We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. And Attentive to Every Need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
Ranked #1 of 62 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect. And Attentive to Every Need”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived in Guadalajara with limited time, and an agenda that, in retrospect, was at the limit of feasibility. Lars personal attention, guidance, and suggestions were vital to our plans, and more importantly, his guidance was significant in making our experience of Guadalajara simply amazing. La Perla is a wonderfully restored property. The rooms are comfortable. The location is quiet and relaxed. Breakfast was fantastic and provided a time to talk. Lars helped us plan, and personally led us through the first days to enable us to get a sense of the city. There are many restaurants within walking distance that are just excellent. Overall our time spent at La Perla was a high point of our trip. Lars, thank you for all that you did for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooncat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
92
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Two friends and I took the three rooms in La Perla for our first trip to Guadalajara. We could not have been more delighted and thrilled. Lorenzo and Christobal were amazing hosts and took care of our every needs. Guadalajara is an exotic destination, and the folks at La Perla made sure we knew exactly where to go and how to get there. Lorenzo took us on a tour of the old city which was geared to us personally, so we were able to go back to the old city in our own time and see the sights that interested us. The gentlemen of La Perla made sure we knew how to get to the nightclubs which were in easy walking distance of the inn. Walking to restaurants, sights and nightlife is easy from La Perla, and we felt safe at any hour. To find such a warm, comfortable atmosphere with caring affable hosts was a real treat. I can not recommend La Perla highly enough, and I know I speak for my two traveling companions who were equally bowled over. Do yourself a favor and stay at La Perla

Room Tip: The "teatro" room is lovely with a generously apportioned bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Christopher and Lars took such amazing care of us from the moment we arrived. In all of my travel adventures, the people that I meet along the way are what makes a place memorable and unique, and these guys are friends that I am truly glad to have made. I learned so much from them about Guadalajara and Mexico, and was inspired by their personal story of how La Perla came to be. Their elegant palace feels so cozy and warm, thanks to the hard work and attention to detail of these most gracious hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

La Perla is so unique and so beautiful. The place breathes history. The hosts, Lars and Christopher, will make you feel like family. They'll show you around, give you a little tour of Guadalajara, take you to their favorite restaurants, treat you to wine, make you great coffee, and will instantly become your best friends! No other place compares. They made our stay magical!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's hard to believe that two years have passed since my boyfriend and I last stayed at La Perla in Guadalajara--especially after revisiting the review we wrote on La Perla after our initial visit to Guadalajara. 

After that first visit, I often wrestled with the notion whether Guadalajara was my favorite city in Mexico because it is a place that celebrates and nurtures creative people like me or if it's because I'm drawn to the warm, magnetic personalities of Lars and Christopher, the fabulous proprietors of La Perla. 

As my inner debate rages on, what I can say is that I absolutely adore Lars and Chris. I love that they live their lives to their fullest. When I accompany them to their friend's bronze foundry and to a dinner at their local mom-and-pop taco joint, I start to understand why they treasure life in Guadalajara. Life has many layers and nuances, and Lars and Chris strike the ideal balance between opulence and simplicity. Their balanced approach to life has been the secret to Lars and Chris' success in the B&B world. They are very intuitive when it comes to the interests and needs of their guests--they know when to dial it down and when to raise the level. For example, Chris whipped up a cocktail party on the fly at La Perla for my female friends who accompanied my boyfriend and I on this last trip. And then Lars somehow remembered that I was keen on seeing the bronze foundry based on a conversation we had two years prior. How cool is that? I wanted to give Lars and Chris big hugs and slap gold stars on their foreheads for going above and beyond the call of duty. But more importantly, Lars and Chris are nice guys, who are kind and genuine, and that is why La Perla is a smashing success.

The biggest life lesson I learned from this latest visit to La Perla is to love the life I live, and live the life I love. Lars and Chris clearly love their lives in Guadalajara, and it's infectious! I'm grinning from ear-to-ear while typing my final words to this review. We hope to be back to La Perla many more times for years to come! We love life at La Perla!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AL420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at La Perla for the first time last week, it was the most perfect little BnB I have ever encountered. The service was relaxed, the beds incredibly comfortable, the staff were friendly and I fell in love not only with the establishment but with a girl I met there. This was just an amazing trip facilitated by the wonderful hosts and the great location. Strongly recommend the restaurant 88! Thnk you guys from the bottom of my heart.

Room Tip: Get a room with a church view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are looking for a B&B that has charm and hosts that are caring, La Perla is the place for you. Lorenzo and Chris provide superlative service, whatever your needs are they have a suggestion or solution.

We are two seniors from California that were looking for some relaxation and that's what we got. On our first day Lorenzo and one of the young men that help out at the B&B, took us on a walking tour of the Downtown area. My wife was pushed in a wheelchair belonging to La Perla. I could go on and on, such care! Like when we took a carriage ride whose driver did not speak English, Lorenzo went with us. If you needed a taxi, somebody from the B&B would go out to the main street and bring it back.

Many of the locals are friends of Chris and Lorenzo and when they drop in you are invited to join in. This gives you some insights to life in Guadalajara. If you want to enjoy, go to La Perla.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.9 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
0.8 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#3 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#18 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B

Property: La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B
Address: Calle Prado 128 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guest, you will feel like one of the Mexican movie stars connected to LA PERLA’s past: Gloria Marin, Jorge Negrete, Maria Felix… The Moorish mansion embodies the glamour of the famous old casas of Guadalajara, Jalisco.With a perfect location in the historical center, LA PERLA continues to be the place to meet interesting people and to discover what this exciting city offers. Whether visiting our city for business, vacation or study abroad, you can count on LA PERLA Boutique Bed and Breakfast to make your visit more exciting than any other hotel, inn, B&B, or guesthouse. From the time we pick you up at the International Airport, the time we spend with you will make your experience discovering Guadalajara better than just memorable. We will help you plan your free time which can include:Travel to nearby towns including Tequila, Ajijic and Lake Chapala, Colima and Puerto Vallarta as well as longer trips such as to Mexico City, the Yucatan, Oaxaca and San Miguel de Allende in the State of Guanajuato.Visits to the restaurants or night clubs for Latin music and dancing. We are also happy to help you obtain tickets to Mexican soccer league games (called futbol here); concert, symphony and dance performances; bull fights (called corrida de toros), Guadalajara’s mariachi and foreign film festivals as well as other cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Perla Hotel Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing