We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely thrilled”

Posada San Rafael Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada San Rafael Inn
Ranked #47 of 71 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2009

The night before I had stayed at a hostel on Rayon with nothing provided (no towel, no soap, no security, no room key, and one shower shared with 8 other people on a different floor.) Compared to that, this was heaven. PSR is a historic house remodeled into an inn - not exactly a hotel and not exactly a hostel. I stayed in the best room - toward the southeast corner. 18-ft ceilings, original stained glass windows and wood paneling, private bathroom with beautiful tile, plenty of hot water. I liked the fact that you ring in and out of the front door; it made me feel secure. The older ladies who run this are friendly and helpful. Location is close to el centro, yet not too noisy. I was traveling by myself - I paid $280 pesos per night; $250 a night when I booked a week. Historic, charming, clean, unique, convenient. I loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexico-adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2009

My friend and I had a great experience at the Posada San Rafael. It was built in 1900 and is a former Jesuit monastery, so it has tons of charm and old-world touches. It is not, however, a modern hotel, so those who are looking for luxury will not be happy here.

The rooms were clean and contained plenty of electrical outlets (which is not common in many Mexican hotels). The shower gave hot water and decent water pressure. The old women who run the desk during the day are wonderful and bring their adorable Bichon Frise in with them. You do have to be rung in and out of the hotel, but this didn't bother me at all; on the contrary, it made me feel all the more secure in a big city.

The posada is in a very convenient location, a few blocks from the cathedral and (in the other direction) the U.S. embassy, and is in the center of Guadalajara's gay district. In fact, there is a gay bar (which is not at all noisy) called Queer Nation right next door. There is also an outdoor cafe in the plaza of the church across the street, and they serve divine capucchinos. The cafe does get a bit noisy at night, but the music never bothered us in our room.

We paid 370 pesos (about 27 dollars at today's exchage rate) for a room with two double beds and really looking forward to staying there again. Be forewarned, though, that their rooms are usually booked, so be sure to call in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JustMeInCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed at the San Rafael because I had stayed there before and liked it. Unfortunately, it has evolved for the worse.
Our room was a bit rundown and when you took a shower, the walls got smelly (whether it smelled of fish or urine, we could not find it out)
If you like the music from the cafe on the plaza one block away, you will be fine. Otherwise bring earplugs as it carries on well into the night (3am).
One should bear in mind that its a budget accomodation, so you can not be too picky, but I have stayed at better places in Mexico for that price.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

I knew it was a bad sign when we checked in and I saw that the hotel manager was mending the edges of a tiny, frayed towel on a sewing machine behind the desk. This place was recommended by the Rough Guide, and while it does not disappoint in terms of price, it was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Our room was right off the hotel lobby, which had a roof, though rain poured in from numerous leaks the whole time we were there. Although no rain leaked into our room, the ceiling looked as if it might cave in, and there were several large holes in the windows in our room. Mosquitoes devoured us all night long, the water in the shower was lukewarm at best, towels were tiny and rough, and the toilet was literally right in the room with us, since the bathroom walls did not extend up to the ceiling. Because our room was off the lobby, we heard noise from guests entering and leaving, from the manager watching television at a high volume, and from other guests having internet phone conversations on the hotel computer. Management was neutral but not particularly friendly. The only plus was that the hotel had wireless Internet access. Otherwise, this place was a disaster.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank zarbiya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
419
Reviewed May 19, 2004

I stayed at this place about January 2003, on the plus side it has bathroom and is a family owned and
run hotel. Also it's close to everything, including walking distance to the classy west side and I found it conveniently close to money exchange houses, which give better pesos for dollars than
banks. $18 dollars per night is not at all bad, but the owner is rather cheap when it comes to giving more pure water bottles. I got 2 tiny bottles per night and had to pay about 2 pesos per bottle extra. Also it gets rather noisy at night because most rooms are in an open courtyard.
Still if you're on a tight budget it's a good, but not fantasic deal.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
212
Reviewed June 10, 2003

The Posada San Rafael is a very simple "hotel", conveniently located in the Historic District. I checked out early because there were no smoke detectors or emergency exits (bars on the windows, and the front door can only be opened by the attendant). However, smoke detectors don't seem to be very important in Guadalajara hotels.On the plus side, the staff was very nice, the room was clean, and there seemed to be a lot of long term foreign residents that brought a sense of community there. Internet access also available for a small fee (common area computer). Kitchen privledges for guests staying 2 weeks or longer.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Gladys Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 130 in Guadalajara
984 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Hotel and Suites
Country Hotel and Suites
#41 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Guadalajara Autonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
Hostel Guadalajara Hospedarte
#1 of 97 in Guadalajara
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
Hotel Portonovo Plaza
#53 of 130 in Guadalajara
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Rafael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Rafael Inn

Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 619, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range: $29 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing