We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good hotel”
Review of Hotel Celta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Celta
Ranked #61 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its a good hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Its very close to Guadalajara Expo, and by close i mean walking distance. I booked this hotel because the others were already fully booked! You have a "cityexpress" hotel at the left, and a "fiesta inn" at the right. The hotel in general was good, the rooms were like the photos they offer, with laminated floors which i think was amazing, because is way cleaner than carpet floors. The view in my room was terrible (i upload a photo of it), you could see in it some guys working on a roof next door, it was very uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean too. It has a shower, not a bathtub. The pool is very odd (i upload a photo for you guys to see it) and it is heated!. The food in the restaurant is horrible, i do not recommend the restaurant AT ALL.
The hotel is located 1 block away from "plaza del sol" which is like a mall, with a supermarket, fast food and restaurants in it. Plaza del Sol has Zara and C&A if you like to go shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the first "tower" i think they are in better condition then the one in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    65
    35
    13
    20
See reviews for
37
29
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks great......but our first room was one of the most uncomfortable rooms I have experienced. This applied for both my wife & I and our 2 friends who also had a room on the same floor.
The bed to say the least was like concrete. Yes, I know Mexican beds are notoriously hard - I live here but this was beyond hard and would make a solid foundation to build a structure on. The room was tired and showed a lot of wear & tear. We were facing the front avenue and complained enough to be moved to the back tower for our last 2 nights where the rooms looked and felt better. As is typical at most Mexican hotels I find the noise from the hallway extremely loud as few people have any respect for other guests at 1 or 2 am in the morning. Of course the staff had little interest is helping with this problem.

The rate was great but the my spine still hurts. In my opinion there are better choices as far as I am concerned that offer a better product for around the same price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is great, nice ambiance and decor, hotel rooms are nice and comfortable. Location couldn't be better, on the expo area. Have chosen this hotel many times and will continue to do it. I tried a near by hotel and it was not good at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lety J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent three nights here during the ExpoJoya and it was wonderful.
The beds were great, the rooms spacious, and the staff very well trained. We are hoping to stay there many times in the future.
Even though this area of town is notorius for spotty internet , we were able to get access in the lobby. But the restuarant was the gem. The food was consistently good and the service was way beyond the call of duty. The prices were totally reasonable. The chef was willing to accomodate our request beautifully and with a smile. We will be back.

Room Tip: ask to check the beds as some are much better in in the #2 tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reflectionsofcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Convenient location -- Expo and to Plaza del Sol within 10-15min walk.
Welcoming, modern design sense in rooms. Staff quite helpful.
Wireless internet connection weak and unusable in rooms -- tried
two rooms. Connection strong in public areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel during FIL2010. The price was very low and I was really afraid what I'm going to find there for these money. When I reserved I wrote a request to stay in a better room if it is possible (even paying moremoney), however when I arrived they just gave me a real good room without asking for anything. I really appreciated it a lot. The staff doesn't speak English very well, however if you smile and make at least an attempt to speak Spanish, they are really so very friendly and nice. )))) never used the pool, breakfast is good (although I mostly used starbucks nearby for this purpose), in the evenings it looks a bit gloomy but only a little bit. In general I would recommend to stay there, at least ny experience was really good
value for the money they ask.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia_msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Don't be tempted by the inexpensive prices. This place was difficult to find, far away from any fun, and unfriendly. The hotel staff members were rude and ineffective. If you don't speak Spanish, forget it. (I do, but it didn't help.) You won't be able to communicate with anyone. The "gentleman" at the reception desk was either disgusted or bored with every question we asked. The pool is a large bathtub set in the middle of the courtyard. So if you want a mid-day swim. you will be watched by folks eating lunch. The room doors are flimsy so you will hear everything in the hall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luispapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.5 mi away
Expo Inn Guadalajara
Expo Inn Guadalajara
#102 of 129 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Guadalajara Expo
Ibis Guadalajara Expo
#42 of 129 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
#7 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#27 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Sol Expo Guadalajara
0.9 mi away
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
Eco Hotel Guadalajara Expo
#56 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celta

Property: Hotel Celta
Address: Av Mariano Otero 1570, Guadalajara 45055, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Celta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Celta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing