We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Pepper - combining the best of the hostel universe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pepper Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Pepper Hostel
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
“Blue Pepper - combining the best of the hostel universe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The blue pepper hostel really combines most of the important hostel characteristics that I have gotten to know during my travels.

Location: The blue pepper hostel is located in the vivid area of Chapultepec with lots of bars and good connection to other sites. The staff will always give you instructions on how to best get to the sites you want to see, order you a safe taxi or even offer you rides whenever convenient.

Staff: Great guys who are very outgoing and helpful. The reception is occupied 24/7. Via them you really have a chance to get to know the real Guadalajara experience as they are happy to show you around the area and bring you in touch with the locals.

Services:Free internet, free breakfast, laundry, bike rental, trips, occasional get togethers in the evenings etc. etc. really all a backpacker or traveller needs

Amenities: The hostel is only about 1 year old and so is all the equipment. The beds, lockers, matresses, kitchen, bath rooms are in very good shape and the hostel is cleaned every morning. Besides, there is a nice backyard with hammocks and basketball court. Even a TV corner with video games, DVDs etc is available for the rainy days.

Security: The entrance is video secured and the area is generally safe. So don't worry.

All in all a great place which is worth a stay. Great guys, good and clean amenities which make you feel comfortable.

Room Tip: Private rooms are not a lot more expensive and offer good comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cdundalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review. It means a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
6
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have appeared at Blue Pepper by accident. We have booked a room somewhere else and it was not available. This turned out to be an excellent change, as Blue Pepper was definitely one of the best hostels we have stayed in. Great location, very clean and tidy, very well organized and with nice staff turn out to be a good choice for staying in Guadalajara! We will not hesitate to stay there again when visiting that town in future.
Best Regards,
Sonia & Wojciech

Room Tip: We stayed in the private double with bathroom and were positively surprised by a tv with dvd and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wojciech P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to be able to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had an awesome experience staying in Blue Pepper! This is a very hospital and social hostel. The people working here are very relaxed and helpfull. I really recommend staying here if you are looking for an apartment, because these guys are great at helping you find a place. Besides that these guys are all about having fun together. They'll invite you to come with their friends to the bars, have something to eat or sport games. They are always up to date with the latest activities in town, due to their relation with Conexion GDL.. a company that organizes activities for everyone new in town. Furthermore the facilities are good, a cleaning lady comes in EVERY DAY.. the showers are not the best, but they work, are warm and are clean. Recently they put curtains on every bed, so you have a lot of privacy in the dorms if you want to. The hostel is in a safe neighbourhood, Chapultepec.. which houses a lot of restaurants, bars and clubs. Everything in walking distance. Easy to get to the center, take either a bus, taxi or walk (20 minutes). I had a great time here, was planning to stay for three days.. but ended up staying for more than one week.. and I came back for two more days in the end of my travelings :) GRACIAS BLUE PEPPER for giving me an awesome time in GDL! Paco, Cani, Alex and Manu!

Room Tip: Room on top has a private bathroom, shared with eight people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BillyBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for the review. Your comments help us to continue to upgrade our facilities. We hope that everything is going well with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We only stayed one night, but the staff that helped out with everything was great! Facilities were great, too! The lockers in the dorms were big enough for a backpack and the beds had curtains!
There were sofas inside and quit a few benches and tables outside to hang out and to use the WIFI

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katha1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for kind responses about our facilities. We hope that you are doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Etienne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have had the opportunity to spend a few days in the Blue Pepper hostel and I can say that it was a very good experience.
The place is very clean, nice and there is a friendly atmosphere.
You can cook whatever you want thanks to the fully equiped kitchen, the common areas include flat screen television, billard, books, movies and access to the internet for a very good price !! The rooms are good and the stay includes an international breakfast !
The staff is really nice and helpful, if you need any information about what places to visit, where to go out and how to go you can ask without a problem.

In a few words : a very good place to stop by if you are visiting Guadalajara !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our fully equiped kitchen is waiting for you any time that you want to return to Guadalajara! We hope that everything is going well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A true "hostel" experience. The Owner did a great job of capturing the true essence of what a hostel is and should be.

I am currently traveling all of central America and therefore have stayed at numerous hostels. Some worth not even mentioning. On merit, I want to take this time to praise blue pepper. Here are some points to consider when staying at any hostel and how blue pepper hostel has satisfied these points.

1. Proximity to public transportation- just a walk down the street and you catch the bus to down town. 6 pesos and 10mns later and you're there.

2. Proximity to super market- a 7mn walk and your are at the big DISCOUNT store for food and all other needs.

3. Proximity to night life and restaurants- a walk down the street from the hostel and you can start your selection of restaurants or bars.

4. Breakfast is included??!- yes blue pepper impressed me by going far beyond what the typical hostels call breakfast. Here they serve a buffet style breakfast with cereal, fruit, eggs, enchiladas, beans, toast...

4.common area- its boasts a large outdoor patio and indoor living room. Great ambiance for meeting new people or enough space if you want privacy.

5. Customer service- I am big on this and when you travel as much as I do, this point becomes more and more important. The staff is very attentive and appreciative of its guests. They have shown to go out of their way to make you feel at home.

6. Kitchen- fully equipped!!

7. Cleanliness- 5 out 5. Someone cleans every day. Her name is Vicky :)

8. Entertainment- plasma tv, play station, board games, books, movies, computer, pool table, basketball court,

9. neighborhood/ safe, secure, yet vibrant and youthful

This was my home for almost a month and it certianly felt like it!!!

A great value for you dollar!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments Daniel. We are always striving to provide the best customer service while we continue to improve our facilities. We sincerely hope that everything is going well for you, and that you choose to stay with us whenever you are in Guadalajara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Blue Pepper is a great place to meet new friends. Everything about the hostel is geared toward bringing the guests together. From their long cafeteria style eating patio area, to the couch and pool table and the shared kitchen, there are many opportunities to hang out.

The dorm rooms are very basic: bunk beds, wood lockers for your things, but it seems even this forces guests out of their rooms and into the common area.

My only complaint about the hostel is the showers. I don't mind sharing bathrooms, but it would be nice to have a place to set your things. Also, three shower stalls in one tiny bathroom....I probably won't shower with strangers...

I loved the staff who were very knowledgeable about the area and helped me find cheap public transportation. The atmosphere is very chill. A good place to hangout, read, and relax after a day of exploring the city. Tours to Tequila, Tlaquepaque and Chabala could be booked from the hostel as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluePepperHostel, Gerente at Blue Pepper Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We always strive to make our guests feel like family. we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
0.3 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#5 of 128 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#30 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#27 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Plaza
Hotel Casino Plaza
#11 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pepper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pepper Hostel

Property: Blue Pepper Hostel
Address: Calle Alfredo R. Plascencia 78, Guadalajara 44600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pepper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Pepper Hostel was created to make sure travelers and people around the world could find a safe, clean, and cool place to rest in Guadalajara, meet fellow backpackers and experience the real Mexican culture so they can get the best of their time in this amazing city, a place that has so much to offer. More than just a regular hostel, we work with a philosophy of interaction between our guests and the staff working here. We have learn over the years that are not the "places" but the "faces" that can make a traveler's experience something unique and different form any other adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Blue Pepper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing