We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled, but still lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara to your Saves list
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Remodeled, but still lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What we liked best about this hotel was its location and the updated, modern design of the rooms. Unfortunately, our experience there was not the greatest. We tried to get an early check-in at 1 p.m. but were told no rooms were available. After an hour in the bar, we tried again with no luck. So we left our bags and went to lunch at Canelo's (five minute walk, great Mexican food, Mariachi's, etc.). Upon return around 5:30 p.m. our room was finally ready, but the bathroom wasn't that clean and the shower floor was wet as if someone had just showered. Normally we would have requested another room immediately, but we were so late by then we didn't have time to wait for another room.

Other criticisms: When we put our valuables in the closet safe we realized it wasn't bolted down to anything. You could just pick it up and remove it. The glass door in the shower wasn't properly sealed so water leaked all over the bathroom floor when we showered. And the sink was very slow to drain.

On a positive note, the bed, pillows and linens were better than average. And the service in the reception and the bar was friendly and professional, even if it wasn't the speediest. In the hotel's defense, we were there during the FIL, the largest book fair in Latin America, and all the hotels, not just the InterContinental, were packed. Note: if you're going to the Expo, you can walk there from the hotel, but expect it to take 20-25 minutes and be very careful crossing the street because pedestrians are rarely given the right of way. Or take a taxi for 35 pesos (US$3).

Despite our problems with our room, we'd give this hotel another chance the next time we're back in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise, request a high floor and/or a room that is not overlooking Lopez Mateos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    164
    55
    31
    25
See reviews for
50
65
28
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here last Feb for 4 days only.
The check in process is smooth but takes some time.
The food during breakfast is very nice.
The staff greets you with the smile.
The room is clean and smells good.
The location is just across a shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arielpayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very pleased with the Intercontinental ! We had a really nice corner room with a view of the city, if you are a light sleeper you might want a room away from the street. You could hear the traffic at night. Beds were comfortable. Nice restaurant with a great breakfast buffet. Lounge had a nice variety of tequilas and live music. Shopping center across the street. Only about 20 minutes from the airport...

Room Tip: Corner suites have beautiful view but if you face the Main Street, you can hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at the Presidente Intercontinental in Guadalajara attending a conference. On the outside it looked rather old but I was surprised at the updated and very comfortable room. Also the room service is quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilliano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great hotel for a great price. For a modest fee (about US$35 a day after taxes), you can get their club benefits including a nicer room and Internet access and breakfast each day and snacks and non-alcoholic drinks.
The rooms were decorated with modern touches, and the bathrooms were very nice.
At no point did I feel unsafe. I felt safer there than in my hometown in the United States. We walked the streets at night with no problems.
Their water out of the tap is filtered and safe to drink. We drank it and did not get sick.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for shopping and dining. There is a mall across the street with a supermarket (Soriana) and nice department stores.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if I had business in Zapopan. For tourists, the hotel might be far from the historic attractions in the center of Guadalajara, but those still are only 15 minutes away by taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is located in a very good zone of Guadalajara, it is located in Zapopan, which is a very quiet, nice looking zone, and right in front of a horizaontal Mall called Plaza del Sol where you can buy practically everything you need for your trip. It has restaurants near of all kind of prices. The services are quite well with everithing for business, It has a pool with warm water and a cardio zone in case you want to travel with family, and all the places to go or things to do are just a 15-20 minutes by taxi (which are quite expensive btw), the rooms are well spaced with clean bathrooms and clothes, the beds are very comfortables with 4 kinds of pillows (you know, softeness!) and they have TV, games, good Internet access and minibar, the prices of the drinking water are very expensive but you can go just in fron of the Hotel to the Sanborns store and buy one for the 7th of the price... The breakfast is very good and varied... ah! and they have spa too....In general a good choice if you are on a business or tourist trip. Don't forget to visit Tlaquepaque once you get there.

Room Tip: Rooms towards Moctezuma street have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alejandrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely large (showers and bathrooms are awesome) and it is easy to upgrade for a little extra to nicer suites. The breakfast buffet is amazing and the bar makes some great margaritas and has a 2 for 1 happy hour. The hotel in general is quiet, and I slept well. There was no "store" to buy bottled water or small travel items which was unfortunate as I wouldn't feel comfortable as a foreigner wandering on the street for a store. Also, there aren't many restaurants nearby, although in Guadalajara taxing a cab ANYWHERE is highly advised. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We really appreciate your great feedback, however, we sincerely regret the lack of a convenience store inside the hotel, nevertheless, our concierge will always be happy to cross the street to Sanbors tobacco shop and buy all the items you may need.

Thank you for your preference shown for our hotel and our staff, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#12 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#13 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
4.0 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
4.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Property: Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#16 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing