We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad price, small beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Guadalajara Expo
Ranked #40 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location. Staff were ok. Excellent price. Paid $55 a night including taxes thru expedia. The rooms were tiny, small beds. Towels were not bleached. Overall not bad. Great breakfast, car rental agency on site.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 455 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

We chose this hotel in GDL because of the good price and the decent reviews in Tripadvisor. The location is a bit outside the city center but it´s very easy to go to the center by bus. The bus stop is just a few meters from the reception and it takes about 10-20 minutes depending on traffic. The rooms are quite nice and of typical Ibis standard. The breakfast was also nice with a mix of hot food, fresh fruits, good coffee etc. The only thing we found strange was the pool. We booked the hotel about 2-3 months in advance and there was information about that the pool was closed for rebuilding/renovation. I thought that it would be finished by time we got there but it was still closed. And there was no activity around the pool, no one working there so I guess it´s permanently out of order? It was not a big problem for us but it would have been nice to have som sun and a few laps in the pool after a hot day in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Compared to American standards, I would consider it a tiny room, with tiny beds (smaller than a single) but it was comfortable enough. The shower smelled a little moldy, but looked clean enough. Wi-fi was free but a little sporadic depending on where you were in the hotel. Business center advertised, but it was stripped bare. Pool area looked nice, but pool was drained (mid may stay, kinda strange for summer?) Breakfast area and patio were very comfortable and stylish. Breakfast itself was actually very good. Variety of Hot food selection as well as expected continental choices, and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I stayed at tiny room hotels in Guadalajara before, like Intercity on City Express Junior, but this one surprised me for bad. The carpet looks very cheap and not clean and top of that the towels, in spite they once were white, they are not any more, that's awful. Definitively not recommendable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Favalox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accor_Mexico, General Manager at Ibis Guadalajara Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Guadalajara Expo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Pacheco
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Guadalajara Expo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Looking into our budget, when we planned the trip we booked a hostel of which we had to run away on the first morning. We found Ibis and singed in and were happy every day abour our decision. Only 200 pesos more expensive than the hostel but with real rooms, AC. tv, clean bathroom and superb breakfast.
I recommend it for budget travel or buisness.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I stayed at the Ibis for the first time last week as it is in walking distance of my business in Guadalajara. Other than the very low price, I really was not impressed. The brand new rooms are already showing signs or wear and tear due to low quality materials and poor maintenance. The lobby is a zoo, not tranquil or business like at all. The breakfast is inedible (not at all fresh or clean) and I left and went to McDonalds which was a five star restaurant in comparison.

However, I returned this week, as sometimes when traveling on business, location is more important than anything else. I took a 6:20 a.m. flight on Tuesday and worked all day in Guadalajara and did not get to the hotel till 10:30 p.m. They overbooked, there was screaming and madness at the front desk. My American Express guaranteed booking via a brand new corporate account was not honored. Not even an apology. No help in booking another hotel. I saw American travellers trying to figure out what to do as Guadalajara seemed to be pretty full that night. I called home from my cell phone and disturbed my family and they used the phone book to locate finally the Fiesta Inn, which is nothing special but when comparing it to the awfulf Ibis Guadalajara, it is like a Ritz Carlton of Four Seasons. (I am writing from the Fiesta Inn right now via their wireless internet, something else missing at Ibis.

I pity the poor business travellers who had no idea of where to go and got no help from Ibis. I guess they hung around the Ibis lobby until security threw them in the street.

Do not stay at the Ibis Guadalajara. It is nothing more than a big disappointment with zero service. It is still brand new but based on the low standards of quality control, customer service and maintenance, in another six months, it won't be able to attract anyone other than very short stays. It is a real dump.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

My husband and I arrived at the Ibis fairly early in the morning and the staff welcomed us warmly. The lobby and adjacent breakfast areas were busy busy. The hotel had only been opened a few days and we thought there might be a few glitches, but really there were none.

This awesome little hotel is well placed across from the World Trade Centre on Avenue Mariano Otero and within walking distance of Plaza del Sol. A taxi from Central Guad cost MX$50.00 (about $4.50) but we had been told that a taxi from the long distance bus station would cost MX120.00. The hotel is so new that taxi drivers had never heard of it.

Check-in was smooth and efficient and the desk agents were friendly and proud to be working in the new hotel. As per Ibis standards, the rooms are small but very efficient, and certainly great value for the money. Because everything was new there were no issues whatsoever with anything inside the room. The Ibis offers complimentary internet in an area next to the lobby and has an outdoor swimming pool.

We enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet for MX$57.00 each. The dining area is bright and modern.

We will definitely stay at the Ibis again when we return to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.6 mi away
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
#74 of 130 in Guadalajara
30 reviews
0 mi away
Ibeurohotel
Ibeurohotel
#63 of 130 in Guadalajara
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Sol Expo Guadalajara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Celta
Hotel Celta
#57 of 130 in Guadalajara
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#13 of 130 in Guadalajara
1,097 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Select
Holiday Inn Guadalajara Select
#48 of 130 in Guadalajara
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Guadalajara Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Guadalajara Expo

Address: Avenida Mariano Otero 1400 | Col Residencias Del Bosque, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $39 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Guadalajara Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Guadalajara Expo hotel is located in the city center, opposite Guadalajara's main exhibition center and 30 mins from the airport. The hotel has 159 air-conditioned rooms available for reservation and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Three meeting room s are available for reservation, and guests can also use the restaurant, bar and covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Guadalajara Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing