We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Imperial Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Colonial getaway!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is simply magnificent, colonial arquitecture, the most important historical landmarks in Guadalajara are within walking distance.
The restaurant is quite good.
The staff is impeccable.
Free valet parking if you have car, very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    507
    82
    42
    29
See reviews for
451
606
137
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my second time at this hotel, the first time I went I was very happy with the excellent experience that I had. The room that I was given was wonderful and I was very impressed. On my last trip to this hotel, I had asked for a nice room. However they said that they were very full and gave me a room with a queen bed. I was not very happy with it was small, and the bath tub and shower did not work well with hardly any hot water. I think that the room was located in an older part of the buliding. It did not feel that it was very cozy and we heard everything that was going on in that wing of the buliding. The next time I am in town I will try out another hotel. If you are without a car I would recommend staying here since it is located right down town. The staff was not very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room above the lobby, that is where I stayed on my first trip. The rooms were larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I must be the only person in the world who doesn't like this hotel. It is an old colonial restored building, rather austere from the outside. When you enter you see the fountain in the central lobby area but rather than being charming we all found it dark and depressing. The interior walls are painted in what is probably a historical colour, but the overall yellow ochre effect makes it seem dingy. The sister part to the hotel is painted cream and it makes a big difference to lifting the ambiente of the hotel. The lobby furniture is worn and dated and the restaurant is situated to the right. There are slightly scruffy dark wood (everything here is dark wood) tables and chairs with white and maroon tablecloths. It doesn't look very enticing - certainly no starched table linen and nice cutlery. Whatever you do, don't eat here. The food was vile on our first evening's arrival. I should have known when I was presented with colourful sticky menus that we were in for trouble - never a good sign - but we were ravenous and the area immediately outside the hotel didn't look safe for wandering around late at night. My husband's T-Bone steak was served grey, as if it has been boiled not grilled. His baked potato was rock hard. My daughter's spaghetti bolognaise was swimming in 2cms of pasta liquid. My enchiladas were like nothing else I tasted in Mexico (and we do love Mexican food!). All went back to the kitchen barely touched. No one asked us if there was a problem, no one offered us a reduction off the bill when my husband pointed out that we had been unable to eat the food. Everything was grimy and sticky in the restaurant. Having read all the other reviews of the breakfasts, I realise I am totally out of step with the other reviews, but it was vile. Whatever was in the tureens was slushy and unappetising. The little cakes and pastries looked nice, but were stale. In the end I ordered white toast and we fell on it fawning as it was the only edible thing to eat. We were doubly excited when we were given little packets of Heinz strawberry jam to eat with it - not good enough Hotel Morales - you have 4 and 5 stars on a lot of your branding. While this is clearly not the case, you could do a lot better with your breakfasts and the way it is presented. We too were given the infamous room 212 with no windows, only a small one to the dark interior courtyard. It was horrible. Dark worn furniture, dark frames on everything in the room and bathroom, nicotine- coloured painted walls. We were moved to a room with windows and a balcony the next day, but the rooms are still depressing. It wouldn't take much to brighten them up. Paint them white or cream to get over the lack of natural light. Change the hideous polyester bedspreads and pillow cases to gorgeous white Mexican cotton and it would make a huge difference to this hotel. We couldn't wait to get out of there for the second half of our stay in Guadalajara. On the positive side, our room was very well cleaned, the two maids we had were delightful, the front desk were helpful ( except when it came to charging full price for our horrible meal), and the man who drives the official hotel taxi was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. His car was clean and smelled beautiful and it was worthwhile paying a few extra pesos not to be ripped off by the notorious Guadalajara yellow cab drivers - who either don't want to turn their meters on, or arrive with 45pesos on the clock and don't want to turn it off. Good luck!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank H0lmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For my first time to Guadalajara for tourism, this place was perfect. It has the wow factor when you walk in, it's clean, the rooms are nice, and they even have a heated pool on the roof. You can walk everywhere, and there is a taqueria across the street. We took a corner room, #218, that had three balconies. Noise was no issue in this room as the balcony doors were all double glass. It's a great hotel, the staff are nice and for anyone staying for pleasure, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Hotel Morales is located in the middle of the historic center of the city. It is only three blocks to the famous Cathedral, City Council, various museums, theatre etc.
There is no Wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The signal there is fairly strong.
There is a gym and pool on the roof.
The staff is helpful and friendly.
The restaurant is average.
Overall an excellent price-benefit ratio in a great historic building with modern facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Classy old hotel in the Zona Central, very nice people from the front desk to the chambermaids to the concierge. We showed up without a reservation and persuaded them to give us a room for the price we would have paid had we booked through hotel.com. Can't say the same for the San Francisco. Nice, quiet room, very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A lovely hotel in Guadalajara-- very charming with a lot of history. Lots of picture of matadors. The architecture inside the hotel is delightful! The rooms were spacious, clean, and well-furnished. Such a convenient location too. Really happy with this choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVPNEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#26 of 128 in Guadalajara
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#13 of 128 in Guadalajara
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#7 of 128 in Guadalajara
903 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
336 reviews
2.8 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Property: Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Address: Avenida Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#11 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Spa, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing