We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La perla does not disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 71 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Once again I find myself revisiting this boutique hotel. I have stayed here on three occasions and does not disappoint. The attention to every detail in this super clean hotel is everywhere. All three bedrooms are georgeous. The morning buffet is great! and fullfiling. Myself and my husband would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms face the street. Theatro the largest. Radio is the smallest and has a balcony for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have visited Guadalajara on business for years, usually staying at the Hotel Morales or the Posada del Marques, and have been very happy with both, but have now discovered a whole new level of comfort and hospitality at La Perla. I discovered this place on line and the reviews do not mislead. The booking process was very smooth and I was provided with lots of pre arrival info that was very helpful. When the taxi pulled up front, both owners came out to welcome me and help with the luggage. The house is beautiful, beautifully restored and well furnished and decorated. Each of the three rooms (I got to see them all) is unique with its own charms and advantages. I hope on future visits to stay in each. I could have lazed around the La Perla all day (and did my best) but unfortunately, had to leave for work. The owners could not be better hosts. I felt like I was staying at someone's home----in a GOOD way. It's like your private entrée into Guadalajara life, Chris and Lars have so much information, experience and news to share. My favorite moments include: sitting on the screened front porch chatting over a glass of wine and watching the world pass by on Prado street; watching a technicolor sunset from the lovely terrace; starting the day with a delicious and beautifully served breakfast. I think it's a great location, with lots in walking distance. If you have heard yourself described as a friendly, positive and appreciate traveler, this is your place. If not, please stay away---you'll just spoil it for the rest of us ; - )

Room Tip: Each room is unique: one is best for late sleepers, one has huge bathroom; one has lovely balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

my wife and i,

wen't to guadalajara / mexico the first time in 2011 to visit friends from my wife.
because she is very romantic, she wanted to stay in a nice location.
therefore she choose la perla, wich was simple perfect to do.
the way we have been welcomed was like as if we were old friends.
every wish we had, christofer and lorenzo, knew it before we could even ask for it.
and many times they even didn't charge extra for it !
friends we wanted to visit, visited us in la perla at the rooftop as if it was our own house !
from there you can see the cathedral wich leads me to the next point.
despite the fact la perla is situated in the hard of guadalajara it's very quiet in the night and safe; no problem to get home safe and have a deep sleep.
the house is probably in art deco or colonialstyle and the rooms have tall ceiling, very clean, including bathroom.

we have been there allready the second time but not the last time.

cheerio
raphael from lucerne / switzerland

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nestled in the historic center of Guadalajara, La Perla Bed and Breakfast continues to serve as a leading gem for lodging in one of Mexico's hippest cities. My partner and I booked a five-night stay at La Perla last month for our fifth anniversary. It was our third visit to Guadalajara and La Perla. We consider the proprietors Lars and Christopher close friends at this point.

Our favorite room in La Perla is Cine. To be more correct, it is a two-room suite that features a quaint sitting room with double french doors that lead onto a zen-like balcony. We particularly love the bedroom because it is restful--we can never gage what time of day it is whether we lay down for bedtime or an afternoon siesta.

On this trip, we were looking for a lowkey getaway with no daily agenda. We were feeling bruised from our fast-paced, frenetic life in the US. Lars and Chris were able to tailor our visit around those parameters. The guys are highly intuitive and adaptable; they know when to be hands-on and when to back off depending on the nature of each specific guest. While I can go on and on about the physical beauty of La Perla itself, it is Lars and Chris that make a visit to Guadalajara synonomous with a homecoming. In fact, I would venture to say that Lars, Christopher, and La Perla are the key reasons we keep returnng to Guadalajara. We just can't get enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at LaPerla in Guadalajara. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful and have lots of creature comforts. The two hosts, Christopher and Lars, are very attuned to the wants and needs of their guests and make every effort to fulfill them (besides they are both lots of fun). We took advantage of the balcony outside our room to sit and drink wine and eat pizza delivered by Christopher.

LaPerla is located in the middle of Guadalajara and in walking distance of many wonderful restaurants and bars. It is also close enough to walk to El Centro for performances and art viewing. Lars and Christopher know the area well and make super recommendations. You also feel very safe at all times.

I look forward to returning to LaPerla soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jksteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I know Guadalajara because i have lived there for a year. In that year i have seen allot of the city. when i went back i stayed at the most ''so called best hotels'' paying a couple hundred dollars a day.
till i stayed at La Perla. The hotel, the rooms, the area are really a treat to any one that ones to see the city of down town. or wants to be close to any were in the city.
the hotels rooms are much nicer and have so much more caracter. i stayed in boutique hotels before, but never i felt so safe as i did in this hotel, in the midle of the city!.
i discovered very nice restaurants and bars and all at walking distance,
all of this was still not the best thing about the hotel. that was the people. chris and lars how run the hotel are great people and accummodated me like i was there family. i had a fantastic time and gained 2 amazing friends. thank you guys for everything you did for me! I will definitly come back to visit you guys and to your amazing place!
with love! Pablo from Honduras ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemmet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at B&Bs all over the world and we both agree that we have never had a better experience than we had at La Perla. The house is lovely, the rooms are well appointed, and the art is beautiful, but none of those things measure up to the warmth and hospitaltity of the Lorenzo and Christopher. Lorenzo is fond of saying, "we do everything to the best of of our ability," and it shows. From the first greeting to our last goodbye Lorenzo made it his purpose to discover what we enjoyed and recommend those things in Guadalajara that he thought would interest us -- and, he was spot on and that made for a great vacation. But, Lorenzo and Christopher do so much more than host guests at a B&B, they actually roll you into their lives in Mexico. We met their friends and family. We shared stories and wine -- and we left Guadaljara with two new friends. La Perla was truly the best expereince we have ever had at a B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmvillasenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 130 in Guadalajara
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#7 of 130 in Guadalajara
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
Krystal Urban Guadalajara
#5 of 130 in Guadalajara
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.8 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#31 of 130 in Guadalajara
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Monraz Hotel Boutique & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B

Address: Calle Prado 128 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range: $113 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guest, you will feel like one of the Mexican movie stars connected to LA PERLA’s past: Gloria Marin, Jorge Negrete, Maria Felix… The Moorish mansion embodies the glamour of the famous old casas of Guadalajara, Jalisco.With a perfect location in the historical center, LA PERLA continues to be the place to meet interesting people and to discover what this exciting city offers. Whether visiting our city for business, vacation or study abroad, you can count on LA PERLA Boutique Bed and Breakfast to make your visit more exciting than any other hotel, inn, B&B, or guesthouse. From the time we pick you up at the International Airport, the time we spend with you will make your experience discovering Guadalajara better than just memorable. We will help you plan your free time which can include:Travel to nearby towns including Tequila, Ajijic and Lake Chapala, Colima and Puerto Vallarta as well as longer trips such as to Mexico City, the Yucatan, Oaxaca and San Miguel de Allende in the State of Guanajuato.Visits to the restaurants or night clubs for Latin music and dancing. We are also happy to help you obtain tickets to Mexican soccer league games (called futbol here); concert, symphony and dance performances; bull fights (called corrida de toros), Guadalajara’s mariachi and foreign film festivals as well as other cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing