We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Would stay here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

The hotel gave a good stay. I arrived a little early due to a morning plane trip, but was accomodated a little early. There was high security, but it was due to an Olympic committee's presence and a popular singer, although security is usually a very loose term. The floor to ceiling windows made the slightly roomy room mlthat much more open feeling, along with a nice desk and good wifi connection, as least in my room.
Across the street is a large shopping plaza, which the wife loved. It is rather large and has everything from the cheap to the expensive shops, with a TGIFridays and VIPs as well.
The only big downside that I noticed was that the in-room bar was quite expensive. We didn't stay to try the resaurant, although it did smell quite well.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    201
    70
    38
    27
See reviews for
71
76
34
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Overall it is a fine hotel. Helpful and pleasant reception staff, concierge was useful and took his/her time to assist us when required. Our experience was by and large pleasant and we would certainly return, but we have one big bone to pick, as follows:

A WORD OF CAUTION REGARDING RESTAURANT CHARGES. The hotel has a peculiar charge called "usage of space" in its dinning room. What they mean is, they add 34 Pesos per person for the pleasure of sitting on a chair. PERIOD. This is a charge that we have never encountered anywhere in our travels. No one could explain to us why they charge for sitting there, "it is the policy" of the hotel we were told. Well, this is a plain ripping off guests. The service in the restaurant was below standards for a hotel professing to be an "excellent" one. Rude and totally disinterested waiters, and there were no linguistic issues, my partner is Mexican, so it can not be blamed on "miscommunications". So, eat elsewhere, , Guadalajara is packed with great food places for all budgets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed in an upper-level Suite, which was very large and beautiful. A separate large bedroom with a comfortable bed, living area with plenty of leather sofas, chairs, a dining table, a bar and a desk. The bathroom was huge with fantastic appointments. Separate shower and toilet rooms and an appealing bath tub. The roof-top pool of the hotel was also very nice.

The hotel staff seemed extremely helpful, brought things when needed and pointed us in the right direction for going out in the area. There is a shopping mall across the street and some bars and restaurants down the block.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomnioAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed at the Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara for a week in September 2010. It was a decent hotel. Nothing much to write home about except that for the price it was pretty good. I stayed in a room on the 10th floor which had a great view of the sunrise behind some small hills in the backdrop. Room very clean & neat. Usual hotel, nothing out of the ordinary but again, for the price it was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Presidente, and this time I had much more pleasant experience. I bought the $30 "upgrade package" on this visit, and was given a really great corner room! There were floor-to-ceiling windows on three sides, so the room had great light and a nice view. Bathroom was large and pretty luxurious with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

Maybe the best part about the room was that it was separated from all the noise - from the parties downstairs and from the elevator that dings all night long! That along with the comfortable bed allowed me to have a great night sleep.

Restaurant and bar are decent, but pricey. Also, stay away from the Mariachi place that the hotel inevitably recommends - Hacienda Canelos. It looks great - outdoor garden type atmosphere - but the service is slow and the food is horrendous.

Staff is helpful and courteous - overall very good business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Internet you have to pay daily, yet more often then not, its down time
Problems with safe from checked in.. waited 2hours, after 4 phone calls before anyone come up and that took him 30mins to solve.. and this is immediately after checking in, after 10hours of fight.. you think they serves you better.. or even give you a free cocktail.. NOTHING!
Every piece of paper printing we have to pay..despite booking their conference business room, and coffee and cakes for our meetings.. not even a complimentary ballpen!!!
Staff for a 5star hotel, you expect all can speak english.. not the case. and more often passed on from one person to another
2 positive to say about this hotel: The spa is FANTASTIC.. thank god for that
and the room was very roomy and beautiful views, and across great shopping complex.
With more better training, this hotel can be great. So its not all lost. But would be nice if they compensated even a free breakfast or a free cocktail for the stress this hotel gave me. Oh and when one of my colleague from Mexico came to visit us, they wont let him up our room. Unknown to us, he was made to wait in the lobby lounge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiajclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

My wife and I went to the Intercontinental in Guadalajara for a nights getaway. The Hotel is fabulous, clean and and the rooms spacious. The Hotel also has a great bar and restaurant. I booked for a Club room with all the amenities. The web site advertises "Dinner snacks, Complimentary Drink"s", Free Morning Paper Delivered to the Room, Separate Check in area, Turndown service and Complimentary Continental Breakfast." We didnt receive a morning paper,nor the turndown service. The Dinner snacks were limited, you had to ask for the hot ones, and the complimentary drinks (plural) turned out to be "One Cocktail" which they prepare for you and you have no choice of cocktails. They should change their advertising to "complimentary cocktail of the day" rather than the plural "drinks". This is very different from other Intercontinental Hotels I have been to in the past. The continental breakfast was very good. Not sure the Club is entirely worth it if you cant enjoy a couple of cocktails of your choice before going to dinner. In saying the above, I would recommend the hotel and the rooms are great as well as the bar and restaurant and the location is good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#6 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Guadalajara
Hilton Guadalajara
#12 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#10 of 128 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
4.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
4.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Property: Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#16 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing