We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor”
Review of Hotel Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cervantes
Ranked #105 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Reviewed March 20, 2012

hotel is in a good location but very worn out,, really needs to get some updating,, first room was on the 4th floor but the vent was connected somehow to the kitchen and nothing but food smells all night, plus air conditioner was noisy all night even though it was off!!Had breakfast downstairs and it was terrible,, coffee was only warm at best and thier signature omelet was absolutley terrible

Room Tip: don't stay in room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

Would recommend. Rooms were spacious and clean albeit simple. Great location, friendly staff and great value. Internet access in room was spotty. All in all, would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

For touring the historic center of GDL, Cervantes is hard to beat for value & location. One of two double beds had a tired mattress (spring poking out). Room was large, bright & clean in a '70s-modern way, survivable tho showing wear. Desk and housekeeping staff were polite, readily engaged when asked for help.
Very urban location (don't expect silence from the street). Walk to historic sites; gay clubs; dangerous nearby bakeries & fun local eateries.
Value-conscious visitor can be very happy here.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sfbaybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

It´s location is perfect, it was my first time in Guadalajara and everything was basically walking distance.

What I did not like was the restaurant service, which took almost 10minutes to get me an orange juice, not to mention I had to ask for a waiter twice, coffe was never offer and after 20min my breakfast did not arrive, so I cancelled and left, bummer... pool was not clean on my second day of stay.

Room Tip: Away from the street, it was a holiday and very noise until past 2am, you could hear street voices e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamsVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just got back from 5 nights at the Hotel Cervantes. It is very conveniently located in the historic center of town. The street is busy at night, so we did not feel in any danger out at night. It is in an area of gay bars, but that didn't bother us.
Our room was fine, the air conditioning was almost too cold! Beds were comfortable, there was ample hot water and water pressure.
Our room was not a street view and was quiet.
Hotel worket Martin (bellman, security, etc) was veryhelpful for everything from restaurant recommendations, helping with a balky door lock, and even helping our friend who had a flat tire while visiting us at a hotel. He was able to provide the name of a nearby tire repair shop open on a Sunday afternoon.
We found a price on-line of about $50/night and felt we got a great deal. Free secure indoor parking, and free wireless internet were a plus!

Room Tip: The rooms off the street are quiet at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sioux4noff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed here with my partner over night after arriving off the bus from Mexico very late at night. The room cost us A$73 and it was terrible for that price.

Firstly the airconditioning was broken and rattled all night. The only reason we kept it on was because it was hot and it was better than nothing. The green carpet felt like it hadn't been steamed cleaned in years and I was actually afraid of putting my bare feet on it. The bathroom was dirty and in need of a clean. When we turned on the shower tap, brown stuff came out that looked like rust and dirt. The whole hotel just felt dirty.

Now I'm not a picky person however for the price I was very very diappointed. I've stayed in places half the price and about 4 times better.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. There are better places to stay in GDL.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodHami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

stayed at cervantes for (1) night only, and that was due my late arrival. checked out the following morning.

pros:
cheap rate (under $75)
central location
free wi-fi
clean bathroom/linens

cons:
no smoke-free rooms (first room smelled smoky, second less)
no in-room safe
no fridge/mini-bar
no hair dryer
no alarm clock
no iron/board
no hot water (i was so tired, at this point i didn't care)
worn-out, beat-up sofa bed

TIP: 3-stars/mexico is NOT THE SAME as 3-stars/USA

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lagomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nueva Galicia
Hotel Nueva Galicia
#124 of 130 in Guadalajara
16 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suites del Real
Suites del Real
#76 of 130 in Guadalajara
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiago De Compostela
Santiago De Compostela
#57 of 130 in Guadalajara
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
Hotel San Francisco Plaza
#92 of 130 in Guadalajara
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dali Plaza Hotel
Dali Plaza Hotel
#69 of 130 in Guadalajara
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#55 of 130 in Guadalajara
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cervantes

Address: Calle Prisciliano Sanchez 442 | Col Centro, esq con Donato Guerra, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cervantes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing