We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous for the Birria”

Birrieria de Nueve Esquinas
Ranked #65 of 1,115 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Famous for the Birria”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It is a cultural phenomena so don't miss the chance to try the food at this Guadalajara institution. It can be crowded, I have never been when it isn't. Nothing like birrea with hot tortillas and an agua fresca or a cold beer (doesn't matter that you have come for breakfast). Umbrella tables out front on the fabled plaza with 9 corners. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful View to Eat By”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant literally is on a park with many corners (I didn't count nine). It's really a charming little fonda that specializes in birria, the traditional goat caldo from Jalisco. The stew had a flavorful enough broth with shredded pieces of goat throughout, but somehow the broth lacked the chile spice and heat I was looking for. I had to add a lot of lime and onions to give it some bite. It didn't come with cilantro which would have been the fresh seasoning I was looking for, too. I think as a taco filling, this birria was okay, but as a caldo, the broth needed deeper richness. I can't argue the price though: with a glass of horchata (The only agua fresca they had), it was a dinner for under $10.00 (including tip).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washwestcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A really beautiful place, they have the best birria...everybody who visit Guadalajara just HAS to visit this Restaurant.
Ist small and cosy, nice Service and not too expensice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanaTobej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious birria, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nueve Esquinas is consistently outstanding. I visit here every time I'm in Guadalajara. Service is prompt, prices are great, and the food is wonderful. It's a small, unassuming place that makes you feel like you're right in someone's ornate, colonial kitchen, as you watch tortillas being made. Run, don't walk, to 9 Esquinas!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Goat Stew Sounds Awful Til You Eat It”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My sons were skeptical when I told them they would be eating goat stew. Especially the older boy, who pretty much limited himself to milanesa (a scallopini of beef) and club sandwiches the whole trip. We were on the way to seeing their uncle and his wife in Ajijic, and I only had a day to show them Guadalajara (three days would suffice; perhaps next time). When the youngest boy said he wanted to try it, and when the steaming bowls came to a table already loaded up with botanas and sides, the oldest son said he was willing to try the birria de chivo and after one bite, he was hooked. He said he should have ordered that instead of his barbacoa de borego (grilled lamb). The Birrierria de Nueve Esquinas has outdoor tables and a delightful ambiance, really like stepping into a place like Coyoacan in a huge city that I think, compared to Mexico City, is practically soulless (pace Tapatios!). The most expensive entre is about $10, so for penny pinchers like me, it is not unaffordable. (We stayed at the Hamilton, which allowed a bit bigger meal budget.) This place is a real charmer with some of the best dining in all Mexico!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmmartin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birrieria de Nueve Esquinas also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Birrieria de Nueve Esquinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing