We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Bistro Than Restaurant”
Review of Chez Chouchou

Chez Chouchou
Ranked #36 of 1,129 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Chez-Chouchou appears as a new French gastronomic offer in unique and original place. In Chez-Chouchou, we q ue feel at home, enjoying traditional French dishes with exquisite Mexican flair. Chez-Chouchou is place to hang out with friends, colleagues and family. A place that blends both traditional and modern in a cozy space. You can enjoy a gourmet coffee, a glass of French wine, one of their delicious desserts, and discover our mountain cheese as the "raclette". The personalized attention of its creators, as well as its rich cuisine offers its customers a unforgettable and unique experience in Guadalajara. Un lieu pour profiter, gouter et revenir.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“More Bistro Than Restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Have been three times now. Enjoy the casual environment, the hip atmosphere and the limited menu. Easy access in one of Guadalajara's prime dining zones. Good wines, fair prices, service can be attentive, hasn't always been. Many bilingual staff makes it easy if you are English speaking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fools4Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    84
    37
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rare meals at a good price”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is fairly difficult to encounter french ingredients in Guadalajara.
Don't ask me how, but chez Couchou does it, and they sure know how to cook them as well !
A great place to enjoy a very good meal in a nice environment at a very well placed price. I would recommend it to anyone !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Prices”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been trying to visit this restaurant for some time and this past weekend I was finally able to make that happen. It met all of my expectations and more. The atmosphere is very comfortable, the service is great and the food is wonderful. I was most shocked when I got the bill and for 4 cocktails, three appetizers and two main dishes we only paid around 500 pesos. I can't wait to go back and try more of the menu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited Chez Chouchou and were very pleased with the whole quality of the restaurant. The food was delicious. The service was great. Prices were super good. I highly recommend visiting this restaurant. They also have a couple of vegetarian options (my case) which was great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellatrixmartnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good and honest food, affordable”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food: great, french specialties, far from the fancy-gourmet-expensive-not tasty food you can find in plenty of GDL restaurants. Here it's real french dishes, well prepared, well served. Similar to what you would find in a french bistro.
Price: quite cheap for the quality! The 3 courses menu is only 85 pesos, which is the price of a carls junior combo... so save yourself a fat burger and go for this delicious option!
Ambiance: nice and simple. No show off here. It's nice to avoid the "I come for the status and not the food" group of people you can meet at other places in GDL.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mathiasroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chouchou also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Jalisco
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Chez Chouchou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing