We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Authentic!”

La Fonda de la Noche
Ranked #85 of 1,147 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I are passionate about Mexican cuisine, and this place stood out as being extra fabulous. This is a no frills, quiet - yet fairly large space. We went on a Thursday evening and were one of 3 tables. The service is slow, but everyone who works here is passionate about the restaurant's authentic, natural and delicious food. The menu changes daily, so go with what is recommended for the day. The mushroom empanada was my favorite. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VanessaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harvey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carlos...mi Casa y su Casa!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

we decided to take a tip on a previous trip advisor commentary and seek out this little gem of a restaurant. We only had two nights in Guadalajara before heading back to Canada after our three month stay in Mexico and were looking for something unique and authentic to finish off our winter stay. The taxi let us off in front of this quaint little, quietly lit, tree covered corner restaurant. The taxi driver wasn't convinced he should leave us, as there was no visible signage, but we insisted it was all good and we were ever so glad we stayed. We were greeted at the door by a very friendly waiter who encouraged us to choose our own table. Unbeknownst to us this is a three storey venue with multiple rooms that are artistically, yet simply decorated. Colour ful table cloths, wicker light effects and original artwork. There was neither a wine list nor a written menu. We were quickly introduced to an english speaking waiter once our greeter realized that we were struggling to understand him...much appreciated! We decided on Micheladas as our beverage and a sampling of some of their house specialties, that included a spicey rich mushroom soup, tostatas, enchiladas and a apecial deep fried appetizer. All were delicious! The owner of the restaurant, Carlos came to introduce himself and see if we were happy with everything. We chit-chatted for a minute and then he offered to give us a tour of the rest of this place. We took him up on it and got the feeling that his heart is in this place and we felt like company visiting his home. He invited us to have axdrink with him on his rootop patio, where we had some great conversation and a wonderful finish to our vacation. Thank-you Carlos, we will most certainly be back!
Brian and Sylvia

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinning on a roof terrace garden under the stars!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden gem indeed! It was wonderful dinning under the stars on a roof terrace garden with a cool gentle breeze. The queso chicarron (so called because it is crunchy, not because there is pork skin) is a must order - like a delicious crunchy cheese wafer. If you are in Guadalaraja, go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you're on a quest for "local" food, you'll find no better...”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

When we travel we love to search out the best, little local places to eat. La Fonda de la Noche is a treasure in this regard. It's tiny, dark...even a little romantic and its food is simple local dishes at very reasonable prices. If you want to experience true Jalisco style Mexican food in an atmosphere that will relax you and make you feel like you belong, make sure you eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ManzanilloLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm, cozy respite”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nestled in a dark corner of this bustling city there is an escape. In a small street, opening in the early evening you find a treasure of a restaurant that seemed like the front room of someone's home. The owner welcomes you and apologizes for his lack of the English language. He describes the menu and you are charmed. You know you have to order chiles in walnut sauce stuffed with pork and fruit. Mexican beer is served in chilled pewter steins. Soft lights help you concentrate on the food. You decide to return the nest night for more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda de la Noche also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Jalisco
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Fonda de la Noche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing