We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful restoration with old world charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A beautiful restoration with old world charm!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a gorgeous place to stay in Mexico. The staff was courteous and accommodating .
The rooms were decorated beautifully and the energy efficient features were a lesson that US hotels could learn from. The staff even drove our party of 6 to our final destination of Ajijic. Very great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    501
    81
    42
    28
See reviews for
433
595
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is not a cookie-cutter hotel. It is in an elegant old historic building. The lobby is dark and hospitable--a great place to sit and people watch. The restaurant faces the lobby also. Our room was comfortable, facing a quiet courtyard. We walked to many historical sites and restaurants felt perfectly comfortable walking on the streets after dark. The Hotel Morales sets a high bar for its competition.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aguzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good place to stay. In a great location. Clean rooms and employees are very nice. My only complaints is the loud air-conditioning system in room & the terrible gym facility! Gym has 1 elliptical which is broken. Has one treadmill that squeaks and outdated weightlifting machine. Noticed two other guests complaining about gym.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom was good, and there are many nice, public places to sit on each floor. Sometimes the wifi worked, sometimes not.
There is a new, and older part of the hotel. We were in renovated part,and although they did not have rooms with balconies available, there were 2 windows and we had a good view of one of the grand churches, which was lit up beautifully at nite. If I ever stayed again, I would actually request the older part of the hotel, with a balcony, as I adore colonial charm :) Such a beautiful city, with many interesting/ beautiful museums, and good food. Be sure to walk around a lot and explore this city, you will discover interesting places,food, etc. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Wveryone has different priorities but note: some rooms do not have windows If you prefer an update...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_viaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past few years and definitely it has some great features. It is very traditional and you can tell a lot of attention was paid to details that remind you that you are in Mexico and not in some chain hotel that looks the same regardless of location. Modern amenities like a great fitness center are not there, but they do have free Internet, which is a big plus. My favorite thing about the Morales is it's location, near the city center and cathedral (so beautiful). It's nice to take a morning walk to one of the local cafes to grab a bite and wander past the colonial architecture as you go.

For a bit more money, nicer places can be found. The modern Presidente Intercontinental or the traditional Mansion del Sol rank a bit higher for me. But Morales is a good value and makes for a memorable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TitanShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Morales last week for a few days in Guadalajara. It is in great location, within walking distance to all of the key historic places to see in the city.
Here are my pros and cons about this lovely hotel:
Pros:
Beautiful Hotel, colonial architecture was beautiful and the hotel lobby is amazing.
We had the Imperial Suite with the Jacuzzi – very nicely decorated and large suite.
Very nice staff, they were always very cordial and accommodating
Great Bar and restaurant, we only had drinks and appetizers there but they were tasty and great atmosphere.
Cons:
A/C is not the best. We were fortunate to have a corner suite so with open windows we received cross ventilation, but the nights got stuffy.

Overall, it was a great hotel in Guadalajara and we would definitely go back, just be sure to ask for a corner room so you have a great breeze in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vee1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautifully restored hotel right downtown . Rooms large and comfortable. Nice sitting areas, terraces and a good size pool. Lovely lobby with fountain and music at meals times - even at breakfast! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#30 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#14 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.2 mi away
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
One Guadalajara Centro Historico
#29 of 129 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 129 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#9 Best Value Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing