We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap, fine if you are planning on passing out drunk”

Jose Cuervo Express
Book In Advance
More Info
$209.00*
and up
Day Trip to Tequila with Jose Cuervo Express Train
Ranked #14 of 172 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hop aboard the train that goes to Tequila on a Mexican journey where traditions remain. The most special and luxurious train in Mexico awaits you. You will feel like a traveler from another era when you get on the Jose Cuervo Express®. Wooden coaches, ample seating, a dream bar and all the glamour of yesteryear. While passing through the agave landscape route to Tequila, we will serve hot snacks and cocktails. Enjoy a holiday with your family or friends in an atmosphere of another era, full of Mexican essence.
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, fine if you are planning on passing out drunk”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As expected, a nice train that will take you on a very slow ride to the town of Tequila and the Jose Cuervo venues. Service is outstanding, snacks nothing special and you can drink as much as you want (tequila, beer and sodas). You can focus on drinking during the ride since there is nothing else to do on your way to Tequila, btw the landscape is far from pintoresque or even nice. Once you arrive to Tequila you board a bus service to "downtown" and the Jose Cuervo distillery. Although the town is branded as a Pueblo Magico or Magic Town there is nothing magic about this place since is nothing more than a poor dusty and dirty place n the middle of nowhere. The Jose Cuervo facilities are ok but nothing spectacular, so is lunch and the Mexican entertainment (mariachis, charros, dances, etc). That's about it, back to the bus and another slow train ride again with the open bar and the chance to get drunk. I guess it's a good option if you have a spare day or two in Guadalajara since there is nothing else much to do in the city but just don't go with high expectations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Fustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    56
    26
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Totally different expectations”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First of all I must say the train itself is great and the service was very good. The main problem was the express train had nothing to do with our expectations. We took the VIP express (close to 140 USD per person), we where expecting to visit the agave fields, the factory, have several tasting, etc etc. but, we found all the member of of train were teenagers eager to drink as much as they could. We there several people passing out in the train before we even arrive to the factory (noon). The whole mood was about getting drunk and yelling and parting. That's perfectly fine for me but I do it at home, with my friends, not with perfect strangers. Restrooms were dirty from begging to end. Waste of money, wast of time. Next time rent a car o take a bus and visit the beatiful "tequila town".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More than Tequila, the best day trip”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Without a doubt this is the best option for a day tour trip in Guadalajara. From the beginning is full of fun. Even before taking the train attention is first class (likewise during the whole trip). Both travel options: Friday night as the daytime on weekends are fantastic. It is a journey toward Mexico's own traditions, while remaining an elegant experience. You will have the opportunity to try the best tequila and delicious food with wonderful people who will make this trip an unforgettable one. 100% recommended, from start to finish, even if not tequila lover, is a unique experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidViajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Even more than I expected”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had heard about this tour and thought that it would be a lot of fun, if a little loud and crazy. Boy was I pleasantly surprised. The whole day was delightful, from the coffee provided at the train station on. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The free-flowing margaritas were tasty, the bingo-like game on the train was fun (our friend even won the bottle of tequila!) and our greeting in Tequila with balloons, shots mariachis and a dancing horse was delightful. The actual tour of the distillery was very interesting, Afterwards, more margaritas - I recommend the tamarind ones - and then a delightful recreation of a traditional fiesta in a beautiful park and sculpture garden, The lunch provided was delicious, the entertainment excellent and the finale of a formal tequila tasting both informative and fun. This is a well-run and very enjoyable tour - well worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luludear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A nice family day! The train was plush with a pleasant ride. We were waited hand and foot from the moment we boarded. Had unlimited, food, beverage (tequila of course) and played a couple of games of loteria! The ride was two hours each way with picturesque scenery. Train was prompt and activities throughout day operated with precision. There was mariachi music, mexican dancing, educational tour of Jose Cuervo tequila plant, delicious lunch buffet, carnival style games in beautiful hacienda, tequila appreciation class and more mariachi and dancers to end the day... I felt may be that even a little less would be more. More time in educational explanations of tequila making and sampling would be better..overall, a pleasant, worthwhile trip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Enchanted777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Cuervo Express also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Jose Cuervo Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing