We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Ganz
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a gorgeous boutique hotel! Tucked away in bustling Guadalajara, one would never suspect the serenity and tranquility of the Villa Ganz. The staff is extremely friendly and gracious. The rooms are so very charming and the garden is an oasis in itself! This is our second trip to Guadalajara and the Villa Ganz. We were so impressed on the first visit, we didn't even bother to look for another hotel for the second trip. Villa Ganz was definately the place without question. The history behind this small quaint hotel is interesting as well. There are plenty of resturants, shopping and entertainment close by. Most within a short walking distance or a quick cab ride. We rented a car and had no trouble getting around this busy city. Hats off to Sally and Klix. Thank you for making our stay very special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raeleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Propietario at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Raeleen:

I feel so happy to read and read your review from your recent visit to the Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

Your nice comments about us, made us feel extremely satisfied and we hope to see you again in the near future and in your next visit to our city of Guadalajara.

Klix and I will be very happy to welcome you again.

Best wishes for 2013!!! I am sure it will be a great year for all of us!

Sally Rangel
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

First, if you are wondering if you should stay in this area of town instead of the Centro, the answer is YES! All around the hotel there are A LOT of restaurants, bars, shops and beautiful big homes. Easy walk to the Centro or a 5 minute taxi ride. The neighborhood is safe, green, beautiful and alive with locals.

I stayed at Villa Ganz for five days and it was fantastic. There is a lot of charm to this hotel. Everything is clean and very tastefully decorated with an excellent garden and covered seating area with a fireplace. All the staff are super friendly, eager to help and will make your stay ever so comfortable (thank you to all of them). I was in a top floor room facing the garden (away from the street), my room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, the water pressure for the shower was great and the room was quiet. I was able to sleep with the balcony windows open to allow fresh air in. And the little things made it even greater, like having a pitcher of water in your room every evening or chatting up Sally Rangel for restaurant tips.

This hotel is part of the Hoteles Boutique de Mexico. This was my third stay at a Hoteles Boutique de Mexico, and like the rest, Villa Ganz met all expectations if not more. I'm coming back here next time I'm in Guadalajara again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Owner at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Quique:

Thank you very much for your super nice review! I was delighted to read it and see you had a good time with us. You know how important for other guests is to read someone else your own experience with us.

All of our staff and myself are so happy you enjoyed Guadalajara, our city, our restaurants, our hotel.

Remember, Villa Ganz is your home away from home and will always welcome you. Let me know if we can do something else for you.

We wish you all the best for you and your family, my regards to all of them

Sally Rangel
Co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We operate specialty, small-group tours in Jalisco, and say without reservation that Villa Ganz is the best hotel in the GDL metro region, period. Not only are the facilities fantastic, charming and unique, the service is unlike anything else you will find in Mexico. From Sally Rangel (the über-professional and incredibly charming manager) on down to the kitchen staff, everyone..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Owner at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Sebastian:

Thank you very much for you nice review! We are so happy that our hotel accomplished your expectations, we really enjoyed your visit. Your kind words to myself and to all the staff will help us to be even better.

Please come back anytime and enjoy our garden, fire place, and the warmth of our people.

Our best regards, Sally Rangel and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from our second trip to Guadalajara and Villa Gantz. We enjoyed ourselves so much the first time that we returned to celebrate our anniversary there. Villa Gantz is elegant, peaceful and romantic. It is so quiet and tranquil that it is hard to believe it is located in the heart of a vibrant neighborhood, but it is. There are many shops, restaurants and cafes within walking distance. The staff is so helpful and welcoming, they really help you to get to know Guadalajara. Within minutes they will have a taxi waiting to whisk you away to the city's sights, and it is remarkable how inexpensive cabs are here! When you come back from the day's adventures, they will welcome you with a cold drink and some cheerful remarks. Villa Gantz is glamorous, the service is stellar, and we will be back again soon. We love Villa Gantz!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FancyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Owner at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear FancyCoco:
Thank you, thank you for your kind words to all of our staff, the facilities of the hotel and the warmth of our people!

We are so happy that your planning to come again for the 3rd time!!! Please let us know, so we can organize a beautiful and romantic dinner at our lovely terrace.

After reading your review to all the staff, I could see how happy they became and kept working with a smile!

THANK YOU again and again

Sally Rangel, Director, and all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We loved our stay at Casa Villa Ganz from the first moment. We were warmly greeted by a caring staff and treated to cool face cloths, drinks, cookies and smiles. This small hotel nestled in the heart of the city is so nurturing and a real haven at the end of the day. Our breakfasts in the garden were delicious and graciously served. Beautiful flowers and birds singing added to the ambiance. The location is tranquil and everything interesting is within walking distance including a Starbucks for an afternoon pick me up coffee. We were immeresed in the Mexican warm and friendly culture as we stepped out the door to visit glorious churches and museums. Great restaurants are just out the door. Villa Ganz has perfect wifi service, hot showers, great beds and the best staff in the whole world. Especially Miguel and Armando who were extremely helpful and fun. They have off street monitored parking and we felt safe being out on our adventures at all times. Don't miss this great little gem!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Owner at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We highly appreciate your review. Thank you very much for choosing us as your preferred home in Guadalajara.

If I could be of any help, or you have any suggestion to improve our home or services, please let me know.

Best wishes, and please come back

Sally Rangel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa Ganz as a special treat after a lot of hard work, having stayed at the sister establishment, Trocadaero Suites, the three nights previous (see review elsewhere on this site). Initially, we had planned to stay only two nights but on checking-in immediately extended our stay by another night. Armando, our one-man welcoming committee - he was exceedingly friendly and helpful throughout our stay - had upgraded our room, which was an added touch. at the start of a quiet time in Guadalajara with the wet-season rain coming on.

Our room as up the rear stairs on the right hand side. It was exceptionally clean and, although there was a degree of street noise, quiet at the times you most need it; at night and early in the morning. The big bath was put to use and there was plentiful hot water. Our room came with a small fruit basket and a petit bottle of local syrah wine. Room cleaning as excellent and unobtrusive on the one occasion we made use of it.

As others have noted, the most impressive feature of Villa Ganz, apart from the building itself, is the superb rear garden. A great escape from the bustle outside and an excellent place for a quiet drink as the sun is setting.

On check out, Armando did something completely unexpected of him but much appreciated by us: he did the paperwork to exempt us from the IVA tax of 19%, which a big saving on a not-inexpensive room. Very much appreciated.

In short, it’s not cheap, but it’s very difficult to fault Villa Ganz and I expect that we’ll be back there again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear Flyingoink,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

Thank you for your preference and trust by choosing us for your stay during your trip to Guadalajara, among all the options there are in the city.

We hope you have the opportunity to return, and continue to discover Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

Warm regards,

Sally Rangel
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Great Hotel with unique stile, like going back in time, great service, very peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
#9 of 130 in Guadalajara
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#31 of 130 in Guadalajara
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
1.8 mi away
The Westin Guadalajara
The Westin Guadalajara
#15 of 130 in Guadalajara
513 reviews
2 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Providencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Calle Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#2 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range: $98 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing