We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurea Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurea Hotel and Suites
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was our first night stay when driving down to Mexico from the US. When planning our trip to Mexico I was more concerned with looking for a safe place to stay and for a hotel with private parking where I would have no problems leaving the car. Not only was the hotel safe but it was nice and staff very helpful and friendly. Room was nice and clean. Would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
51
32
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used to stay at another hotel by the expo and decided to give this one a try since I found that it was priced about the same as the other one (online). This hotel is great starting with the service up to the decoration of the room, it was really modern and the bed was great. There was always parking (free) as well. Free water, and coffee in my room (yes sounds like that's normal for a US hotel but not in Mexico!) Location is really central to many places.

Make sure to book online because I found out that I was saving at least $30.00 dollars per night.

will definitely come back to this hotel and will recommend to anybody no questions asked!

oh yeah one thing I didn't like was that housekeeping was knocking at every door to make sure your room was already clean. I guess it is a good thing but I was actually sleeping when this happen... other than that everything was great.

I would recommend to the housekeeping department to have a better system to know what rooms are clean and ready and which ones aren't.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor and I had no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here one night upon the recommendation of another hotel clerk....this hotel is dog friendly, which is difficult to find in Guadalajara! The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived. We were escorted to our room, and the nice gentleman even offered to go to the store for us. A dog bed and doggie bags were provided for us. The room was new, clean, and comfortable. The grounds were very nice. We did not eat in the restaurant, but I looked in at breakfast time, and it was very nice. There is a small pool, a well-equipped gym, fire powered BBQ, and very nice lawn area. As has been said before, the hotel is a little distance from Plaza del Sol, but if you have a car! it is an easy drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Part of the Hotel was re-builded 2 years ago, the rooms are big enough and so clean, you have peace, space and all the goodies that you need, the pool is medium size and cold! I was there only for a weekend and sincerely, I'll back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have stayed here for just over a week in two separate visits and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It may not be in a convenient location for some visitors as it is about 30 minutes from the city centre but as we have friends in the area, it suited us. We stayed in a junior suite which was spacious and well appointed and excellent value for money. The staff were always good natured and gracious and tried hard to communicate, bearing in mind that we have no Spanish. The complimentary breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast and pastries, juice, tea and coffee is more than adequate and a full breakfast is available for a minimal extra cost. It is quiet, peaceful and very clean. We will be staying here again as we continue to use Guadalajara as our base for our visit to Mexico.

Room Tip: The junior suite is very large with a huge bed and sofa, fridge, table and chairs and you might be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baskingshark8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice hotel, grounds, location. Only one male at the front desk was nice. I went at 4 p.m. to ask this girl for ice and she said the kitchen was only open for lunch and there was no ice at this time. She suggested I could walk to the pharmacy down the street to buy some. I then see the chef and asked him for ice, he was so nice he sent someone to buy it (for some reason the hotel doesn't have this technology...) and deliver it to the room. The rude front desk girl gave me a horrible look when she saw I could get ice after the kitchen was closed! The free continental breakfast is deceiving. They set all the breakfast items around the room, you start eating and then they say, only the cereal, and that bread, that fruit and only milk but not juice are included in the continental breakfast. It's a trap, I only had juice and some fruit and the poor ladies didn't know how to tell me some of the fruit or the juice wasn't included :(

Room Tip: We booked the Suite Diamond. The "suite" is one big room, not really a suite with separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Different to most hotels in Guadalajara, that are big buildings with many stories, Suites Carolina is only 4 stories building with a green and beautiful yard and pool in the back of the property. Parking lot is "on surface" with plants and trees. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location over Lopez Mateos Av. is a good place. But the best of the hotel is the people. Employees are warm and helpful. They are expecting to help you in anything. Personally i want to say thank you to Marcos. He bought for me at 1 AM a medicine for pain. Really he is an outstanding worker. In short : good location, green property and staff extremly friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero-Colombiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
Hotel Puerta Del Sol
#39 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.3 mi away
Guadalajara Plaza Ejecutivo Lopez Mateos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel de Mendoza
Hotel de Mendoza
#20 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#36 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
Victoria Ejecutivo Guadalajara
#11 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurea Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurea Hotel and Suites

Property: Aurea Hotel and Suites
Address: Avenida Lopez Mateos sur 3848 | Col. La Calma, Guadalajara 45510, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Suites Carolina)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurea Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aurea Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing