We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for and less”
Review of Hotel Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #105 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed November 11, 2013

November 9th 2013 Room 306 one night at Cervantes GDL Hotel 3 Adults 2 Queen size bed room, evening started off with the ceiling in the bathroom falling in on my mother while she was taking a shower, + there was no hot water for the entire time three adults took a shower back to back. 95% of all the plug in outlets did not work in the room, the closet smelled like mold and had peeling paint, the shower and toilet leaked water all over the floor. The Air conditioner sounded like a large semi tractor trailer sitting in between the beds, there was no free coffee in the rooms or in the main lobby, when we went to the front desk to comment on no hot water they said you should have checked that when you first checked in, or you have to run in it for a while, we said three adults took three individual showers and never felt any hot water. When we said the roof fell in, they said we would have to wait till morning to switch rooms (which was when were scheduled to check out) no compensation of any sort was offered. Free WiFi does not reach or work in the rooms. One good thing, free underground parking. You get what you pay for or less in this scenario! $755MXN one night! I would recommend looking for a place with a hot shower and customer service, oh ya outlets that work and roofs that stay above you instead of on top of you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeKost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Located withiin a few blocks from the historical center of Guadalajara it is ideal for the common traveler to stay. They provide wi fi and have a good Little restaurant if you don not want to venture out into the taco stand lifestyle.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room that does not face the street or close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hector_vallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great place to stay convienient to everything Guadalajara has to offer. Hotel is clean, large rooms, comfortable beds and great service. Wonderful buffet breakfast and lunch and dinner meals at a very reasonable price. Only problem was restaurant ran out of shrimp and red wine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menwhotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I always stay there and love it. The only thing is that the Internet signal are weak and something we can't get it in certain rooms. Other than that the placce is clean and well located!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Friends I travelled with recommended this hotel. Found the desk staff and owner to be most helpful. The food was good and reasonably priced. Even though the waiter was very winey he was tolorable and made the dinner experiences somewhat unpleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from April 1 to 5 and found the staff extremely helpful. There were 7 of us - and we had 3 rooms. They gave us a discounted price and even arranged for a van to take us to the bus terminal the day we left. We ate dinner in the hotel 3 of the 4 nights and found the food very good and very reasonable. The hotel is old and dated, but clean and it even has a pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed two nights it this hotel and we really enjoyed it a lot. It is very close to the cathedral,
the plazas of the historic part of Guadalajara. From the hotel, we could walk to all that there is to see in this historic city. It is an older hotel but it is very clean and the service was excellent.
The breakfast buffet was also very good and the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed there for the location and the low price.There is no good views but we were in Guadalajar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy-seniors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nueva Galicia
Hotel Nueva Galicia
#124 of 130 in Guadalajara
16 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suites del Real
Suites del Real
#76 of 130 in Guadalajara
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#57 of 130 in Guadalajara
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#92 of 130 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#69 of 130 in Guadalajara
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#55 of 130 in Guadalajara
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cervantes

Address: Calle Prisciliano Sanchez 442 | Col Centro, esq con Donato Guerra, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cervantes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing