We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ganz
Ranked #6 of 122 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Seldom do I write reviews before my trip ends, but my experience here has been so exceptional that I'm compelled to do so. We are on day 5 of a 6 day stay and from the moment we stepped foot past the front gate we have been warmly welcomed and made to feel special. Consider that we staggered off a red eye flight at 7 am and were pretty beat up. When we arrived at 9, we were treated to a delicious breakfast, and our room was ready so we could get some sleep. As most of you know, that sort of thing never happens. The rooms are amazing. We have this arched brick roof with a huge beveled glass picture window overlooking this delightful garden. Sally and her staff have created a charming, rustic, adults only oasis in the mddle of the city and we just love it. The rule of thumb here, if you need something, just ask, and everyone here will be extremely helpful. The service and gracious kindness of the entire staff, along with the decor and attention to detail make this a place we will visit again and again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank theswanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, General Manager at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear TheSwanguy,

We are honored and delighted to read your comments, specially when is not something you often do.

Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel loves to always seek the opportunity to find the perfect combination between the services we offer and the care our staff prides to provide.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and would love to welcome you once again, when your schedule allows it.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    26
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
151
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at Villa Ganz. The house is beautiful and relaxing. The staff is attentive and helpful. Everyone was eager to help us make arrangements for any travel plans we wanted. They arranged a wonderful guide to take us on a personal tequila trail trip and then to Guachimontones to visit the ruins. They also helped us with restaurant choices. We had a wonderful weekend and would not hesitate to stay there again when we travel back to Guadalajara.

Room Tip: they do not have a swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrigley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, General Manager at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Wrigley22,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, during your trip to Guadalajara, and the surroundings.

We love to make sure you have a terrific experience and you get the most of it.

Our staff and myself will be pleased to welcome you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bragg creek alberta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our one night excursion to Guadalajara from Puerto Vallarta. What an amazing find! Attentive and helpful staff, candles lit in the common areas, incredible room (we had #15), and a very nice courtyard. Lots of good restaurants close by and only a 50 peso cab to centro. Cannot recommend more highly! Tripadvisor is great at helping to find the best places to stay anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsnowmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, General Manager at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sunsnowmud,

Thank you for your kind words. It is great to read you enjoyed every element of your stay, and were able to explore Guadalajara. Our goal is to make sure every guest gets the best experience, according to their needs.

Should your travels allows you to return to Guadalajara, we would love to welcome you once again!

Hasta pronto,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our visit to the amazing city of Gudalajara and environs was enhanced by our good fortune to stay at Villa Ganz, a little oasis of tranquility in a a bustling metropolis. The staff were so kind, so genuinely concerned with our well-being ... our room and the public areas were immaculate, and every detail of decor and garden were clearly the result of thoughtful and imaginative taste. The neighborhood is busy, but full of wonderful restaurants, cafes, and bookstores: it's a brisk hike, or quick cab ride, to the old colonial center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Myra,

We are delighted with your comments. It is very important for us to make sure our clients enjoy their stay, and every little detail we have worked on to create unique memories.

On behalf of all our staff we look forward to welcome you once again, when the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ganz for our weekend getaway - we won a nights stay in an fundraising auction for the Costa Verde school in Sayulita.
First, they were generous to donate a nights stay to such a good cause, with really no affiliation to the school, but just hearing the concept. So very human and kind.
When we arrived it was one delicious treat for the senses after another. A beautiful room with a tub in natural light to relax in, a wonderful comfy bed, a garden with songbirds and sweet smells, candles up the stairs to light our way to bed, a wonderful breakfast in the garden terrace....
But all of that wasn't the best part - it was the staff here, who epitomize classy. Not the fussy cold kind of well executed service, but a warm and professional embrace. The sweetness to offer to light a fire in the grandest fireplace to take off the chill in the morning air - just for us. The thoughtfulness to take it upon themselves to wash our embarrassingly dusty Sayulita car - seriously a great surprise as we left.
Really they couldn't be more thoughtful and wonderful people, at one of the most beautiful and comfortable hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying.

Room Tip: Every room here looked amazing, but I think we were happiest in ours - I love nice tubs in a perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear KO M

Thank you so much for participating in the fundraising auction. We love to support such a great cause, and to meet people like you is our reward.

Our most important goal is to provide the scenary, ambiance and service that will make your stay a memorable one. We appreciate the time you took to write your lovely review, and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again.

Sincerely yours,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I live in Eastern Washington. We are always crazy busy with our 2 businesses-- both here and internationally.
My husband especially, travels extensively--2-4 wks p/month (he is currently 5 wks in India and Sri Lanka).
When we want a little "escape" ....just for us....we book a stay with Villa Ganz.
This property is small, private, special and represents a beautiful colonial style.
The staff is impeccably trained and as sweet as fresh berries in July.
There are good restaurants close and anything more only a very short cab ride away.
Guadalajara offers much to see..we love to wander the markets downtown and always stop in Tiaquepaque ( arts and crafts district with galleries,restaurants and regional crafts). It has a bit of a Sante Fe ambiance and only about 20 min cab ride from Villa Ganz.
We will be there again in April....and have to tell you...I can't wait.
Book a room now....and enjoy the luxury of looking forward to a treat!

Room Tip: Really---there isn't a bad room here. Some are smaller and more intimate but all are delicious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Susan,

We are truly honored to be your getaway, your pick to recharge, relax and reunite. Combining two jobs, extensive travels and day to day responsabilities can be exhausting. Here in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, love to be the place where you will find what you need, and our team is always ready to make sure you accomplish your goals during your vacations.
It is always our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to have you back once again.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Villa Ganz is an amazing boutique hotel in a lovely & safe residential area within walking distance of Chapultepec Commerical area and lots of fine restaurants including Sacramonte, Cocina 88, Italia Mia. This hotel has well appointed rooms, within a converted colonial style mansion. Sally, the owner has done the decorating and introduced some amazing and tasteful antiques. The rooms are very clean. Your visit to Villa Ganz will make you feel like you are at a SPA. From the lovely guest rooms to the drinks in the garden or sitting room and your arrival home at night to your cosy room. The staff are well trained and embrace and anticipate client needs constantly. The breakfasts are most complete and the service is excellent. We are from Toronto and winter in Ajijic. We have visited Villa Ganz 5 - 6 times over the last three years. Sometimes as a couple, other times with family. It is a beautiful treasure, a lovely experience, a wonderful get away spot. Enjoy your visit!!! We always do!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. We have stayed in Room 15 within the main upper floor and also Room 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Katybud,

It is always our honor to welcome you to your home in Guadalajara: Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. It is our goal to make sure our clients,enjoy their stay. Our team takes proud of being always ready to assist and to personalize every stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and to recommend us throughout the years.

Looking foward to welcome you!

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#27 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#4 of 122 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Property: Villa Ganz
Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#2 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing