's a bit of a trek into town, about 25 minutes or so, but it does allow you to walk off the very filling breakfast! And there is plenty to see along the way. I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I travelled with a friend, and they have rooms with two separate bedrooms. This was a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Having lived in Guadalajara for 5 years, we knew the area well and wanted to be near Ave Chapultepec. Finding Casa Venezuela made our return absolutely perfect: George was the perfect host, bringing us up on what had changed in the city and even went with us to nearby towns for shopping; Francisco surprised us every morning with superb breakfasts and our room was comfortable, beautiful and quiet. We used city buses, rented a car for a few days, and explored the entire area on foot and felt safe and comfortable the entire time. Wouldn't change a thing and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and loved it but, because it's a quiet neighborhood, I'd take an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPalmSprings_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were a little nervous as we were arriving much later than anticipated on 12/24/12 - Christmas Eve! We knew most everything would be closed for family celebrations and the fabulous owner, George had offered for us to join him and 2 other guests to dinner. We emailed him about our delay and told him not to hold up dinner...it was almost 10pm when we finally arrived.

George greeted us with open arms, long pours and amazing leftovers-truly an amazing welcome. I cannot express how grateful we were at that moment. He was so helpful in planning out our activities, telling us how to get around and where to eat/shop and just making sure we had everything we needed.

The breakfasts were amazing. The rooms/bedding/bathrooms – everything was great. The outdoor courtyard patio was super for everyone to have cocktails and hang out (uhm, quite late a couple nights) and the layout of the house is so perfect that you are never disturbing another guest. WiFi was easy to access anywhere on the property - and there are so many nooks/areas to hang out in if you need any privacy for work. The location is perfect - upscale, safe and walking distance to everything if you don't feel like venturing far though there are buses just down the street and taxis are inexpensive.

We really felt like we were staying at a very dear friend's home. This is where we will stay, without question, every time we go to Guadalajara - and with flights on Volaris from TJ and now direct from San Diego also, we anticipate it will be often.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We arrived quite late on a Saturday night and were treated to a very warm welcome, with the host, George, providing us with a much needed stiff drink of fine Tequila. We awoke next morning to a fabulous (and copious) Mexican breakfast prepared by housekeeper and student of cuisine, Francisco - each day something different and always fantastic. George was a mine of information about Guadlajara and surrounding areas in the state of Jalisco. He even looked into internal flights for us and our every need was taken care of when it came to getting taxi's or even cancelling a hotel (I wasn't quite ready to road test my telephone Spanish). There is a delightful garden terrace where we whiled away a good deal of time and the house is superbly and very tastefully furnished with typical Mexican furnishings and art. The rooms are very comfortable and first rate. We loved Nawal the dog, who has a very sweet temperament. Forget a hotel, the level of service you get here is far superior.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianHeathcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 125 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
Fiesta Americana Guadalajara
#11 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#21 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.6 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#26 of 125 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Venezuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Venezuela

Property: Casa Venezuela
Address: Calle Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Venezuela , a Bed & Breakfast in a century old house in the Colonia Americana section of Guadalajara, close to the historic center, many restaurants, night clubs, a short cab ride to many of the cities attractions. We offer comfortable rooms all with private bath, full breakfast, luxurious linens, comp cocktail each evening, all rooms have TV, DVD players, smoking permitted on any of our three patios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing