We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2006

A goup of four of us stayed here in April of 2005 for 2 nights. The hotel is definitely unique in its architecture and is in a great location to see historic Guadalajara. The streets outside can be a bit noisy in the day but if your out and about then there's no problem at night. The beds are my only real complaint, hard as a rock! The rooms are clean, nice and up to date. There are more elegent suites in the hotel available but the room we stayed in was very economical for what you get with regards to accomodations and service. You can get cheaper rooms in town but you sacrafice on cleanliness and comfort. We parked our truck (wouldn't recommend anything larger than half-ton by the way) in the on-site garage and walked or took a cab everywhere while in town.

  • Liked — value to price
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rubbertoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    500
    80
    42
    28
See reviews for
430
594
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

We booked this Hotel after seeing the reviews in this web site. Wow, what a place. Room was great, people were great, service was excellent. Not once were we let down. Hotel is smack in the middle of the Historic Area so you do not see all the glitter and High Rises of the new Guadalajara, so stay in the Minerva area if you are going to Guadalajara to feel like you are in any other big city. BUT if you are going to experience Mexico and Guadalajara at it's best Old World Charm, THIS IS IT.

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Tips/Secrets — Always ask for help before venturing out. They will tell you where all the best places to go are.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank segurossiempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

I stayed at the Morales for 6 days the end of October for Day of the Dead. Although I booked a Suite online, it was not available when I arrived but I was given a beautiful, cozy standard room that I actually missed when they found my Suite the next day. The head bellman - I believe Mario - was wonderful and found me a reasonable car rental that I could return at the airport (the in town traffic is unbelievable!). The hotel food was good and the bar was fun when they had mariachis play. I found no trouble with noise levels here at all and slept like a baby. You can walk or taxi anywhere in the city from this location. I would stay again.

  • Liked — Clean, clean hotel and attentive staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Standard rooms are very nice and cozy
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeano33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

It is a nice hotel, everyone was very helpful, rooms were nice, food was good it was very relaxing we were there for a wedding and the staff was very helpful the day of the wedding the only problem I had and strongly recomend not to rent vehicles from the hotel, reserve prior to arrival so you are safe, I had a bad experience with a car agency that was recomended from the hotel but besides all that my experience was great, I would defenitely go back to it. I just won't rent vehicles from there.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank enriquezinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#32 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#12 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#29 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#3 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#9 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing