We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Staff and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Staff and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

This is a lovely hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. It is centrally located to all the historic sights of Guadalajara. I would definitely say there again. And it is very nearby a wonderfully authentic Mexican restaurant, LaChata at Av. Corona No. 126.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Friendliness, Location, Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — Maid service could be mid-afternoon at times.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    493
    79
    42
    28
See reviews for
415
581
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

After a week travelling the interior of central Mexico, Hotel Morales was a breath of fresh air. We arrived in Guadalajara by bus and took a cab straight to the hotel...the driver knew right where to go. First impression: classy and clean. Our intitial visit to the front desk was quick, efficient and friendly. The bellboy was very nice and spoke perfect english, so my Mom was very happy to not have to use her minimal spanish skills. Throughout our stay the various employees at the hotel, especially the bellboys, were very helpful and gave us great recommendations. We discovered quickly that 1-800 #'s cannot be called from the hotel. One not so great aspect was that everything bought in the hotel was super expensive...I was sick and needed some tea at 10 p.m. and 4 bags of peppermint tea cost me $6! Other than the very high prices, the hotel was SUPERB! There was an excellent mariachi trio in the hotel lobby our last night in Mexico that sent us home in total style. I can't wait to return!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMexLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

After a little arm twisting, we got a great room consisting of a sleeping area and a sitting area. Beautiful lobby, excellent bathroom and lovely sheets. It really was a 4 Star hotel at 2 star prices. I love hard beds so all those comments about the hard mattress were music to my ears. We had a chance to try the restaurant for dinner on our first night and it was very pleasant. My brother in law was more than pleased with the grand piano in the lobby since he is a classical musician and missed his instrument. Hopefully, the other guest were pleased as well.

  • Liked — Attractive room and lobby
  • Disliked — A little noisy due to traffic on main street
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItalianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

This review is long overdue. I just get busy and forget to post it. A study done by American Express several years ago pretty much explains my negligence in this matter. AE says that if a guest has a wonderful experience at a hotel or restaurant, etc., they will tell their friends and usually it ends there. If they have a hidious experience, they will tell everyone.....for a long time!
I stayed at the Morales last year. It had recently re-opened after being restored to it's original magnificence. It was a delightful stay, from the taxi door and baggage reception to check-in and check out. I see postings for rates of $68.00 and up. I guess I was on the "up" side! I had one of the corner suites. The room was beautifully decorated, with a king sized bed, lots of "door windows" looking out at the park and horse carriages. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi that looked out over the city as well. Gorgeous tiles throughout, and non entrusive air conditioning. The cost was around $200.00 per night after taxes, etc., but well worth it! he restaurant was "adequate" as far as cuisine, even with very good service. I'm sure it has improved by now. All in all, a wonderful experience for a hotel that is in the heart of the city!

James Dickinson
Guadalajara, MX
San Jose, CA

  • Liked — historical building brought back to it's original splendor!
  • Disliked — Beds tend to be more firm than I prefer.
  • Tips/Secrets — You might go across the street and enjoy the inexpensive roasted chicken and potatoes! Simple, great comfort food.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

We spent a week at the Morales. The location couldn't be better. Buses from the nearby plaza run all over the city, some of Guadalajara's best restaurants -- like the justly famous and always crowded La Chata -- are within a block or so, and it's easy walking distance from the city's historical sites. The staff is welcoming and pleasant; all the desk staff speak good English.
The hotel has been elegantly refurbished; the rooms are comfortable, if not luxurious (there was no writing desk in our room, for example; elegance has been put a little ahead of practicality).
Our room, 206, was in an interior courtyard and away from the noisy streets. An airconditioner in the room cycles rather loudly but cuts any ambient noise. The only drawback to this excellent place: a pianist who plays at length, loudly, and not very well on the lobby floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy piano player
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Buswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#28 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#32 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#7 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing